Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo -

Thrifty Reviews Bulgaria

Read customer reviews on Thrifty in Bulgaria and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by


JohnJanuary 4, 2018
Arrived 1 hour after I booked the car and the vehicle was not ready, they said it was being cleaned. waited 20 minutes and still being cleaned, after 25 minutes took the car as it was. went to pick up the car and it was parked alone, nobody cleaning the vehicle and fuel was 3/4 full.
December 12, 2017
we didn't like that the full zero exces insurance is not from thrifty but from other company. So if we had a damage at the car we need to pay first and than get our money back from that other company. Better everything can be aranged by the same company. The zero exces insurance is well payed i think.
AlexanderNovember 23, 2017
The fasted pick up and drop off I have ever experienced.
MarkSeptember 30, 2017
New clean car. Very friendly and helpful personnel in both places (Sofia downtown and Sofia airport).
tonySeptember 5, 2017
Very good counter staff, very nice car
Staff did not explain auto engine stop start system which came as a suprise at first junction when engine stopped
GeorgeAugust 30, 2017
Great car, quick service, friendly
A bit expensive, but this was August.
SamuelAugust 25, 2017
Helpful staff and car had aircon. Car had enough room for 4 of us and 2 large suitcases and 4 small bags so i was really pleased with it.
Would have been nice to know we had to get a shuttle to another terminal to collect the car as we wasted over an hour trying to work out what to do. Sign in terminal kiosk had a number that no one picked up. Overall outside condition of car had lots of marks so was tricky to see if we had added to it when we gave it back.
August 21, 2017
Sign posting for dropping off the car after holiday at the airport was very good - lovely man at collection was very helpful.
The 'office' at the Terminal we arrived at was closed. We hadn't realised we had to get a free shuttle bus to the other Terminal where the Hertz counter was located - it would have been really helpful if the closed office had a big sign up saying - 'Take Free Shuttle Bus to Terminal 2 for Hertz Car Pick Up'.
August 16, 2017
Confidence of being through Hertz
Only one person at desk when 6 people in the queue
August 5, 2017
Nice and efficient staff.
Car was damaged on the surface quite a lot (including the roof).
JohnJuly 18, 2017
Staff service and attitude
No real problems
July 12, 2017
Good price, rentalcars app, easy to pick up and drop off (but see disadvantage).
Only negative was that flight was terminal 1 and car hire at 2 and shuttle buses only every half hour. Didn't realise until got there. Not prob but need to be aware.
July 10, 2017
stephenJune 30, 2017
very helpful and friendly service
KeithJune 20, 2017
pleasant lady at counter waited for us to pick up car. we were late due to Hoppa taxi not collecting us.
GeorgeJune 15, 2017
All very efficient
nothing wrong
michaelJune 11, 2017
very quick pick up and drop off ,excellent car couldn't fault service
June 6, 2017
Good service
StuartMay 23, 2017
Excellent member of staff at Plovdiv airport & spoke very good English.Upgrade was a lovely surprise & much appreciated.
Car interior could of been a bit cleaner but only a small issue.
May 17, 2017
Very helpful and friendly Staff. Approx 10 secs to drop off!
May 11, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff. Lack of fuss. Easy to locate the rental company. All the paperwork was done in advance.
The ticket to get me out of the carpark did not work but it was sorted, somehow.
sophieApril 10, 2017
The service,helpfulness at Sofia was exceptional. He spoke great English and was so was the easiest car rents we've done. I will rebook again for may.
GeoffMarch 29, 2017
Car was good and clean.
Car park information poorly sign posted. WE had to pay for taxi to reach car rental company which was not identified through booking at an extra cost.
March 27, 2017
Great Service and good value for money! TX!
March 23, 2017
Good,nearly new car.Very good price. Very helpful and friendly Staff.Thanks
March 22, 2017
Good Value for money, the car was a good size just a few dents and scratches which I was made aware of. Friendly staff
Car stunk of smoke. It was quite a hassle collecting and returning the car, what did not help was the fact that we landed at Terminal one had we known the distance between the two terminals we would of not booked a hire car from terminal 2.
DavidMarch 13, 2017
Staff member spoke very good English and was very helpful and exact
We had a long wait to pick up the car because of a customer before us who was Max's out on his credit cards.
March 8, 2017
The helpfulness of the staff. The ease of paperwork
March 2, 2017
The car
We landed in terminal 1 and the car was in terminal 2.
February 28, 2017
Drop off location in the city will be highly beneficial
No city location
andrewFebruary 22, 2017
Great friendly staff at airport and the car was perfect .
January 5, 2017
the rep came to our hotel, he was super professional and very friendly.
January 4, 2017
The car had many small hits from previous rents. I was given an overview on them in a very fast way, given the scheme to follow. I returned the keys early in the morning and could not go over the previous damages to make sure I will be not charged. It leaves me a bit worried.
DennisJanuary 3, 2017
Price and unlimited km
Car had almost no extras. I would have expected at least Park distance control on the back as for me this is a standard since forever.
December 9, 2016
Very efficient and easy.
Mild disappointment as didn't get the car I booked, upgrade car OK
October 23, 2016
Lovely staff quick collection and drop off just waiting for the deposit back
Car smaller than the i20 I wanted inside a bit grubby and not enough power
September 27, 2016
good personal
first car wasn't clean, second better
DarrenSeptember 16, 2016
Having to go to Terminal 2.
MiguelSeptember 5, 2016
The desk is just in front of the arrivals of the terminal 2 and the staff was helpful.
MihailAugust 18, 2016
I really like the car good value for the money. Also the car was brand you with only 8000 km on the clock.
I requested a diesel car but none available.
July 12, 2016
Good, clean, economical car.
There was nobody at the desk when we returned the car. note said back in 10 mins - they were not. Did not even receive e-mail acknowledgement of us returning it, or confirmation of payment etc. Poor service.
TzvetanOctober 10, 2015
I liked every thing, the staff were wonderful. The upgrade was great, the price was great. I am booking again now. Thank you guys.
GeorgeSeptember 6, 2015
The car was what I ordered, but the price was a major factor.
To drop off at different location cost extra 90 euro.... Thrifty at sofia downtown was actually Hertz...
August 17, 2015
The rep we met to handover the car to us and to hand it back was first class. Please extend our thanks to him.
JamesJuly 5, 2015
Quick and easy pick up and start and finish with a full tank of fuel
the engine size .. It was quite old ... Engine very noisy... No screen wasn't very clean inside
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
7.95 / 10
500+ ratings



What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.