Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews New Zealand

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in New Zealand and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

AndrewAugust 16, 2017
Brilliant
Nope
8.8
HeatherAugust 14, 2017
The car, the service at booking and pickup and drop off.
An available person to show me to the car and set up GPS.
8.8
August 9, 2017
Awesome staff, super friendly and helpful.
9.4
VickiAugust 9, 2017
Generally great service
Handsfree phone device would have been helpful. Other companies have included this for the same model vehicle.
9.2
davidAugust 8, 2017
The staff were very nice at the office and we weren't charged for the damage that was already on the car.
car had some damage that we were worried we would get the blame and charged for
8.4
August 7, 2017
Always use Thrifty. Always impressed.
9.8
August 7, 2017
Easy get car
7.8
August 3, 2017
No chains included and none at the depot.
8.8
LizAugust 2, 2017
the ease of ordering and pick up/drop off. The car was a good compact car which suuited us well for what we wanted
No dislikes
8.6
SarahAugust 2, 2017
Very clean and modern car
Not full!!
6.8
PaulAugust 2, 2017
Always good cars and easy at the airport
8.6
August 1, 2017
Everything was great
7.2
AtholAugust 1, 2017
Excellent Service and a very good quality car. I was after the cheapest car and very surprise that it was a Toyota Corolla. Very happy with the performance of the car overall it made our trip that much better.
8.8
July 31, 2017
The car allocated on the folder was different to the car keys we received. We found the car because it was in the correct parking bay.
8.0
July 31, 2017
New vehicle. Good service
Ended up with a 2 litre Quashqui When we asked for a 2.5 litre Camry.
7.8
July 30, 2017
Pick up and drop off was very quick and easy.
8.4
MurrayJuly 30, 2017
Ease and quickness of hire and return
The drivers seat comfort - different make and model than expected
8.2
MarieJuly 29, 2017
Great car and easy to find offices inside airport
I diddnt know where to park the car in return and the desk was unmanned. I had a flight to catch so left car in carpark and put keys in Dropbox and pray no one would damage it before a person could check it!!!
8.2
July 28, 2017
The service was very good and efficient.
I don't like the gears in the Yaris and if I had realised that was the type of gears I would not have chosen this model.
9.6
MaxwellJuly 28, 2017
Perfect rental
Staff couldn't give me a final bill when I handed keys back
9.8
July 27, 2017
Great car
None
6.4
AndrewJuly 27, 2017
We ordered the car with snow chains, however, these were not on the order through to Thrifty, so were unavailable. Which was disappointing considering we were in Queenstown and the high chance they would be required driving to the ski fields.
8.8
PornsriJuly 27, 2017
The car is pretty new and in good condition.
7.8
July 26, 2017
Helpfulness of the staff
The queue
8.2
AndrewJuly 26, 2017
The staff were great and extremely helpful
8.2
DavidJuly 26, 2017
Got an upgrade. Car was outside on the car stand ready to drive away (Not in the car park)Very convenient.
No Thrifty car parks left for drop off. Was a bit worried- but recognised friendly Thrifty reception staff member at a nearby car in the park and she sorted the whole thing out - so that was actually very good :)
9.2
July 24, 2017
The whole experience of picking up the car to driving it. Thank you.
8.0
July 24, 2017
quick process to get the ar and someone waiting in the car park at drop off to collect.
No mention at the desk that the car i booked was not what i was getting. Just the carpark number, so i was confused when i was looking for a hatch back and found an SUV. That should have been explained to me at the counter. Or i be given the choice to keep the car I actually ordered.
8.6
JanJuly 23, 2017
Lady at the Thrifty was very helpful and friendly. What a pleasure to get a car from them. Thank you very much. I also was very impressed with the Toyota Corolla I got.
8.8
BrendanJuly 23, 2017
Excellent staff efficiency and understanding of my questions. First time rental concerns. Peace of mind answers. Thank you.
Can't think of any
9.6
July 19, 2017
Seamless hiring
Wipers were terrible
7.8
July 19, 2017
Good vehicle, good service
Nothing
8.8
July 19, 2017
Very quick n easy to do
9.2
CharlesJuly 18, 2017
Staff were lovely despite the fact we were hours late due to weather impacting our flight
Some of the add ons (car seat) were missing
7.8
GlendaJuly 17, 2017
Counter staff at Wellington airport were very helpful and friendly
9.4
July 16, 2017
Thrifty was able to pick up the car from the hotel on return.
The car was not cleaned before I pick it up.
6.4
July 16, 2017
The friendly staff
airport signs werent great to get straight to the car hire desks
8.0
July 14, 2017
Paperworks from the counter. No one was there to check the car everytime I returned it. And not enough parking space for Thrifty in Queenstown Airport
8.8
July 13, 2017
Procimity of cars to terminal.
Wish you released the funds on my card more quickly. It's still there after a week. The other company I used on my trip released the funds within minutes. Not good.
7.6
SusanJuly 13, 2017
First time our family has used the services of a rental car, our experience was very satisfactory ... the vehicle was up-graded which was a nice surprise. The counter staff were really helpful & the car was top notch ... very tidy & smelt nice. Thank You
8.0
July 12, 2017
Friendly Service
Not clear finding the location to drop off the car in Wellington and the process for returning the keys
6.8
PeterJuly 12, 2017
car was iced up . could have been run to warm up for deicing. Otherwise all was very good
8.6
July 12, 2017
Very good service. Prompt at answering queries. Richard very helpful. Very good to have car manual in the glovebox
8.8
AbdulJuly 12, 2017
Picking up and dropping the car was a breeze. Everything was completed in less than 5 minutes.
Would have been better if I got the exact car that I booked rather than a car in the same size/group.
7.6
RodneyJuly 10, 2017
Good staff very accommodating, vehicle was in very good condition.
The carpark at Queenstown could do with more signage to locate Thrifty a long way to walk with luggage when it's pouring rain and your not sure where you are heading
9.2
July 8, 2017
Nice car and very efficient service.
Staff at check in could have been a little more friendly (but they were very efficient :))
8.4
July 8, 2017
Only one counter rep available and he was very busy as a lot of arrivals
8.2
July 7, 2017
I was waiting and another lady walked in and tried to jump ahead but staff told her I was next
The car drove like a boat pulling to the right
7.2
StevenJuly 7, 2017
We had a bit of trouble paying our toll bill as Reg on contract was wrong. Managed to pay bill because the yellow slip attached to account was correct.
9.0
MichaelJuly 7, 2017
Good car on desiel which made it reasonable to drive
Na
9.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
New Zealand
Excellent
8.62414 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings