Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Hertz logo - rentalcars.com

Hertz Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on Hertz in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 18, 2017
Thoroughly impressed with both car and service. So much so my wife is considering buying the vehicle we drove!
8.6
January 15, 2017
Efficiency of pick up arrangements Condition of car
8.2
January 12, 2017
Everything was likeable
nothing
8.6
January 11, 2017
Employee who handed over the car could not explain the use of car key. E.g. we had to figure out ourselves how many times to klick on the key to open certain doors.
7.4
SoniaJanuary 11, 2017
The Hertz representative was very helpful and professional.
8.8
HermanusJanuary 11, 2017
Staff friendliness, condition of cars and professionalism.
NA
9.0
January 10, 2017
I was very impressed by the service. I did not have transport from my guest house to the hertz depot to collect the car and the friendly guy at the hertz office was so helpful he used his own private car to pick me up at the guest house and drove me to the depot where he quickly helped me to collect the car and set off to the airport. Excellent ser
I was happy with everything.
9.6
RaveshJanuary 10, 2017
The whole experience blended in with my holiday to be a pleasurable one.
no negatives
9.2
MagendrenJanuary 7, 2017
Service was excellent
All was perfect
8.4
January 7, 2017
Good value for Money and ease of collecting and dropping off vehicle
Nothing to share here all well
9.0
MthunziJanuary 6, 2017
I loved everything about the service and car I got
9.4
January 5, 2017
There was some minor damage to the bodywork that was not identified by Hertz when we collected the car and was not done by me. It was not an issue but I would hope that Hertz would not raise it with another renter
8.4
January 4, 2017
Efficient and friendly
Nothing
9.0
January 3, 2017
My car
No complains
8.6
January 3, 2017
THE CAR WAS IN A GOOD CONDITION
NONE
7.6
January 3, 2017
You might need to give some instructions on radio, etc to us older drivers!
9.2
TaniaJanuary 3, 2017
Speed of pickup and dropoff
Exact make not being available
8.4
DonaldJanuary 2, 2017
Excellent
8.4
January 2, 2017
Only 1 person working at the counter and she was busy and at no time apologized for not helping and only after 30 mins phoned for someone to come and help me-very poor customer service not what I expect from a worldwide car hire company
8.4
December 26, 2016
Great service and promptness.
Invoice does not show break down of the costs of the entire transaction.
8.8
December 24, 2016
Received better price and insurance coverage through rentalcars.com than I would have received directly from Hertz.
Took some time to pick up the vehicle
9.0
December 22, 2016
The local office in Upington managed to put a label ZA on the rear window, to enable normal drive in Namibia for SA car.
No millage accumulated for Miles&More
8.6
December 21, 2016
The insurance off car is to high
8.8
princeDecember 20, 2016
The fact that the staff at the office was quick and helpful liked their service.....
When booking the car the consultants didn't explain the contract to me very well ...
9.4
December 19, 2016
The friendly competent admin personnel and their patience
Was slightly uncertain with admin process during return of car and where to park the vehicle because all parking bays was full.
8.2
December 17, 2016
Easy to drive, good gas mileage
Fit our groups needs but was hard to park
8.6
December 6, 2016
service and friendly staff
nothing
9.2
MartinDecember 6, 2016
Staff friendly and attentive. Car great, big, clean and easy to drive.
Collecting the car took a long time. Check-in was slow. Car was quite old (over 30000 km) and had quite a lot of superficial damage. Nothing that effected the driving or safety though.
7.6
CornelisNovember 24, 2016
The easy and direct line of communication with Hertz staff. No "fuss".
None to mention.
8.6
November 16, 2016
In stead of a VW Polo we got a Ford Fiesta
7.0
November 13, 2016
Easy booking, best deal online, good customer service and good car
Nothing
9.0
ColinNovember 10, 2016
A good central location for car pick up and easy to navigate from office to roads leaving the city.
A long wait to pick car up. Only one person at counter. Not all conditions were explained adequately or clearly as representative rushed to get through each customer.
6.8
November 8, 2016
Straight forward and easy with rentalcars.com very helpfull when I called to make a last minute enquiry.
Was a little disappointed I didnt get the the VW (it was a toyota)and the number plates were not durban plates which kind of felt a bit touristy.
8.2
AnnaNovember 4, 2016
The total overall service and frienfliness of the staff.
9.4
October 31, 2016
Friendly staff at pick-up and drop-off.
Just received at the pick-up the papers and a comment that all damages are noticed. But there was no one in the pick-up area to do a re-check and the damages were not marked on my contract.
9.2
October 25, 2016
The guy at the office was really kind
The opening hours on rental cars were not correct.
9.0
October 22, 2016
The time it took to pick up the car
7.6
October 21, 2016
Taking really long to repay deposit
9.6
RayOctober 21, 2016
The whole process was painless
Nothing
9.2
MichelleOctober 21, 2016
Good deal, Friendly staff
GPS was a VERY important part of our rental. (Having a car in a place we had never been would have been useless without navigation.) However, they were short on GPS units. Took a while to get one that was working properly.
8.0
October 17, 2016
Friendly and efficient staff.
9.4
IanOctober 15, 2016
Ease of checking in and access to vehicle
Nothing
8.4
October 13, 2016
Pretoria staff were helpful and explained everything terms and conditions.
Cape Town the guy who was assisting didn't help me attentively when I wanted to extend car hire days with 1day. He called me instead of assisting me first he was busy assisting someone who came after me.
7.6
October 10, 2016
Hertz is much more expensive than other rental car companies
7.6
MeOctober 9, 2016
Service excellence, staff friendly
No complaints
9.8
PholosoOctober 5, 2016
The 24 hour cycle of renting,.. I didn't drive much but the point was to see as much cape town attractions and i did just that, thanks
It was my first time renting a car and i had a couple of questions/concerns but the guy at the counter was impatient to my questions
7.4
October 3, 2016
A compulsory fuel top up fee even though the vehicle was filled.
7.2
WendyOctober 3, 2016
Everything except the wait to have the car checked for departure.
Waiting so long for someone to check the car so that we could get on our way.
8.8
SteveSeptember 30, 2016
Was rushed and treated brusquely by staff on return of car, they could have a better setup for handling issues.
8.0
September 25, 2016
Very good small car with lots of little extra features - central locking, lights when you opened the doors, good dashboard etc
Suspension but then it was very good value!
8.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Hertz Rating
South Africa
Excellent
8.60667 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings