Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Goldcar logo - rentalcars.com

Goldcar Reviews Malta

Read 50 customer reviews on Goldcar in Malta and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 6, 2017
everything was fine from the car to the staff
8.6
ShalabhJanuary 4, 2017
Desk staff was straightforward in their dealings and did not try to cross-sell extras like other rental agencies do. Goldcar allows 1 extra hour while returning the car, which was helpful. The Citroen Cactus I drove was better suited to my needs than a normal sedan.
The full insurance cover offered by Goldcar was more expensive than the actual rental price.
8.0
November 4, 2016
Expensive for Maltese citizens
7.4
October 28, 2016
Efficient pick up process. Helpful counter staff member, lovely car upgrade.
Maltese roads, but that is not goldcar's fault.
9.0
October 22, 2016
Help you got In car park
None
8.8
October 19, 2016
Being a customer and my data already recorded, I think that desk procedure has to be more quick and fast.
7.2
September 1, 2016
The road handling by the car was a bit clumsy - I was given a Peugeot Tepee as the Mercedes Vito was not available. For safety I would prefer one sliding door not two.
6.8
ClaireMay 17, 2016
The collection process is quite long and the queues generally long. If you are going to get More popular as I believe you will if your cars stay as good then you may need more staff!
The waiting time in the queue
8.0
May 10, 2016
The car
N/a
8.2
May 8, 2016
The no quibble refund of UK insurance
It took 1.5 hours to collect the car. The insurance arrangements were not very clear and the local insurance was double that taken out in the UK. Every person in front of us appeared to have an issue and this slowed down the speed of pick up
7.2
May 8, 2016
Directions to the fuel station upon return to the airport would had been helpful as it is difficult to find
Nothing
6.8
AlisonApril 22, 2016
It wa the right size for our purpose and the country
On day 4 we had random issues when starting the car. Parking light was not working and I suspect there was an oil leak.
7.4
April 2, 2016
very good service. Only we had some problem with using the key of car, not normal function and shall get the instruction for this new type of car.
8.2
johannMarch 5, 2016
the car was brand new and got upgraded to a free automatic gear box
rental car park is located at a distance from the arrivals terminal
9.2
March 2, 2016
Generally good service and a very nice car.
When we got to the car park the person due to hand the car over to us had had to go to a depot to collect another car and it was over 20 minutes before he came back. Since it was already very late at night this was an extremely annoying delay.
8.6
February 29, 2016
We have had lovely experiences with the convenience and quality of service from rentalcars.com
Initially, we received a car that had a broken mirror. I was asked to sit in it and see if the mirror was usable. It was not. We had to return to the counter (not close by) to get a new contract. This resulted in an additional 40 mins. The man was very nice to us, but why would Goldcar attempt to rent us a car they knew was damaged? Not ok.
7.8
AlanFebruary 27, 2016
Brilliant service and a practically brand new car (only 685km on clock)
8.4
LindaFebruary 20, 2016
received a very new small car perfect for the gozo narrow roads
9.2
ernestFebruary 18, 2016
Low deposit blocked which was returned when we returned the car
Bueno
9.0
February 3, 2016
Wonderful experience :)
9.4
January 5, 2016
Friendly service, the car was ok for malta roads.
8.8
December 27, 2015
Car was clean
9.0
December 24, 2015
Stress and hassle free
9.8
December 18, 2015
Very friendly staff and brand new vehicle!
8.6
December 16, 2015
Vehicle was brand new with just over 100km on the clock! Drop off was quick and easy
8.6
JohnDecember 13, 2015
New car and clean.
9.0
AlistairDecember 4, 2015
Good wee car for Malta roads.
Possibly a bit past its best. The gears had obviously been used a lot over 43,000kms.
8.4
November 29, 2015
Brand new car, perfect service.
9.6
November 19, 2015
waiting to collect the car - two staff, one training the other and very poor communication.
7.4
ShaneOctober 25, 2015
Model of car was adequate and did the job and overall quite happy.
Woman at desk took an age to process the queue which was building up rapidly. When finally we located the car after not knowing where the pickup point was we got our car. Car was dirty
7.2
alastairOctober 21, 2015
Rental Desk staff & location
Car was very battered - not one panel was without dents or scrapes (but apparently that's normal for Malta!)
6.4
ThomasOctober 18, 2015
A huge improvement from my last episode. Redeemed yourself
9.0
EdwardOctober 14, 2015
Easy pickup & drop off
still having to secure large sum on credit card for insurance even after taking full cover with rentalcars
7.6
October 8, 2015
Efficient staff at desk and collection point
Front passenger seat was stained
7.6
September 8, 2015
great to get an upgrade. easy to drop off quickly before flight
7.6
September 2, 2015
Returning the car was easy.
I was given the wrong car - a Peugeot partner rather than a CC Car. The car was too big for me, not easy to park, not stylish at all and I didn't consider it an upgrade. Picking up the car took very long, very long queue at the airport desk and only one person working at the desk.
6.6
August 27, 2015
Air Conditioning
Lack of opportunity to start paperwork at desk earlier than requested online pick up time. High insurance. Difficult to find rental car park to drop off the car. Easy to confuse with regular car park.Lack of signs to rental car park. Lack of hybrid and electric cars. (Lack of sun deflectors/sun shades)
8.2
August 26, 2015
overall attitude and efficiency counter staff & condition car
despite full protection via rentalcars I had to take additional insurance cover with goldcar in order to avoid € 1800 being blocked on credit card for possible damages; pick-up lasted quite long (mainly due to others complaining excessively & unreasonably to counter staff that the car given was not the one they booked revealed)
7.8
NiyankaAugust 25, 2015
The car was brand new
I booked an automatic car but I was given a manual. We decide to keep it cause we were in a hurry and didn't want to go back to the counter and start all over again.
8.6
PaulAugust 19, 2015
Informality of staff and ease of paper work once begun
Waiting 30 minutes to be served due to queue. Car I was given was battered and body work torn in places though engine very good
6.6
anandAugust 10, 2015
Need more counter staff confusing signage for prevailing a and also the errors in cdw fees when booked online but then pay again on car collection.
Confusion over the cdw charged by rentalcars.com
7.8
July 7, 2015
The Vehicle was what we wanted.
The desk staff did not explain that someone was to hand the car over to us in the car park. The desk staff tried to take more insurance off us even when we had a email from you saying we need no more insurance. The car allocated had a light out and we had to wait for another car to be allocated. The desk staff insisted on a credit card, luckily I had one on me. The desk staff put a £3,500 pending deposit on my credit card. Luckily I had enough credit we don't think we were made aware of this. There was no petrol in the car and we had to go and fill it up before moving to our hotel at 2200hrs.
6.2
June 22, 2015
Nice new car
Was completely empty of fuel, couldn't even risk getting to the hotel
6.6
June 13, 2015
They are friendly, helpful yet efficient. Paperwork took a couple of minutes which is the curse with most car rentals. So for me they score high, well done.
9.8
June 3, 2015
tha car was new and workers kindly
The TOM TOM Before the support was mistake, after didn't work the recharge cable. Than worked only without cable ..... The TOM TOM had worked the last two days. Happens.
9.0
JoannaJune 2, 2015
The price was OK. The person at the car park itself was very polite and helpful, I got paperwork for one car but key for another. He ensured me I should not worry and sorted everything out for me. I am sorry I did not take his name but he was there at both times of me collecting and dropping the car.
The car conditions were average I could say. The deposit was VERY high, I did not expect it to be so high. Some customers in the queue commented that due to that they felt that they had to pay for the insurance as otherwise they would have not been able to use their cards, thankfully I have very high limit on my card. It took very long time to collect and even longer to drop the car.
5.2
ColinJune 2, 2015
Price, map
Drop off process not clear enough, I wanted to know when deposit would be released from card but the desk was too busy to get an answer
7.8
May 20, 2015
No problems at all and I saw lots of other Goldcar rental cars about which is a good indicator
Nothing
9.8
MatsMay 7, 2015
Friendly and efficient service at the desk and at the pickup/dropoff point at the Airport. The car was in good condition
Insurance a bit expencive
9.2
JenelleMay 7, 2015
The young gentleman that served us was OUTSTANDING!! He was so helpful & his customer service was great. Also upon return, another young man was also very pleasant & helpful
Maltese driving conditions!! But we survived unscathed!
8.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Goldcar Rating
Malta
Good
6.3 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings