Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

February 23, 2017
Brand new car in same group, pick up time reasonable although Avis desk is quite a hike with suitcases. Avis didn`t seem aware that I had booked full protection through Rental Cars so we had the same queries to go through.
I wasn`t aware that the full protection cover was actually provided by Rental Cars and not the car provider. This should be highlighted more to save embarrassment at the pick up desk.
7.4
nicolaasFebruary 23, 2017
The friendlyness and helpfullness of all staff.
9.4
February 23, 2017
car engine was a bit to weak.
8.0
IlanFebruary 22, 2017
Fast child seats assembly by the AVIS staff
The huge queue outside the AVIS counter, well over 45 minutes
7.2
February 22, 2017
Location of the AVIS office
Staff was not helpful for looking for a taxi after dropping off the car
5.8
RichardFebruary 22, 2017
Up grade of course en general good service.
Only thing: no water in the sprayer of the windshield.
8.8
February 20, 2017
efficiency of the company
The agent fee for car rental is very high, and it was cot communicated on thee website, Its much cheaper when you book directly not using rental car, the amount I pain car rental is more than what I paid Avis for car hire.
8.8
JohnFebruary 17, 2017
Automatic saloon was a pleasure to drive.
Can't think of anything.
7.6
JohnFebruary 17, 2017
Good size for 6 plus luggage and 8 when two more of the Family joined us for odd trips.
Poor power and very sluggish. Lack of acceleration was concerning at times.
6.0
February 17, 2017
fast service
waiting to long for someone to do car check with you
9.0
February 17, 2017
I got a brand new car. It was very clean
The air conditioner was not cold enough even at the lowest temperature and highest fan power
9.8
February 17, 2017
Excellent service and great staff. Brand new vehicle with no issues whatsoever?!
9.8
AndrewFebruary 16, 2017
I got a cracked windscreen and didn't realise I was covered for it so was incredibly happy to find out I was and they dropped me another car off. Great service.
8.6
grahamFebruary 12, 2017
I am off on my travels every month as I am a travel writer and I will use AVIS when ever I can
nothing everything was perfect
9.8
February 12, 2017
Functional little car that is great on fuel consumption.
Car struggled a bit up hill.
8.6
February 10, 2017
They found a very small scratch on the rear bumper that I knew nothing about and are likely to charge me for repairs
9.2
DanaFebruary 10, 2017
When I arrived on Sunday the service was slow and took almost an hour to gret my car. Nobody was avaialable to take me to the car and check for damage. There was a scratch which I then photographed. On returned they argued the scratch and luckily I had the photograph
8.0
February 10, 2017
Service was good, people very helpful and the car was perfect.
I was not 100% on filling the car up to full again as there was no garage at the airport that I know of so I filled up and rode 60km, wasn't sure or clear on whether that was correct.
8.6
February 8, 2017
IT took longer as we arrived early and they were able to get us on the road earlier I had already submitted this report some time ago.
Nothing.
8.6
February 7, 2017
Comfortable car and very economical on fuel.
All was good
9.0
BelindaFebruary 6, 2017
We arrived in Cape Town on 31st December which was a very busy day - the staff tried very hard to process our booking but there were huge queues - perhaps more staff could be rostered on such a busy day. Otherwise everything was great.
8.2
BonganiFebruary 4, 2017
Good stuff at Avis.
Nothing. All was in order.
8.2
February 4, 2017
Car we requested was not a polo we got a fiesta.
6.0
February 2, 2017
Everything worked
Too long waiting line at checkin. Had expected a VW Polo, got a Hyundai i10. I felt that car had lower value, but the agent insisted it was same class.
6.2
January 30, 2017
uncomplicated service.
8.2
January 30, 2017
Overall an easy process
Centre console in VW Golf is uncomfortable against drivers leg
9.2
January 30, 2017
Friendly staff
Car lost compression when the aircon was switched on .
8.4
LAURENCEJanuary 27, 2017
Comfort and ease of drive.
It took some getting used to the Indicators being on the other side to my own personal car. And then afterwards I had to train myself to drive my own car again.
8.8
JohnJanuary 27, 2017
The car was small (OK for a few people) with space for only one suitcase in the boot. Because it was light, it was very susceptible to strong Cape winds
9.2
January 23, 2017
Good Car
Delay in picking up car due to driver licence issues
7.2
KeithJanuary 23, 2017
Even though it was busy, we were made aware that it was busy and that made the waiting time not so bad. The customer services consultant was friendly and helpful, the fact that the car I booked was sold out I was made to fill at easy as they could offer me an upgrade. I would say Avis at Cape Town International is the best.
Nothing
9.0
January 23, 2017
the professionalism by your staff
all was good
8.4
January 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Easy access to hired car
9.0
NancyJanuary 22, 2017
Very pleasant staff
The lineup to get the car was quite long, and the office was not air conditioned, somewhat uncomfortable
7.6
AbigailJanuary 21, 2017
I am very happy with the service. Friendly, efficient, fast and helpful. Great.I would definetly recommend Avis Cape Town car rental anytime. Abigail
9.4
January 19, 2017
Reasonable price and economic on fuel.
Underpowered.
8.2
January 18, 2017
Ok no problems,
7.6
January 17, 2017
No problems with car during rental time. Easy return.
Booking not directly via Avis. Took 90mins to get the car.
7.6
AfzalJanuary 17, 2017
The car was nice
The top up insurance was too much per day
8.2
DennisJanuary 15, 2017
Your friendly and helpful staff
Nothing really
8.2
TimoJanuary 15, 2017
Price and car
We have to wait almoust 1,5h to get the car and that sucks :-(
7.4
January 15, 2017
Quick reaction and get done with the process, was excellent.
N/A
9.2
NaliniJanuary 14, 2017
Flight was very late getting in to Durban. I called the Avis office to let them know and they assured me that they would wait for me to pick up my car before they closed. Really good customer service!
9.0
January 12, 2017
Good service nice little car
Nothing
7.6
January 11, 2017
Condition of the car and value for money
You should have told me about the extra R2000 that is requirement for toll gates etc via email before arriving at the airport and that no cash is accepted, only a credit card is accepted for this R2000
7.4
DevanathanJanuary 9, 2017
EFFIENTCY EXELLENT SERVICE
9.2
January 8, 2017
Recibí un auto mejor al que alquile
Esperamos 1:30hs para retirar el auto, éramos muchos clientes en la cola y solo atendían 2-3 empleados. Llegue muy tarde al hotel.
6.4
ChristopherJanuary 8, 2017
I did not get the car i booked. also i had to change my dates of hire and was charged a great deal even though it was still for the same number of days
7.6
AaronJanuary 6, 2017
A very nice car, neat and in a perfect condition. The staff at Preferred desk treated me like a King, let them keep it up.
Nothing negative. Only thing we didnt like was that our booking duration was too short, we wish we enjoyed using the car abit longer.
9.4
January 5, 2017
Ease of drop off
Slow service at pickup
7.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
South Africa
Excellent
8.32222 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings