Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

First Car Rental logo - rentalcars.com

First Car Rental Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on First Car Rental in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

MARINDAMarch 20, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful and added an extra driver free of charge.
We had to pump up one of the tyres when we reached our destination.
8.6
March 19, 2017
The car was clean and easy to drive. The two baby seats were great for my grandsons.
It took over 3 hours to pick up the car.Far too long.
6.4
ThomasMarch 18, 2017
Good all round service
Nothing
9.0
WilliamMarch 18, 2017
The staff at check in were excellent and were very friendly.
9.2
NeilMarch 16, 2017
Professionally acquitted
Nil
8.8
MichaelMarch 14, 2017
Car was quite new
Depot unaware that I wished to take car into Lesotho & Swaziland and had to change car at last minute Very basic model so lack of minor features
7.8
March 13, 2017
There was nothing to dislike.
9.0
March 12, 2017
Good service!
Car model was old... Gearbox jumped gears.
8.0
March 12, 2017
The condition of the car was poor.
5.8
March 12, 2017
Very efficient at Cape Town Airport & dealt with swiftly. The car was excellent size & we had no problems at all with the car.
They took a payment which was not explained but we got it back when we got home. It would have been easier if someone had told us what the paymnet was for.
8.8
March 11, 2017
Good car
Getting my heavy cases to rental desk quite a distance with a hill
8.4
EdwigeMarch 10, 2017
Spacy car for 4 people and integrated GPS
Luggage space a little tight because of 7 seat possibility. No mention of integrated GPS so we reserved one and did not need it. Hope to get refund for the extra charge as we turned it in imlediately.
7.6
stefanoMarch 8, 2017
was very easy to drop off he car.
gearbox was stucked
7.0
March 7, 2017
Plenty of room in the car.
a few scratches.
7.0
March 4, 2017
Quick return procedures
Time to collect the car
8.2
SimonMarch 2, 2017
All was as good as was advertised . All very easy and would reccomend
8.6
February 28, 2017
Car was as expected and we managed to pick the car up a bit earlier.
Car was little under powered for the hills of South Africa. We definitely use the company again but would go for the larger engine optio.
8.2
DerekFebruary 27, 2017
The very helpful Gayle at Stellenbosh
8.6
MargaretFebruary 27, 2017
Everything
Nothing
8.8
February 24, 2017
Excellent boot space fo luggage.
Engine slightly under powered.
8.6
February 21, 2017
Car was spotless.
Rental desk was off-line which delayed the release of the car excessively. Counter assistant would initially not accept the voucher on my smartphone. Eventually her supervisor authorised the transaction.The second disappointment was the car's high mileage (41 000km) and an intrusive mechanical drone (diff whine?). But fine otherwise.
7.4
KeithFebruary 21, 2017
easy car collection at CPT, drop off also straight forward
Car was a Suzuki Ertiga made in India as opposed to the Nissan that I had ordered. No great problem except tat this car was very underpowered.
8.2
AnandhanFebruary 20, 2017
Good service
8.4
SharonFebruary 20, 2017
No queues at the office, all very quick. Car was also ready and waiting.
Nothing to comment on
8.6
February 20, 2017
The cigarette lighter receptical was not working, which meant that the Garmin that we rented did not work after the battery expired.
8.2
AndrewFebruary 19, 2017
Good, efficient car.
Seemed like a downgrade as not as good as a Tiida. Engine reall oo small for a Cape Town return trip - needed a 6th gear.
8.2
CarmenFebruary 16, 2017
We didn't have to wait long to pick up the car we hired. The staff members were all friendly and willing to help. The drop off was easy to locate and the staff was professional. Our third vehicle replacement was an upgrade and a much safer drive.
We didn't get the car we wanted but were given a car in the same group. The first car had to be picked up due to a problem with the brakes. We took the replacement back as well as it too had a brake problem. The replacement for that was an upgrade.
7.0
February 15, 2017
Car was new so no damage, staff very helpful.
Auto gearbox was a bit primitive.
8.4
MALCOLMFebruary 6, 2017
Friendly staff.
Car not quite up to usual standard. Only 4k from service. Window switch on passenger side faulty. Company very quick to take R3k deposit but not quick to refund at end of hire. This, however, is a problem with all SA rental companies. Last time it took a month.
8.4
February 1, 2017
clean car they refueled the car up at no extra charge
long wait to collect the car. being charged for a full day when the car was returned 2 hours after the collection time.
6.8
JanFebruary 1, 2017
HELPFULNESS OF STAFF
8.0
AndrewJanuary 26, 2017
Clean relatively new car, helpfull staff.
Nothing
8.8
January 24, 2017
Good service
Nothing
8.6
DavidJanuary 21, 2017
Smooth operation at collection and drop-off.Staff helpful and cheery.
9.0
MeganJanuary 21, 2017
The fact that, though the car was within the grade, I was allowed to change to a different car, as did not like the car that had been initially allocated with no problems. The staff at First Car Rental were so obliging and helpful. Thank you.
The fact that though had just filled the car with fuel, was still charged a top-up for the distance from the fuel pump. Apart from that, the service was great.
8.4
RobJanuary 20, 2017
Everything went according to plan . Absolutely hassle free!!
Radio didn't work properly
9.0
DeanJanuary 20, 2017
Value for money of the vehicle
Took too long to pick-up vehicle. More staff should have been working - the que was standing out the door.
7.6
January 17, 2017
Left Passenger vehicle mechanism packed up on a new car
7.6
EamonJanuary 8, 2017
Excellent value, at the Christmas season.Ideal car with lots of luggage space
Nothing.
8.6
January 5, 2017
The car was fine, great aircon, bluetooth and comfort
The time and paperwork it took to complete getting the car! The banking system was down and so everything was manual. It took over an hour!
7.6
DianneJanuary 4, 2017
We had a great experience, car was slightly bigger than we had booked, all the changes I made to the booking (baby seat, extra day and change go drop off location were handled professionally and with excellent service.
Long wait at the airport, but this seemed to be caused by demanding and unreasonable customers rather than lack of staff.
8.4
January 3, 2017
Very slow pick up
8.6
VINCENTJanuary 3, 2017
HAS HANDED A BRAND NEW CAR - I LIKED THAT.
I SPEND 20 MINUTES LOOKING AN ATTENDENT TO COME LOCATE THE CAR. IT WASNT AT THE SPECIFIED PARKING BAY. I WAS ALSO A BIT WORRIED WHEN HANDING IN THE CAR BECAUSE THE GENTLEMEN RECIVING IT DID NOT HAVE ANY IDENTIFICATION.
7.4
HelenDecember 30, 2016
I didn't get the car I booked. The engine size of the car I got was too small. It was like driving a sewing machine.
7.6
IgnatiusDecember 28, 2016
Aircon, fuel consumption
7.6
ValerieDecember 24, 2016
Customers and staff at the First Car Hire was helpful, friendly, knowledgeable.
9.0
December 23, 2016
Nice car, good value for money. Helpful guy at pick-up.
Long line to register for collection. First car offered had puncture.
7.2
December 22, 2016
My credit card was charged afterwards for damage and this is ok. But it is not ok when I am NOT advised at all.
8.0
DanielDecember 16, 2016
Excellent service_quick and efficient.
9.4
SuellenDecember 13, 2016
The Service desk was great and very fast.
9.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
First Car Rental Rating
South Africa
Very good
7.89 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings