Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Cape Town

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Cape Town and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

February 22, 2017
Car was good value and everything was included in the price, no added extras when we arrived.
Long queue to pick up car
8.6
PhilipFebruary 21, 2017
No problems / ceremony
7.4
January 31, 2017
Ease of pick-up, friendly service, good condition of car.
9.4
January 5, 2017
Everything was perfect, no problems
8.6
quintinJanuary 4, 2017
had engine problems with first car but was exchanged and drop-off in a hour.
7.2
January 4, 2017
GOOD SERVICE
IT WAS VERY BUSY AND SLOW TO PICK UP.
8.2
January 3, 2017
The long que and the long process to get the car. In addition before driving the car had to be inspected by a Thrifty representative but there were only two on duty and a large number of cars to be checked.
6.6
AndreasJanuary 3, 2017
Economical and user friendly
Seat belts at back were not working
8.4
December 15, 2016
the car was okay
I would have expected the care more modern
6.4
December 11, 2016
Everything was great!
Just wish I knew that I could pay at the time of pick-up instead so far ahead when booking online.
8.6
MichaelDecember 8, 2016
The car was an old model, the interior was tired and the door seals were poor.
6.8
November 16, 2016
Fast and well priced..
Car needs to be more clean and less damaged..
6.6
GaryNovember 8, 2016
Ease to find company
Took too long to get car after a long flight. Should be easier and maybe more done before collection ie at time of booking
7.0
BridgetNovember 6, 2016
Staff extremely friendly and helpful
Wasnt told I could pick the car up at the airport. Was given an address downtown. Also had to pay for extras that I nelieved were already paid for
7.2
October 16, 2016
Staff are do friendly. We have used them many times and are always happy
Nothing to note
8.4
October 11, 2016
The car we had booked was not available so they upgraded us to a larger car.
We had a screw in the tire and the tire blew out the morning after we picked it up. The roadside assist numbers didnt work.
8.0
RobertOctober 2, 2016
Helpfulness in exchanging the vehicle supplied for one that was closer to our requirements.
Long walk to rentals
6.4
YINGHAOAugust 25, 2016
the car was exactly the same as i book it.
the car's engine is too week. cannot cope with mountain road.
8.4
July 24, 2016
Service was not bad.
It did not get the car I chose even though it was in the same group.
7.8
PatrickJune 28, 2016
Car was the fact one I requested
The car had a computer fault that I could not clear.
8.0
April 25, 2016
Friendly and Helpful staff and quick service Staff could not do enough for us on pick up and returning Thanks
none
9.0
BrianApril 11, 2016
Thrifty were quick to help when problems happened
I ended up going through 4 cars
6.0
March 31, 2016
Direction finder (GPS) not working.
7.4
JaneMarch 17, 2016
Staff very helpful and efficient
Just a suggestion, but I feel that your sign 'Thrifty' should be more pronounced in colour and size when returning the car with all the other signs, we felt it wasn't clear enough.....
9.0
MichaelMarch 14, 2016
Friendly staff at Cape Town
We wanted a Chevvy and got a nasty little Datsun
6.8
JulieMarch 9, 2016
Car was easy to drive but very low
I preferred the Nissan Livina this time received Toyota Corolla Quest
7.4
March 8, 2016
It was a super car to druve and very economical
The computer was "down"when we picked up the car so as a result we spent far too much time collecting the car.
7.2
March 7, 2016
The delays. However this was due to an extraordinary number of people at the airport for Argus.
8.0
March 1, 2016
Speed of service
the car was not working properly (gear would not engage properly) and we had to change the car halfway through the trip as it was getting worse.
7.2
February 23, 2016
We waited for over an hour in the queue to hire the car, and the lock mechanism did not work properly with the result that we could lock but not unlock the car. We asked to be contacted but no one bothered
6.4
WilhelminaFebruary 23, 2016
The Renault Sondero was very low on fuel
Not a nice car to drive as the petrol pedal was not smooth
7.4
February 22, 2016
Took around 90 minutes of waiting in a queue to collect car
7.8
February 22, 2016
Very long waiting time in Capetown. Renault in stead of ordered Polo.
7.0
February 20, 2016
The wait at the airport for card is long, very few people to assist
The wait at the airport for card is long, very few people to assist
7.0
MichaelFebruary 17, 2016
Overall a good experience and value for money?
Long time to pick up car.
8.4
February 3, 2016
good car easy pickup friendly staff
8.8
VictoriaJanuary 24, 2016
The car; it was exactly the car we booked and in our case no further hassle. Lucky us. The poor staff was very helpful within their possibilities. The Management on the other Hand earns only an overal 1.
There were other customers waiting and rather upset with the Service, so we were very afraid that we also wouldn't get the car booked or would have to wait a Long time. The wipers didn't work both, aswell as the fan positions.
8.6
GringoJanuary 10, 2016
Vehicle was more sufficient for the duration of my stay
Time spent in waiting for collection and no instructions on return of vehicle
6.8
ALANJanuary 8, 2016
A new car with only 700km on the clock very heavy on fuel not run in yet all other cars I have rented before were light on fuel
9.4
CliveJanuary 5, 2016
Attendance to issues raised was promptly done.
Although we waited for the vehicle, it did not matter for we were excited about our trip.
7.0
October 9, 2015
Easy and efficient and pleasant service. No complaints.
8.6
NeilOctober 3, 2015
Generally good value
Chaotic at the desk on arrival, car not ready, not enough seating had to stand for an hour waiting for the car.
6.2
August 24, 2015
Your Guys are awesome!!!
7.2
July 3, 2015
Thrifty staff ..very efficient, friendly, helpful I returned an hour late..was phoned to remind me - great I liked the car - little Chev Spark
Car had many small scratches, dents, so took a while to complete inspection; it would be very easy to miss one or two and then be accountable for having caused them!
9.8
May 19, 2015
The staff were friendly and professional. I was very happy with the car.I shall use Thrifty again.
9.8
May 11, 2015
Car needs service Accelerator not smooth - annoying
8.4
March 15, 2015
Good service, car ready
Broken radio aerial, broken clips on rear door
7.8
March 7, 2015
The people were helpful with the luggage and with my husband with a roallerThanks!
7.8
michaelFebruary 26, 2015
the polo was fine ,clean and had no problems with it. found thrifty staff as helpful as ever. when I had car filled up at airport gave them receipt and they agreed the car was as good as when I collected.
No car manual and no map so had t6o obtain one from another source.
9.0
February 20, 2015
vehicle at value for money rates
reception desk needs to be more efficient
6.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Cape Town
Very good
7.5 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations