Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Hertz logo - rentalcars.com

Hertz Reviews Johannesburg

Read 50 customer reviews on Hertz in Johannesburg and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

DonaldJanuary 2, 2017
Excellent
8.4
January 2, 2017
Only 1 person working at the counter and she was busy and at no time apologized for not helping and only after 30 mins phoned for someone to come and help me-very poor customer service not what I expect from a worldwide car hire company
8.4
December 6, 2016
service and friendly staff
nothing
9.2
MartinDecember 6, 2016
Staff friendly and attentive. Car great, big, clean and easy to drive.
Collecting the car took a long time. Check-in was slow. Car was quite old (over 30000 km) and had quite a lot of superficial damage. Nothing that effected the driving or safety though.
7.6
AnnaNovember 4, 2016
The total overall service and frienfliness of the staff.
9.4
October 25, 2016
The guy at the office was really kind
The opening hours on rental cars were not correct.
9.0
IanOctober 15, 2016
Ease of checking in and access to vehicle
Nothing
8.4
September 15, 2016
The friendly service and efficiency of the staff.
It was slightly more pricey than what I expected.
8.0
September 7, 2016
overall good
long waiting to get a car at airport. Only 2 staff at desk.
8.2
AndreJuly 27, 2016
Service was very good and condition of car excellent. Great experience over all.
I was given a 1300cc (Toyota Carolla) car instead of a 1600cc and had to exchange the car at Nelspruit airport for a 1600cc (chev Cruze) The staff at Nelspruit was very effective and helpfull, and I could do the swop without problems.
7.8
June 8, 2016
Money has been taken off my account for no reason!
7.0
April 9, 2016
I liked the convenience.
The lady who inspected the car when I brought it back was very unprofessional. The lady never saw me as a client, there was no respect at all. If you can train your staff to treat people the same please.
7.4
March 25, 2016
Renault Sandero was a very nice car to drive.
Windscreen wipers weren't too good, made marks on window..
8.4
March 20, 2016
The ease of collection.
The offered car had a warning light showing.
8.6
MadalitsoMarch 11, 2016
The vehicle had worn out brake pads..there was noice coming out of the tires throught the period i rented.
7.6
February 26, 2016
As a facilitator, you offer terrible value for money
See above
6.2
February 26, 2016
Staff efficiency at desk
The Car! Renault Clio Eco - Horrible and possibly dangerous due to its lack of response.
9.0
February 22, 2016
Speed to collect the car, proximity from the terminal, kindness of the staff
One tyre not fully inflated: discovered 5 min after leaving the airport
9.2
AlbertFebruary 1, 2016
Ease of collect and drop off.
NA
8.8
darrylJanuary 25, 2016
Hertz's professionalism and courteousness.
8.8
StevenJanuary 9, 2016
Good service from desk
Not the car i paid for and requested...the car i got seats was dirty and body was full of scratches...the car was underpowered due to bad maintenance.
5.8
December 23, 2015
The car smelt badly of cigarettes and even if windows were open, it could still be smelt.
7.6
JozefOctober 21, 2015
Very good
8.8
MarionOctober 18, 2015
First car had a flat battery and after a long flight you really need this. This was a brand new car.
6.8
AshleyOctober 8, 2015
Very friendly staff, rental cars very close to Hertz office
8.8
October 3, 2015
Professional staffing, no delayes
Although, my flight from Dubai was a bit late, they were not much delays from Hertz Company
8.0
ChristopherSeptember 30, 2015
Friendliness and efficiency of staff.
Not all damage was registered in the pre-rental assessment. Petrol tank was not full.
8.6
September 21, 2015
Thank you awesome experience!
9.4
September 1, 2015
New car in excellent condition and friendly staff when I dropped it off
8.8
August 31, 2015
The car allocated had a flat tyre, new was allocated with wrong papers, in the mean time , the garage office had closed....
7.0
August 12, 2015
Preferred to have got the exact car I thought I would get. Next time I will specify.
8.2
August 7, 2015
Didn't get the car I asked for and don't think the alternative given was as good
7.6
August 5, 2015
We returned the vehicle 24 hours early and were assured that an adjustment of 1 day would be made in the final billing
O.R.Tambo airport is a nightmare to find the way in or out as the signage has "gaps" and is probably the worst airport we have used to pick up and return a rental vehicle.
7.8
RonaldAugust 5, 2015
Efficiency of pick up and drop off.
Unsure about Car group, this was 3rd back to back hire, previous two cars were Fiesta, similar to VW Polo and Kia(upgrade). This was Toyota Etios, which was definitely smaller than VW Polo. Fiesta got both cases in boot, only 1 fitted in Etios.
8.6
August 5, 2015
Very helpful counterstaff at pick-up!
8.8
August 3, 2015
Straightforward process
9.4
June 28, 2015
Pleaseant counter staff
9.0
TallmanJune 1, 2015
Very smooth service!
Issues with the car not handled as best as they could have been and some un-explained charge on the credit card.
9.2
May 1, 2015
Good clean car excellent fuel consumption
Rental documents were made out wrongly they were going to charge for kms when we booked unlimited took an age to change the paperwork
8.0
MaryApril 29, 2015
Hertz is very quick and efficient there is no unnecessary delays in collecting the car. they are very pleasant and helpful.
8.8
AdrianApril 3, 2015
Great service on arrival.
No comments to make
10.0
KarlMarch 31, 2015
Got the car I booked.
Initially offered a car I didn't want and wasn't what I'd booked.
7.8
March 30, 2015
Had a bit of a mis-hap with the car but the check out process was still very efficient.
9.4
February 24, 2015
Friendly staff.
Better explanation of charges for rental i.e. vehicle, insurance etc. required.
6.2
JanFebruary 11, 2015
Unfortunately the was a problem with the car. This was resolved with some minor communications problems but to our relief with ease. Phone communications were kept up by Hertz customer services until both parties were content that the problem was in hand was being dealt with to our satisfaction. The dropping off process at Cape Town airport was amazingly easy and staff were really friendly. We were very satisfied with the service received by Hertz. Thank You
9.2
February 2, 2015
Service was very good
Next time would most likely choose a different car, probably an estate car
8.2
ChristiaanJanuary 18, 2015
Excellent and prompt service, friendly staff.
8.8
January 11, 2015
Excellent value for money
8.0
JacobusJanuary 6, 2015
Brand new car. Very clean. Good quality vehicle (Kia). Friendly and efficient service at pick up and drop off.
9.0
richardDecember 20, 2014
Friendly efficient staff. Easy check in
AC could have been little cooler but overall no complaints.
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Hertz Rating
Johannesburg
Very good
7.5 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings