Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews New Zealand

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in New Zealand and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

February 23, 2018
Efficient booking collection and drop off. Car ready and clean
Nothing
6.8
PaulFebruary 22, 2018
the service
no maps or GPS Dissapointing
9.0
CamiloFebruary 21, 2018
Service and car was exactly what I expected
All good
9.2
PaulFebruary 21, 2018
The Holden TRAX we got was a super car - just right for our luggage and the two of us. It was more like an SUV than a normal car and quite economical. Once I got used to the idea, handing in the car at Wellington and picking another up at Picton, thus only incurring foot passenger costs on the ferry was great. It was nice to get another TRAX too!
Given NZ roads, with lots of ups, downs and twists, I would have liked a gear shift car rather than an automatic, so I was not sitting on the brakes all the time. However, given that many tourists are not used to driving on the left, I can see why rental cars tend to be automatic (one less thing to think about).
9.2
February 21, 2018
staff were very friendly and car was wonderful.
9.2
WynelFebruary 21, 2018
Price/ make/ an the ease of collecting an dropping the car off
Colour
8.6
ThomasFebruary 21, 2018
Excellent service both at pick up and drop off. Really pleased to have got a bigger car than requested which was a beautiful car to drive.
7.6
JasonFebruary 21, 2018
Excellent service and the car was perfect
Nothing
6.8
LouellaFebruary 20, 2018
Everything went smoothly and rapidly.
9.0
MargaretFebruary 18, 2018
Car gave us no trouble at all. Staff helpful at both ends
8.6
February 18, 2018
Everything will use thrifty again and will recommend yous to people I know excellent
8.6
GrantFebruary 18, 2018
All good. No problems. Easy to do business with. Thrifty counter staff very helpful.
9.2
RobertFebruary 18, 2018
The member of staff at Christchurch was exceptional in the help she provided
8.4
MarkFebruary 17, 2018
Nice and friendly
Nothing
8.6
SuzanneFebruary 16, 2018
Was all good
It didn’t come with a Navman. When in another country is a must.
9.0
February 15, 2018
It was an easy process and staff were all very helpful.
8.8
February 14, 2018
The free upgrade
7.2
February 13, 2018
No problems. Car was very economical
8.4
JamesFebruary 13, 2018
Great to have an upgrade. Quick pick up and drop off. I liked that office was in the airport no waiting for shuttle.
8.2
February 12, 2018
Easy to find
Picking up the car, customer service could have been better.
7.6
February 12, 2018
We had an almost brand new car.
In bad weather, it was difficult to see in the wing mirrors.
7.6
February 12, 2018
Everything was fine.
No comments
7.6
WaitauhiFebruary 11, 2018
Fuel use was great and not much to fill the tank back up.
9.4
February 11, 2018
Very good car with full equipment
We had to drive on the left side...
9.4
KeithFebruary 10, 2018
Car was fine for just two people and luggage. First Yaris from Christchurch to Picton was quite new and in excellent order. Second Yaris from Wellington to Auckland was somewhat older. Pick up at Wellington was delayed as my ferry time was brought forward at very short notice and I forgot to contact Thrifty about this.
Second Yaris has a tyre that was in quite a poor state, but I only spotted this towards the end of the rental period. Not sure if it had been serviced prior to my collecting it as that service was due at 51,000km and I was going to taking the car through that threshold during the rental period.
8.0
February 9, 2018
Good car and service
Nope
9.6
February 8, 2018
Great service.
9.0
February 8, 2018
Young lady at the rental desk was very friendly and efficient.
Not used to the drop off procedure of just parking the car in the return lot at the ferry, locking it and dropping the key off and not having received a statement. Felt better when we checked in to our motel in Picton when I saw the car in the rental lot ready for the next customer. Glad when the email statement came the next dayb
7.4
BruceFebruary 8, 2018
Windscreen dirty
8.8
glennFebruary 8, 2018
helpful staff, as we were not familiar with auckland airport a staffer escorted us to the car.
it rained a lot while we were in N Z!
9.0
February 7, 2018
Comfortable to drive
Would have liked a bigger boot for luggage
9.0
ReynardiFebruary 6, 2018
New car (under 10k km)
9.2
anthonyFebruary 6, 2018
Carand staff were fantastic.
9.2
February 1, 2018
Lovely staff excellent car
Nothing
7.2
January 31, 2018
Great car. Only month old
Nothing
9.0
AnjaJanuary 30, 2018
The lady at Dunedin Airport gave me best advice ever: make sure, that the median strip is on your right side. For anybody who isn't used to left-hand traffic, this is a very handy instruction. Even everything went fine, it was good just to check from time to time, recalling this simple sentence :) Thank you very much!
9.8
January 30, 2018
Good customer service!
7.2
January 29, 2018
right vehicle for purpose
8.8
JulieJanuary 29, 2018
Excellent experience
8.0
January 28, 2018
Fast and Efficient. Staff helpful.
9.0
January 28, 2018
Great experience, overall!
7.6
ElizabethJanuary 28, 2018
Liked the car with its space.
Found crisps left between front seats. Could have done with some instructions before I left - not driven such a modern car!!
8.0
January 27, 2018
The best hire car company i have delt with,returning next year and will hire again through this company. Thanking you, certainly made our holiday a lot easier.
8.8
ChristopherJanuary 26, 2018
Good service.
Car not so economical on consumption. Not as clean as expected inside.
8.2
January 25, 2018
I got the car class I wanted. I didn't last time I booked with Thrifty
7.6
WILLIAMJanuary 24, 2018
Quick & easy to pick up & return.
7.6
WalterJanuary 24, 2018
I have hired from Thrifty Car Rental several times and have always been very happy with the car and their service. Other times I have booked direct, this time I booked through Rentalcars.com and that was because they offered an amazing deal
No complaints at all!
8.8
January 24, 2018
Thanks for the upgrade it was a great car to drive
8.6
January 22, 2018
Very good will use again
8.6
OksunJanuary 21, 2018
Very Kind staff.
There is no notice about there is no staff in Queenstown dropoff point.
8.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
New Zealand
Excellent
8.72593 / 10
10000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*
Privacy policy

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.