Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Portugal

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in Portugal and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

DionisioJanuary 12, 2017
very helpfull
no dislikes
9.0
January 9, 2017
Perfect. Will definitely use Budget again.
None
9.4
January 3, 2017
Nice stuff and helpful
The car insurance was pricy
6.8
JuliaDecember 18, 2016
Possible future customers need to be aware of the terrain they will encounter which could influence their choice/engine size.
Brakes juddered when braking, possible tracking fault??
8.6
ArmandoDecember 17, 2016
Staff very helpful and always ready to assist. Car was brand new with very little mileage. Place of pickup and delivery close to public transportation, thus easy access.
Nothing
8.8
December 16, 2016
excellent staff
took too long to pick up car, only on person on counter
8.2
December 13, 2016
It was a regular pick up no problems
Nothing to dislike
8.2
December 11, 2016
Speed and efficiency of service, car was good
Always pushing for upgrade
9.4
December 3, 2016
Very good service
Nothing
9.4
December 2, 2016
The associate that we spoke with was very friendly and helpful.
It took too long to get the car. There were unused computer stations while we saw multiple employees in the building that could've helped.
7.4
November 30, 2016
great experience with budget. budget&avis work together in libon
9.0
November 27, 2016
car was in good condition. staff very helpful and could speak English. pick up and return was easy.
8.6
MichaelNovember 25, 2016
Excellent car, well maintained , helpful staff and good value
nothing
8.6
TiagoNovember 25, 2016
unlimited millage, no hidden costs, Car fully equipped incl GPS, They checked the car with me (before and after)
pick up was slow
8.8
November 22, 2016
Very professional service and an upgrade without asking.
7.4
November 14, 2016
All the staff we dealt with were extremely helpful and polite
9.0
November 9, 2016
Bad GPS
8.8
CarlOctober 29, 2016
Had a new Renault Clio LTD edition which was very nice but the suspension was knocking so we had to return it the following day and was given a three cylinder Mitsubishi. We returned the car at the end of the holiday and saw the manager, he reduced the hire cost a lot and apologised. Happy with service given.
The Mitsubishi starlight? very basic and the rear seats were not very comfortable with not much boot space for 4 people.
8.8
October 28, 2016
Staff courteous & attentive.
Location not easily found, would be better with more prominent site with parking facilities as on street parking not ideal.
7.8
geertruidaOctober 22, 2016
Friendly staff. Speed of service. Could leave car in garage and put my luggage in car while waiting for rest of group to arrive. Would use again.
9.4
ElizabethOctober 21, 2016
Staff were very polite and friendly. Very smooth transaction.
When leaving the airport on foot there are no signs what so ever to point you in the direction of any car hire companies.
7.6
October 20, 2016
All the staff, both at the counter and at drop-off, were exceptional - efficient and friendly
8.6
DouglasOctober 17, 2016
Ease and efficiency of the transaction.
9.0
GrigoreOctober 16, 2016
The car was in good condition. Pick up an return was very quick. No hard selling of insurance/gps etc.
Nothing to do with the company, but for people travelling to Porto, there is no fuel station in the airport, so if you need to return the car with full fuel tank, fill the car on the motorway.
8.8
October 16, 2016
Good car good condition
paying extra for excess removal
8.6
StewartOctober 15, 2016
Ease of pick up
Charged full rental period for second driver even though I only asked for second driver 6 days into the rental. This is profiteering.
7.4
JohnOctober 9, 2016
Have not received confirmation of the Full Protection insurance refund from Rentalcars after informing them that I had to pay the additional insurance at Avis/Budget when I picked up the hire car
8.4
DeclanOctober 9, 2016
Rented a fiat panda because we just needed a small car, but got upgraded to a a 2016 BMW 1 Series sport. It was unreal! Loved it!
There should be a better way to charge for tolls. I was charged a full amount for tolls but I definitely didn't use the tolls that much.
8.6
October 7, 2016
Good value for money.
Long wait at rental desk.
8.0
October 5, 2016
Nothing
Don't use Fiat Punto's they are underpowered and won't pull away on a hill
7.4
October 4, 2016
No queues to pick up, great staff and an effective upgrade. What could be better?
Nothing
8.6
October 2, 2016
Great service
8.0
SteveOctober 2, 2016
Liked everything about the car
9.0
October 1, 2016
would have liked if the staff had spoke better English to explain things
8.4
October 1, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Check in us a little small and cramped.
8.6
AllanSeptember 26, 2016
Friendliness of counter staff. Their command of English.
8.2
September 26, 2016
Everything
Nothing
8.0
September 26, 2016
We got gps in free.
-
9.4
September 25, 2016
friendly efficient service
8.2
September 23, 2016
Helpful staff.easy procedure
Was running late and the helpline was in Barcelona and had no contact with the desk at Lisbon so was a complete waste of time
9.0
September 22, 2016
Car ordered was Ford fiesta, got Fiat Punto. Holiday was in Carvoeiro and town is hilly. Car had difficulty going up steep hills. Ver low powered. Outside of that, everything was ok.
8.0
ChristopherSeptember 21, 2016
The counter staff were very helpful and explained clearly the extra charges giving the option to return the car full or empty.
8.8
JamesSeptember 19, 2016
Friendly rental staff. Took time to speak with us and wished us well. A good start. End of rental was similar. Easy and straightforward.
Car was soiled with bird mess on roof and sides. Car wash was giving problems. Slight body damage in places. Overall o k.
7.6
ChristopherSeptember 19, 2016
Excellent English spoken and a very new vehicle provided
Lack of clarity of information from the counter staff re tolls and charges.
8.0
September 19, 2016
Desk staff very friendly and helpful
Add on costs when collecting the car effectively doubled the expense of the hire - not good at all
7.6
September 17, 2016
Great car!!
Too many attempts to upsell.
7.8
ColinSeptember 16, 2016
Budget staff extremely helpful great car and great value for money, highly recommended
8.0
September 16, 2016
Ease of pick up and drop off.
Returning fuel tank full. There was no opportunity to purchase fuel after leaving the motorway...I presumed there would be!!! Therefore, returned car with half a tank of fuel, but had to pay for the full tank. It would be much easier to pay just for fuel used... As the car has to be filled up anyway, I can't see this as a problem.
8.8
September 14, 2016
Ease of pick up in relation to our previous experience with another company
Nothing
9.2
JamesSeptember 14, 2016
THe car was fine.
Unexpected additional expenses e.g. the complicated electronic toll reader Trying to persuade us to buy additional but unnecessary insurance cover Very difficult to find the office on our return. Should be programmed into Satnav or a proper map with sufficient detail to locate the office.
6.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Budget Rating
Portugal
Excellent
8.11176 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings