Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

First Car Rental logo - rentalcars.com

First Car Rental Reviews Johannesburg

Read 50 customer reviews on First Car Rental in Johannesburg and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

November 5, 2017
The promptness
9.0
PierreOctober 31, 2017
The tyres on the car was not up to standerd and the radio did not function properly.
7.2
October 29, 2017
Excellent service
6.6
October 27, 2017
Friendly efficient service
9.0
October 16, 2017
They gave me a Renault Duster which is not the same as a what I booked. It took two hours to get the vehicle
5.2
JulianOctober 6, 2017
Efficient pick up and drop off. Clean car easy to drive no problems
8.4
September 28, 2017
Nice clean and not expensive car. The model did surprise me. Was a bid skeptic in the beginning but the car stand it's ground. Thanks
9.4
September 15, 2017
It was fairly easy to collect and return the car even though my flight was delayed by two hours.
9.4
SandileSeptember 7, 2017
Friendly service at the counter
Time it took to pick up the car
9.0
KeniasSeptember 3, 2017
I like the fact that I have a first car customer card so no mountains of paper workin car pick up
Car was a little bit tired. Not fresh
7.6
August 30, 2017
Efficiency of Staff
I was provided a Ford Eco which was a downgrade and the engine was very weak for the size of car
7.0
GerhardAugust 22, 2017
Good service, clean and fairly new car. Convenient drop-off point
Wanted a Nissan Quasqai and the gave me a Ford Eco Sport that I perceive to be much smaller than a Nissan.
7.2
ChritianAugust 21, 2017
The car was too small due to different model provided but company allowed us to swap to different car in same group to meet our needs.
The fact that the boot capacity is unpredictable when booking the car as it always says or similar and in our case similar was much smaller.
9.6
DebraAugust 15, 2017
Excellent staff - friendly, helpful and professional.Very economical car. Tag for ease of going through tolls. Ease of return (x2!)
Being given a car that was imminently due for its 30 000 km service. Had to make a special trip to return the car to OR Tambo. Although the swap over was efficiently handled, it was an inconvenience to have to bring it in -an upgrade would have been a nice gesture! The cover in the boot was a complete pain!
8.0
CarmelitaJuly 26, 2017
The Lady who helped me went the extra mile for me..she was good with advising me and extremely friendly,professional and helpful.
Really happy customer..thank you
7.6
YatJuly 20, 2017
Nice & friendly staffs
7.4
ZolaaniJuly 16, 2017
Everything, particularly the professionalism of front desk staff
Car didn't have way for me to play my iPod music. Disappointing.
9.6
GlenJuly 7, 2017
Will definately use this company again when in Johannesburg.
8.0
RoyJune 19, 2017
Received an upgrade because of additional luggage space required. Receptionist very courteous and VERY helpful to meet our needs. Car was very clean.
8.8
RobertMay 8, 2017
Helpfulness of the three members of staff that dealt with us.
Nothing.
8.6
MxolisiApril 28, 2017
great customer service from representative
locating the first car park when returning the vehicle
8.4
April 12, 2017
i appreciate it that they could sort another rental car out for me so fast after the first one batty went dead
8.0
April 9, 2017
Good advise from staff
8.2
StephenMarch 24, 2017
. I was very happy New car. Really pleasant staff. No hard sell but sensible discussion. Unless I discover a subsequent issue my preferred renter
8.2
MARINDAMarch 20, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful and added an extra driver free of charge.
We had to pump up one of the tyres when we reached our destination.
8.6
NeilMarch 16, 2017
Professionally acquitted
Nil
8.8
March 7, 2017
Plenty of room in the car.
a few scratches.
7.0
February 21, 2017
Car was spotless.
Rental desk was off-line which delayed the release of the car excessively. Counter assistant would initially not accept the voucher on my smartphone. Eventually her supervisor authorised the transaction.The second disappointment was the car's high mileage (41 000km) and an intrusive mechanical drone (diff whine?). But fine otherwise.
7.4
MALCOLMFebruary 6, 2017
Friendly staff.
Car not quite up to usual standard. Only 4k from service. Window switch on passenger side faulty. Company very quick to take R3k deposit but not quick to refund at end of hire. This, however, is a problem with all SA rental companies. Last time it took a month.
8.4
ValerieDecember 24, 2016
Customers and staff at the First Car Hire was helpful, friendly, knowledgeable.
9.0
SuellenDecember 13, 2016
The Service desk was great and very fast.
9.0
November 30, 2016
High mileage of car slight unbalanced wheel
9.4
LindiweOctober 31, 2016
The helpful staff when my credit card was not accepted.
The fact that I was not told in time that my credit card will not be accepted because it was printed.
7.0
October 26, 2016
Friendly and diligent staff. A very good quality vehicle that although apparently well used was well turned out
8.6
AngelaSeptember 27, 2016
Convenient pick up and drop off
Car body was in poor condition which included a loose side panel. It was also a lower grade car than the one booked and this wasn't brought to my attention by the staff.
5.6
PetrusSeptember 20, 2016
Friendly ness of the staff
I got the car at night and check 90% of the marks was on the form But a very important on wass missed ind in the dark was not vissable The right front tyre was badly repaired with a plug to the side. I ONLY SAW THAT THE FOLLOWING MORNING WHEN STOPPED AT A GARAGE
6.6
YINGHAOAugust 26, 2016
the car is good for family trip and off-roading. diesel engine is powerful and trustworthy.
the reverse light is NOT working for the car. other than that everything is ok.
8.0
August 21, 2016
Car very clean. Fast charge back money.
It was impossible to find First Car Rental office in Nelspruit. They should give information not only for the main office, in Johannesburg Airport, but also for different returning location.
7.8
ManetteAugust 16, 2016
Staff were friendly & just wanted to help where they could so offered a 'bigger' car to what we had booked.
Unfortunately the 'change' was a relatively old car that had the space but not the fuel economy or nippiness that we were looking for.
7.8
peterAugust 3, 2016
Staff excellent Manageress very helpful with the problem I had
Nothing too add here
9.0
July 30, 2016
EXCELLENT !
9.2
RonaldJuly 12, 2016
Very helpful staff at Johannesburg Airport but much better service at Durban Airport where I dropped off the car
I picked up the car at 21.30 it was dark.Only when I got to Kwa Zulu Natal did I realise that the right rear light was not working?I looked through the lens & noticed there was no globe?I tried to phone from Balito but was told to hold on,it took so long to hang on I put the phone down.This car should have been checked by your staff prior
8.8
June 20, 2016
Car was comfortable.
8.2
May 19, 2016
the car had lots of minor scratches on picking up, this took time to mark these down on the paperwork, thus taking upto an hour to drive away.
7.2
May 5, 2016
Although they said the car was same category, only thing it matched was both are Auto gear. I ordered Nissan TIIDA but got Honda BRIO which was less engine power, smaller wheel size etc.
8.4
JOHNApril 20, 2016
did not state engine size
8.8
April 11, 2016
Very easy to retrieve the car as well as handing it back.
N/A
8.8
April 3, 2016
just about everthing
No complaints at all
8.6
March 16, 2016
The service was great. Friendly staff and very efficient. The car was clean, ready and really easy to drive.
There was not enough choice of cars. I was not given the car I was promised.
7.8
March 16, 2016
Comfortable, great boot
Car underpowered - did not cope well when aircon activated.
8.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
First Car Rental Rating
Johannesburg
Very good
7.3 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings