Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

First Car Rental logo - rentalcars.com

First Car Rental Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on First Car Rental in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

brianApril 18, 2018
compact location
opening times, more staff
7.8
April 7, 2018
Good location. Great staff
The side view mirrors of the car were nearly impossible to adjust
8.2
JenniferApril 7, 2018
The car rental staff that went through the car with you in the car park they were very nice. Much better than the staff at the car hire counter.
I got a car with no central locking which was a pain.
4.6
PaulineApril 7, 2018
The upgrade was lovely - Very nice car and very comfortable to drive.
nothing
8.4
TimothyApril 5, 2018
Liked the Renault Captur
7.4
April 5, 2018
Car was the right size for the long distances driven to Capetown. good A/C
No satnav not able to know that before/during booking process
7.4
DennisMarch 30, 2018
Overall it was a good experience and will go with 1st Car Rental again
8.6
BrianMarch 25, 2018
My request for a car with a large enough boot to accommodate 2 sets of golf clubs and 3 trolleys was passed to the Car Rental company and they provided the right vehicle.
The VW provided at the airport had not been checked properly. The windscreen was dirty and when I operated the screen washers they were empty. I tried to fill the washers but the water just poured out under the car. First wanted me to return vehicle to Cape Town but I refused & they agreed to bring a replacement to Hermanus.The new Almeria was VG
7.4
HelenMarch 23, 2018
I liked the fact that the deposit less petrol, was paid back the next day.
8.4
MaxMarch 18, 2018
Overhaul good condition of the car
besides an automatic Corolla, i man good class car, the vehicle missed simple stuffs that make it more confortable like radio control on the steering wheel.
7.4
March 17, 2018
The car was exactly what I had ordered.
If an upgrade was asked for I would have took it as the car was alittle smaller then we required
6.8
March 12, 2018
Car first provided was Renault dance to - previously I had poor experience. They immediately changed to Toyota Etios which equated to lesser Corolla, and was good. Car ran well with excellent boot.
Period had double key for security and ignition -this was fiddly!!
8.0
keithMarch 11, 2018
had a small problem noisy air con fan car was exchanged no problem
8.4
March 11, 2018
everything
nothing
8.4
March 9, 2018
Friendly staff, quick service, new car in good conditions, no hassle
8.8
ElizabethMarch 5, 2018
Good customer service - almost new car - very clean.
Nothing.
9.2
March 1, 2018
Service was excellent
8.2
February 28, 2018
Was easy drop of
All good
8.0
February 27, 2018
Ease of booking
Did not like pick up location in centre of town, roads around area were very busy. Next time I'll choose an airport pick up.
8.2
GuyFebruary 24, 2018
Good car
8.6
MargaretFebruary 22, 2018
Efficient, friendly staff
8.2
JohnFebruary 19, 2018
Reliable vehicle
Nothing in particular
8.0
CarolFebruary 16, 2018
Very professional, helpful & friendly
8.2
February 15, 2018
Friendly helpful service at all levels.
9.2
MartinFebruary 3, 2018
Quick hire process
The car was a little underpowered
8.8
JohnFebruary 3, 2018
The clutch was in poor condition and the engine very noisy, not a relaxing car to drive long distances. I had to top up the windscreen washer bottle. Not good.
7.2
January 30, 2018
Excellent service
None
8.0
GwenJanuary 26, 2018
Effective car at a good price
Only draw back was that the first car had a flat battery and did not start. Unpacking bags into a replacement vehicle etc added time. Also the second car had no water in the wash bottle. Otherwise excellent
8.0
January 23, 2018
After getting used to the English side driving, that Nissan Almera had a weird turning signal at the wrong side, so I cough my self turning the wind shield wipers all the time
7.2
ChrisJanuary 20, 2018
Great little car,lots of space
The sat nab was extra.picked the car up at night had to point out minor existing damage not picked up by personel
6.2
JulieJanuary 20, 2018
All staff very pleasant
Nothing
9.0
January 19, 2018
Good service from the Staff and very Friendly and willing to help you
The Car should come out with foot mats to keep it clean
8.2
January 10, 2018
Excellent service from Njabula and the manager
8.8
ShaneJanuary 8, 2018
Great service and everything was ready just had to sign some paperwork.
8.8
GeoffreyJanuary 7, 2018
Pick up was easy, it took a little longer as we were slightly early and just getting all the documentation sorted. Drop Off was perfect, they inspected the car, signed it off and we were on our way. The monies were deposited a few days later into out account.
When we went to pick up the vehicle, we were offered a smaller car than ordered, we showed them the paperwork and he gave us the same type of car we booked.
8.6
KarenJanuary 7, 2018
Very friendly service ...though wish we would have chosen a bigger car, but very satisfied......
9.0
MaleselaJanuary 1, 2018
Excellent service
I liked the service
8.8
brianJanuary 1, 2018
No one there to check car in and check car over
6.6
SimonDecember 28, 2017
The professionalism of the staff was very impressive.
Not knowing when would the deposit money be returned .
8.0
December 25, 2017
good service
8.2
December 23, 2017
Ease of collection and drop off
9.2
HeléDecember 22, 2017
Friendly staff at desk
Noone escorted us to the car, and there was noone to do the inspection before we left. We had to go look for someone, so maybe send person out with customers when they are about to leave
9.2
December 18, 2017
Car had low mileage and was in good condition.
7.2
andrewDecember 17, 2017
the return of the car was at a different part of the airport and difficult to get to. i had to drive against traffic to enter the bay. overall uncessary hassel
8.2
December 16, 2017
Overall fantastic. We were directed to Avis for maps.
Nil
7.6
Per-OlofDecember 14, 2017
A rental car must contain a physical map - this must not be a surprise for the counter staaf! We came for the very first time to South Africa and knew absolutely nothing about the roads - later we found a free map giving us the neccesary overview.
7.8
December 8, 2017
The car we got was excellent. The service was fantastic and will definitely recommend to friends. Thanks a lot!
9.0
December 7, 2017
The car was virtually brand new and incredibly comfortable. There were only two of us in the car but it could have fit our two children in very easily.
9.0
BarteltDecember 1, 2017
I first had an upgrade
After a day I needed to bring the car back
8.6
MartinNovember 29, 2017
I booked a Nissan Tiida and got a Polo Vivo. The Polo was a great car with a huge boot which took all three of our suitcases. Really a big plus and a much better car for us.
8.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
First Car Rental Rating
South Africa
Very good
7.33333 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.