Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

StanleyFebruary 18, 2018
Great staff, good vehicle and excellent service.
9.2
JohnFebruary 17, 2018
Everything as expected
Nothing
7.6
February 13, 2018
The staff at the counter were SO friendly, I promised to develop a relationship with AVIS as I am likely to be there for business once a month
9.4
IainFebruary 12, 2018
Car was great and no problems. The girl at the desk who gave us the car was excellent and explained everything very clearly. Probably the best I've experienced when hiring a car.
The water shortage in Cape Town meant cars couldn't be washed. Hope the water situation improves soon.
8.6
HaroonFebruary 8, 2018
Collecting with no much wait
General conditions of the car
6.2
ThomasFebruary 6, 2018
Brand new car Friendly staff
7.6
February 4, 2018
Very good customer care
Nothing at all liked everything
9.4
AlanFebruary 3, 2018
New Renault Clio with 5600k on the clock. Quick to hire and quick to return. Staff were good. Cant ask for anything more
9.4
HlamalaniFebruary 1, 2018
I could smoke in the car (I was happy to pay the fine)
Nothing
9.4
January 31, 2018
It was just great and fast
8.6
AndrewJanuary 30, 2018
WE HAD NO PROBLEMS
8.4
TebatsoJanuary 29, 2018
Everything about Avis .. service was good and the stuff were friendly
None
7.8
BelindaJanuary 29, 2018
Awesome service thank you
9.0
DeniseJanuary 28, 2018
All good
No comlaints
9.6
DuncanJanuary 28, 2018
Ease of pick up and go
Nothing to do with the car rental but it would be nice if all the rental company's would have trolley for luggage on dropping off car
9.6
January 28, 2018
Car was exactly what I ordered
I think that next time I will go for a grade higher. Severe drought in the Cape means that cats are not washed. Not Avis fault.
7.0
January 28, 2018
Friendliness of staff
Fuel tank looked full on pick-up but later found it was only part full due to fuel gauge effects.
8.0
January 26, 2018
Friendly service
7.6
ALIDAJanuary 22, 2018
EXCELLENT SERVICE FROM AVIS, CAR IN GOOD CONDITION
TYRE PRESSURE INCORRECT
9.2
JonathanJanuary 16, 2018
Quick assistance at the desk, lovely clean car, quick return procedure. No time wasted at all.
can't think of anything
8.6
NyaradzoJanuary 15, 2018
It was easy to make the booking and to get my deposit refunded.
Nothing that I can think of
8.4
DavidJanuary 15, 2018
The staff was friendly and helpful.
7.2
January 15, 2018
The car had lots of room and could take 7 of us while driving in town.
I would most probably go for a larger sedan type vehicle or combi type vehicle next time as I wasn't all that impressed with the road holding on the open road.
8.2
IbrahimoJanuary 13, 2018
Still doing on this way.
Everything was ok.
8.6
January 13, 2018
Facility to meet client need and flexibility to satisfy the big que it was on arrival
8.2
January 11, 2018
Slow service at pick up
6.8
January 11, 2018
Overall service was great and staff were very friendly.
Car was not fully fueled when picked up.
8.0
VictoriaJanuary 10, 2018
My flight was delayed by more than 6 hours into Durban. The Avis office at King Shaka is meant to close at 11pm and they actually remained open for me so that I could collect my car.
No complaints at all.
9.2
January 9, 2018
Service was good
8.6
January 8, 2018
Flexibility, price
8.6
EliJanuary 8, 2018
Friendliness of the staff
8.4
January 6, 2018
Easy, convenient
8.8
January 6, 2018
The car you gave me does not have a mat on the floor and Im not happy with that because its make me go to the shop and buy the mat for the car
For giving me the car without a floor mat
5.8
January 6, 2018
Avis staff was very friendly however I did have to prompt them to note down the scratches on the car at pick up. Except for the minor scratches on the car's surface, it was a pleasure and easy to drive. Will use Avis Umhlanga again on our next visit!
Pick-up/drop-off zone was very congested with Cabana hotel guests but to be fair the rental was during peak season. Reserved Avis parking bays would be helpful.
8.4
PaulJanuary 6, 2018
Everything about the car and hire was satisfactory. Car comfy enough for 3 in th back. No hiccups. Saving on water by not washing outside of car.
None
6.8
NomthandazoJanuary 3, 2018
Best service ever my flight was delayed the Avis staff waited for us
8.8
SindisiweDecember 31, 2017
When our car showed engine light, AVIS immediately brought us a new vehicle
8.6
SifisoDecember 31, 2017
Excellent service
0
9.8
CLAUDIODecember 29, 2017
The type of the car
Lack of cleaning
5.8
MkhuluDecember 28, 2017
Excellent client service i received at the reception/rental desk.
8.8
AlidaDecember 28, 2017
Efficient and friendly service despite very busy day close to christmas
9.0
galilodienDecember 26, 2017
Excellent service
No comment
8.0
December 25, 2017
Thank you very much Avis i had nice busness trip
Nothing
9.0
December 20, 2017
Friendly agent
The car had no AC which made the drive difficult and uncomfortable in the heat driving NG through the park.
6.2
SwantjeDecember 19, 2017
Car was not completely filled with fluid!!
7.4
December 18, 2017
Pick up was very busy; it took a long time. Personal opened extra desks and was helpful.
7.4
December 16, 2017
Cheap deposit
9.8
PreciousDecember 16, 2017
The consultant was very helpful and the vehicle was already waiting for me.He fetched us from the shell garage on arrival and brought us back on departure.
6.6
December 14, 2017
the car and its condition
not signing anywhere when I returned the car to ensure that they received the car back. I signed when I took it, but I didn't sign when I return it.
7.2
December 13, 2017
staff helpful and engaging
car was dirty and not clean even though I had to wait over 40 mins for it ?
7.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Avis Rating
South Africa
Excellent
8.17805 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*
Privacy policy

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.