Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Hungary

Read customer reviews on Thrifty in Hungary and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 5, 2017
Reasonable price, reasonable quality
8.2
October 29, 2016
Got an upgrade, very good location near a gas station (easy to fill gas on return), very cheap.
Returning the car at night took some time
8.2
October 9, 2016
Easy access, polite staff, very good service.
9.2
September 23, 2016
they don't have any desk at the airport and difficult to locate their representative
7.0
ViktorSeptember 14, 2016
Speed and efficiency of service, friendly and helpful staff.
N/A
8.4
September 5, 2016
Condition of car and friendliness of staff
Time it took to collect
8.2
August 16, 2016
It was excellent!
8.6
ArpadAugust 14, 2016
Staff very helpful, working quick and promptly.
was offered another car as did not had the car i chose
8.0
July 29, 2016
There was no one there to pick us up when we arrived at the airport which created a bit of insecurity since the booking said there would be. Maybe you should write, 'go to x location and wait for your pick up which will arrive within 10 minutes if not already there'.
6.8
RobertJuly 25, 2016
Very pleased and happy with the car and thrifty top marks.
8.8
May 28, 2016
Nice upgrade
No mention or advice regarding toll roads Larger car so not as fuel efficient
7.4
May 27, 2016
Lovely car. Economical and easy to drive
0
9.2
May 17, 2016
Friendly & helpful staff , very clean car .
Pleased overall .
8.0
nicholasMay 5, 2016
exellent
nothing
9.4
MichaelApril 28, 2016
Everything.
Nothing.
9.2
March 28, 2016
The waiting time in the shuttle after dropping off the car
7.6
December 29, 2015
On the booking confirmation it clearly said you drop the car off at the airport where a representative will meet you. Well, it's not the case, you have to drop the car off at the office which could make you miss your flight if you go to the airport first!!! Please make it clear where you drop the car off, give address etc.
8.8
November 10, 2015
Friendly staff, quick service. I would recommend it.
Petrol tank was not full when they gave me the car- it was hard to refill the quantity I used during the day.
9.4
ReyyanSeptember 21, 2015
The approach was very nice employees
I pay attention to in my previous websites without having to pay extra money, GPS is more than the daily money, GPS didn't show some of the streets in Budapest
7.8
August 26, 2015
Waiting time by arrival unprofessional unfriendly . Long waiting time to transport to the office
6.6
MOUNIRAugust 16, 2015
It was a brand new Toyota verseau excellent condition big spacey , powerful and economic with cool Aircondition !
They charged me 60€ extra prepaid paytoll ? And they kept 600€ safety deposit on my credit card?
8.4
CeciliaAugust 14, 2015
The courteous, efficient, friendly and helpful staff. The upgrade was good; the pick up and drop off was quick and efficient. I was able to reach the company on the phone and they were helpful in answering my questions.
The only complaint is that there was no handle on the passenger side next to the driver's seat which would have been helpful for my elderly father.
8.6
July 29, 2015
We paid for a GPS and there was no GPS in the car!!!!
8.4
July 1, 2015
All
not in the terminal
7.8
LaszloMarch 31, 2015
Great service
N/A
9.8
March 17, 2015
Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially since I was not from Budapest.
I was not aware Thrifty was not located in the airport. My flight was late coming in and I didn't know someone would be waiting for me. Thankfully after I called a rep came with a shuttle in less than 5 minutes (no complaints there). I got an 'upgrade' I suppose, to a 4 door car but I would have appreciated if I was asked if that was suitable. I had booked a 2 door car for a reason so I was surprised when the car pulled up and it was something else. I've rented vehicles before so I understood the protocal but for anyone who has never done it before, it may have been confusing because nothing was explained (i.e. deposit, accidents, insurance, etc).
8.0
RobertJanuary 25, 2015
The service I got fromThrifty was just perfect. I would recommend it to all of my friends.
The car Opel Corsa was a bit of disappointmrnt for me. It is not so economic as I was expecting and tge seat is unconfortable. Next time I'll choose different type of car.
9.0
December 29, 2014
Getting a substantial upgrade on the car rented and the simple, quick drop off.
The difficulty of meeting up with the rental staff and getting to the rental location.
7.4
AntonioAugust 23, 2014
The staff are friendly and helpful. They did not have my car that I want (automatic) but they tried to find out when I could get it (I have not got my refund yet). The service is good.
The address in Budapest is hard to find in the GPS, it is not listed. I have to find the adjacent street to get there.
9.11111111111111
August 23, 2014
friendly ,high standard
Not applicable
10.0
June 7, 2014
Hospitality,professionalism,
10.0
June 4, 2014
Value for money, fairness, efficiency, helpful and polite service, the company sent a driver to pick me up from a nearby location at no extra cost. No hassle whatsoever in either collecting or returning the car. The vehicle was in excellent condition and did not consume much fuel.
The location off-airport makes it uncomfortable, especially in dropping the car. The fuel policy was a bit unusual: not full-full, but return it with the same amount of gas (3/4 in my case), highway sticker was not included and had to be purchased separately.
9.333333333333334
May 27, 2014
Satisfied with the car, performed well.
Office was to open at 8:00 AM but staff didn't show up till 8:30, no apology or explanation. One emplyee who did not work in the office was very helpful, spoke better English than office staff, was there on time. I believe his name was Gabor.
7.111111111111111
May 13, 2014
All fine - except drop off in Budapest downtown
Drop off at Budapest downtown is not convenient at all. Had to make several phone calls to find the staff at the correct but seemingly abandoned address.
8.222222222222221
May 9, 2014
the position of the drop off office.
the late of the staff at the arrival in airport
9.333333333333334
KeirsmaekersApril 25, 2014
The friendly staff
Location
6.666666666666667
April 14, 2014
Offsite rental location
7.555555555555555
KRISApril 10, 2014
New, clean car. Cheap. Exellent service!!
8.88888888888889
BengtMarch 15, 2014
Snabb service ingen väntetid
8.0
March 9, 2014
Suzuki swift was a delight to drive and very economic in fuel
10.0
February 4, 2014
We were very satisfied, this was the best car-rental service we ever had. An assistant was waiting for us with a board with our name on, when we arrived to Budapest airport, got a personal transfer to the rental office (5 mins by car from the airport). The car was great, exactly what we expected. Great, polite, very fast service, no misunderstandings, no surprise of extra fee. When we returned the car, they brought us back to the airport without any delay. We will definitely rent from Thrifty by Rentalcars.com again.
10.0
January 31, 2014
drop off and shuttle service from Thrifty office to airport. GPS was ready as requested.
Had to wait 30 mins while my car was with there but with the wrong name. The car key tag was not saying if it was diezel or gasoline. I had to read the car registration to know. Also nothing shown on the gas tank.
5.777777777777778
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission