Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in South Africa

Find great prices with Avis in South Africa, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Sun 25 Mar 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Wed 28 Mar 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support



Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in South Africa is quick and easy
  • Avis in South Africa are renowned for keeping their cars in good condition
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in South Africa

Ratings for Avis in South Africa


  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

  • Overall condition of the vehicle

  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative


Popular Locations

Reviews of Avis in South Africa

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 20 March 2018
Pick up could always be faster but drop off was very easy. Great new car, great service overall.
Anonymous Sandton - Gautrain 20 March 2018
They were very helpful when I picked the car, I am a foreigner and the guy giving me the car took the time to help me program the GPS and gave advise. Nothing
Anonymous Lanseria Airport 20 March 2018
Clean good condition vehicle .
Mmakgotso Cape Town Airport 19 March 2018
the upgrade we got nothing
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 18 March 2018
Helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. If it wasn't for the amazing helpfulness of the Members section, we would have queued for more than an hour to get our vehicle.
Graziella Cape Town - Milnerton 18 March 2018
Loved the car and the extremely friendly and helpful staff.
royston Cape Town Airport 14 March 2018
brand car first hire
Anonymous Durban Airport 14 March 2018
Brilliant car Nothing to dislike
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 13 March 2018
Easy to find location Offices don't appear to be air conditioned- or it wasn't on! Close at 3:0pm Sat / Sunday
Shakes Cape Town Airport 13 March 2018
I liked the hot dog idea as well as the water bottles idea, very impressive and the staff is so wonderful I wish my car was very clean outside to see scratches but the service was great

Top Companies in South Africa

Avis is in the top 5

1 Avis car hire - 8.13846 Ratings: 7417
2 Budget car hire - 8.12727 Ratings: 5071
3 Bidvest car hire - 8.02308 Ratings: 15464
4 Hertz car hire - 7.97391 Ratings: 9558
5 Europcar car hire - 7.84615 Ratings: 4932
See all companies in South Africa


What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.