Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Johannesburg

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Johannesburg and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

AhmetMay 26, 2017
Smoothness of the operation
Nothing... really nothing.
10.2
May 21, 2017
Price service relation was good
Desk service poor
6.4
May 20, 2017
Overall cost, and reliability of the vehicle.
Nothing specific. I would probably go for a "better" vehicle next time as the version I requested and got was underpowered and lacked nice finishes.
7.8
DixonMay 18, 2017
The fast and efficient service at the airport office. Online booking and confirmation of booking - prompt response.
9.0
May 17, 2017
We always use Avis.
8.6
NdivhuwoMay 16, 2017
All was well
All went well
8.2
May 13, 2017
Nice staff
Nothing
8.2
May 6, 2017
Our initial car was too small. Within 10 minutes an upgrade was arranged at little extra costs.
The initial car we rented was too small. I did not get that from the site.
8.0
JOHANNESMay 6, 2017
Thank You Avis You are my car hire company of choice I will use you over and over again Thanks for your excellent help in working out the most cost effective way getting from Joburg to Cape Town Much appreciated .
Avis should give attention to the City depot in CT. Huge congestion and many frustrated costomers.
10.0
JacquesApril 7, 2017
All perfect
Nothing
8.2
AmandaApril 3, 2017
Prompt professional service
Group of car I chose
9.2
April 2, 2017
Quick positive action in changing the car due to faulty theft alarm
8.8
March 30, 2017
Hassle free service
Car was a little under powered for the amount of travel in SA
8.0
AnthonyMarch 29, 2017
The Front Desk Staff are courteous +helpful
9.8
March 26, 2017
friendly approach of staff, effective cooperation
8.6
March 23, 2017
Chad was most helpful, what a star
None
9.6
VitorMarch 18, 2017
Being the exact car, clean, good positioning within the airport building
having to rent a GPS extra it looks ugly and unpractical.
9.0
March 11, 2017
Reasonable price and very reliable vehicle
Long wait in the queue at pick up time
8.0
March 10, 2017
Car drove well
The radiator fan broke down in Mozambique. Repaired the fan. After repair the airconditioning was working much better.
7.6
MarinusMarch 9, 2017
Fast and efficient handling
The Toyota Carola is less suitable for pothole ridden country roads.
7.6
KevinMarch 1, 2017
The helpful staff.
No problems.
8.8
nicolaasFebruary 23, 2017
The friendlyness and helpfullness of all staff.
9.4
February 23, 2017
car engine was a bit to weak.
8.0
JohnFebruary 17, 2017
Automatic saloon was a pleasure to drive.
Can't think of anything.
7.6
February 17, 2017
Excellent service and great staff. Brand new vehicle with no issues whatsoever?!
9.8
AndrewFebruary 16, 2017
I got a cracked windscreen and didn't realise I was covered for it so was incredibly happy to find out I was and they dropped me another car off. Great service.
8.6
grahamFebruary 12, 2017
I am off on my travels every month as I am a travel writer and I will use AVIS when ever I can
nothing everything was perfect
9.8
January 30, 2017
Overall an easy process
Centre console in VW Golf is uncomfortable against drivers leg
9.2
January 23, 2017
Good Car
Delay in picking up car due to driver licence issues
7.2
January 23, 2017
Friendly staff. Easy access to hired car
9.0
January 18, 2017
Ok no problems,
7.6
January 15, 2017
Quick reaction and get done with the process, was excellent.
N/A
9.2
January 11, 2017
Condition of the car and value for money
You should have told me about the extra R2000 that is requirement for toll gates etc via email before arriving at the airport and that no cash is accepted, only a credit card is accepted for this R2000
7.4
DevanathanJanuary 9, 2017
EFFIENTCY EXELLENT SERVICE
9.2
JoseDecember 11, 2016
Friendly and very helpful staff
10.2
December 5, 2016
Not your fault, but don't really like the small Chevy.Gear ratio.
9.2
December 4, 2016
Most everything. Very helpful people. Nice car.
several scratches had been "painted over" with white shoe polish, which only came to light when we washed it. This is not a great way to present a car to someone as if it is in mint condition, but really not.
8.6
December 2, 2016
Great Service, brand new car, really enjoyed it.
9.0
November 23, 2016
Car was fine for our use. We travelled nearly 5000Km in 3.5 weeks. Nothing went wrong.
The seat covers were very stained.
8.2
KudakwasheNovember 14, 2016
all good
car needed wheel balancing
8.4
JaninaNovember 10, 2016
Very efficient service at check-in and super friendly help at the desk (Jake I think it was?) Car was in great condition, couldn't complain at all! A bit of a pricy choice on our side but we trusted Avis.
Total price for a week a little too high.
8.8
October 31, 2016
Perfect drop off.
Pick up took too long
8.6
ThomasOctober 25, 2016
reliability of AVIS. Fast exchange of the car, after informing about a tyre problem. Positive reply on the claim of overtaking the costs by Rentalcars within a few days.
nothing
9.0
October 5, 2016
friendly and convenient service
nothing
9.2
UNAOctober 5, 2016
The car is good on petrol
The brake pads are worn off
8.6
September 20, 2016
Easy to drive, friendly staff
Two punctures car very basic not even electric windows
8.2
September 18, 2016
The car
Avis personal originally did not provide my booked car and to insist on it as I paid a lot of money. And that took too much time waiting and should have made an upgrade for an option.
9.8
MARGOLOFFAugust 16, 2016
waiting time for pick up (short queue and sufficient staff) friendly staff
express return without any signature, don't know what i will have to pay in addition to the original amount
7.8
August 8, 2016
Clean simple service. Helpful staff. Price point compared to higher tiers.
Price point to higher tiers is a large jump for not much more value.
9.0
PAULAugust 3, 2016
Fast efficient service
9.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
Johannesburg
Excellent
8.5 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings