Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Ace Rental Cars logo - rentalcars.com

Ace Rental Cars Reviews New Zealand

Read 50 customer reviews on Ace Rental Cars in New Zealand and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

March 27, 2017
Note that time to pick up car included time for van pick up from terminal
Nothing
8.2
MichelleMarch 25, 2017
GrT VALUE
Very slow in issuing car on arrival. A group of client stood in line for a long period with paperwork then waited for car to come to front . Car also smelt of cigarette smoke
6.6
WilliamMarch 25, 2017
The car was the right size for our purpose.
The car was a little older that expected and had higher mileage that what I normally see.
8.0
March 23, 2017
Size was as as expected, and very suitable for four adults and their luggage
The car was very scratched and dent on the rear side passengers side. Not the best image at first sight.
8.2
JulianMarch 19, 2017
Car was tired with over 190,000 kms on clock. Had numerous dents and scratches on the outside. Needs to be replaced.
6.6
ColinMarch 19, 2017
Car was a reasonable price and did not give us any trouble.
We were unable to get the radio to work and the car not very clean when we pick it up.
6.4
March 18, 2017
Drop-off in Auckland was impressive.
Offered a pick- up from our hotel in Wellington but this turned 40 minutes after the quoted time.
6.2
WendyMarch 18, 2017
The staff at the counter were ok but not over friendly.They only spoke to us when they had too and then said the minimum.
8.8
March 18, 2017
Lady was a bit rude at counter ..abrupt..
6.8
March 17, 2017
Quick friendly service and great value.
Car condition was poor and car had over 172000km on the clock. Did not worry us as we were only driving local. Would have been concerned if driving longer distance.
8.4
March 15, 2017
Helpful friendly staff
9.4
margaretMarch 15, 2017
Your staff sorted prebooked cars first thanks
Couldn't find drop off point in Christchurch
8.4
LesMarch 14, 2017
Second car was the one we expected
Had to take first car back as a/c and fan did not work
7.4
March 12, 2017
Car is very spacious. ACE stuff is very friendly.
Car was too old and it felt like it was falling apart. It has enormous consumption for a such small engine. Fuel gauge is hectic and unreliable.
7.6
March 11, 2017
no water in windscreen washer
8.6
March 11, 2017
Clean, comfortable car. Easy to drive. plenty room.
Car older than expected. Radio rattled when we were driving.
7.6
March 10, 2017
Helpfulness of counter staff, particularly at the Auckland City depot.
Car was rather tatty with several areas requiring repainting including the whole of one door. Japanese voice barking instructions at us each time the car was started!
7.6
March 9, 2017
Reliable Nissan automatic - didn't give us any problems.
Lack of personal contact when dropping of: no-one was there to take the keys & sign me off in Picton. So I don't think we necessarily needed to rush from Nelson to get there by 10am. Dropping off in Auckland Airport was good though, with personal contact and all-clear given.
9.0
cathyMarch 7, 2017
Genuine friendly helpful staff, nice upgrade, comfy car, ran well.
8.6
ElizabethMarch 6, 2017
Locality of Ace Rental Cars. Greg who helped me sort out the insurance cover....having already paid for cover in my booking with Rental Cars. This should be make clear that it is optional.
The Credit card insurance cover....I do not have a credit card and my Visa debit card was not an option.
8.0
March 6, 2017
Price
- extra transfer time as they have office further away - when we had a broken wind screen we felt left alone with the problem: no ace office nearby and no solution provided
6.6
margaretMarch 6, 2017
Very patient and helpful
Didn't tell us where fuel cap switch was
8.6
garrettMarch 4, 2017
Right price. Got the car I ordered. Car went well. Car was ready for pick up.
Externally the car was dirty and damaged.
5.8
March 2, 2017
the car had ciggaret smoke smell inside it
9.4
JamesMarch 1, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. Car was as described and very reliable. No problems at all would highly recommend for those on a budget.
9.2
February 28, 2017
Would have preferred a slightly larger engine to cope with Arthur's Pass.The left wing mirror kept moving my passenger would open window when safe to adjust
7.6
RoslynFebruary 28, 2017
Excellent service,very friendly and helpful. Car was just what we required and very economical and great value through your company. thank you will book again through you and Ace
9.2
February 28, 2017
Bigger than expected
Aux plug in on radio didn't work
8.4
GeorgeFebruary 28, 2017
All good
If anything it took while to pick up as they are not at the airport but considering the sit was not a relevant issue.
7.6
SusanFebruary 27, 2017
car great staff friendly staff at drop in city went beyond it was greatly appreciated very friendly
traffic to get to pick up car from airport took up to half hour with shuttle. not your fault but should be back way
9.0
February 25, 2017
Spacious car and helpful staff at Picton.
Charged after 6pm collection fee which was not on booking conditions. Ferry only got in at 5.55pm and after baggage reclaim got to office at 6.10and then waited 20 minutes to be dealt with as short staffed.
8.0
February 23, 2017
Car drove well and we had no problems.
Pick up, was poor and unorganised. 30mins late collecting us, car not ready, staff member couldn't find booking etc.
7.2
RossFebruary 23, 2017
The car was great, and the Ladies were very helpful
I felt that there could have been more staff at the pick up counter to make it faster for everyone
8.2
February 22, 2017
My wife is in a wheelchair and staff were happy to drive us to airport. Saved a double trip for me as my wife can not get into van used for transfers
First RAV 4 had a bit of a rumble in drive train so swapped it for another.
7.6
FrederickFebruary 20, 2017
Ease of pickup Nice Hertz counter staff Good value Big boot
Car a bit worse for wear Seat torn Lots of gruff and scuff
8.0
LorraineFebruary 19, 2017
Car was a dream to drive
8.8
February 17, 2017
Helpful pickup driver
Arrangements at Airport
7.2
February 16, 2017
Proximity to airport Reasonable price car
I hired a gps that didn't work properly so I couldn't utilise it. It kept coming up with result not found when I searched for things after the first day. When I told staff on return they said they would check it out but made no offer of compensation. So I paid for a gps that didn't work.
8.6
February 14, 2017
Quick responce when I had to extend the rental
9.6
GrahamFebruary 14, 2017
At the drop off depot there was a shuttle that took us immediately to the terminal. Saved the hassle of trying to locate the hire car park at the airport. Top marks.
Nil
9.2
February 13, 2017
The staff (office and shuttle) were very efficient and pleasant. All paperwork was ready on arrival to collect the car and the upgrade was a treat.
It took significantly longer to reach the depot than expected, but this was obviously due to major roadworks. It took over an hour for us to drive out of Christchurch after landing. However, this would not preclude us from using Ace Rentals again.
7.6
GordonFebruary 13, 2017
Car just as required. Staff excellent.
8.4
TonyFebruary 13, 2017
Time it took to get the car Info on how to get to "ACE" from the airport. My phone didn't work and I had someone call twice and both times we were hung up on
7.6
February 13, 2017
The car (Nissan Tiida) was adequate for our purposes. The a/c worked well.
Car quite marked by minor scratches and bumps, but these were noted before we took the car. The electric windows did not work properly.
7.6
February 8, 2017
love the RAV4 great car
the GPS we rented was usless. Ended up buying paper maps and using my Chinese cell phone to get around.
7.8
February 7, 2017
Price
Older vehicle not located in the terminal
8.4
IvorFebruary 7, 2017
Politness and efficiency
The car talk back prompt was in a foreign language which I did not understand . And could not deselect.
8.6
JeffreyFebruary 7, 2017
The economy of the car was great. The condition and handling was great so definitely going to use you guys again
No dislikes at all
9.2
AdanFebruary 6, 2017
Loved the car and it was actually better than what I had anticipated.
7.2
February 3, 2017
Reliable car
Would hve preferred a newer model. SATNav was expensive and out of date model. Not a great plus
6.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Ace Rental Cars Rating
New Zealand
Very good
7.725 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Ace Rental Cars in other countries