Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Cape Town

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Cape Town and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

ThembaniApril 2, 2018
very helpful and quick
staff are serious not smilling
8.4
March 22, 2018
Was good service allround
7.8
March 10, 2018
Staff warmth
Nothing
7.2
March 8, 2018
A good car
The washing screen was not working
6.2
March 6, 2018
Very Clean
Boot cover was not fixed
7.2
JeanFebruary 12, 2018
Easy, clean, professional and fast
Nothing
9.6
GodfreyFebruary 12, 2018
Keep up the good work.
8.8
February 11, 2018
The price!
The waiting time at the desk for pick up
6.2
February 10, 2018
Excellent
None
6.6
February 10, 2018
Overall experience
It took some time cos the system went up n down so the booking was done manually...
8.0
February 8, 2018
Staff service and professionalism
I had to complete the forms again when I collected the car. I was expecting all my details to be there.
9.0
February 8, 2018
Very slow at handing over vehicles.
6.6
February 5, 2018
Quick service
NO ANSEWERS
10.2
February 3, 2018
I was surprised that there was a 200km/day limit and I couldn't upgrade to an unlimited plan
8.0
January 20, 2018
Passenger seat belt did not work and petrol cap was missing (had to buy new one)
7.6
KlausDecember 23, 2017
the office in Cape Town was very helpful in getting us to the cruiseship harbour
6.8
DavidDecember 22, 2017
Ist car, a datsun had a problem after a day. The company brought a replacement vehicle immediately to my hotel which I had no problems with for the next 5 days of my trip.
8.6
December 20, 2017
Poor signposting at Cape Town airport to the fill up garage and from the garage to the rental car drop off
8.6
December 20, 2017
Ease, efficiency.
The car was in the same group as the one I booked, but of poor quality (Datsun Go+ - 0 NCAP rating)
7.8
December 10, 2017
Booked a polo and got a Hyundai
7.6
GrahamDecember 2, 2017
Good as expected
No problems
8.0
JacquelineNovember 20, 2017
Great Value for money
USB port did not work - so couldn't charge my phone and needed it for GPS
9.8
November 20, 2017
Excellent service thanks!
No reason to.
8.0
November 20, 2017
Great service and convenience
Car was not cleaned for handover. It was however not dirty, just not cleaned.
9.2
ConorNovember 19, 2017
Nice car, exactly what we booked. Easy process start to finish
Large security deposit
7.8
November 13, 2017
The staff that was used to do the inspection of the car wit us was too much in a hurry we did not manage to ask all we needed to ask. I think they need to improve on that.
7.2
November 10, 2017
The steering wheel was at an angle when driving straight.
9.4
DannyNovember 10, 2017
The pick-up took just too long, Drop of was fine and I would have appreciated an indication of how much fuel was used. I was just told it would be taken off my deposit which would be paid back in 4x working days.
8.0
November 4, 2017
The babysit available was in a terrible condition and dirty. Totally unacceptable...
6.8
November 4, 2017
Overall the entire experience was very positive with no hitches at all.
Returns at the Airport was a bit confusing as signage to Returns not up to scratch. Witnessed many people asking for directions to the Returns section.
8.0
October 28, 2017
Welcome at the Desk
Only 1/4 of Petrol !!! Staff on the parking Bay
5.6
October 26, 2017
How quick and easy it was to get through the documentation
Very high insurance cost.
9.4
October 25, 2017
I expected a vw Polo and specifically went with the thrifty deal because of the vw. I do not like Hyundai vehicles and I ended up with an I 10. I was very unhappy. The I 10 was okay just very unstable on the road.
8.0
LanceOctober 23, 2017
Nothing
Battery went flat in Hermanus. Had to wait for assistance from Cape Town to come and change battery
5.8
MichelleOctober 23, 2017
Computer system was slow to process booking and it took 10 minutes more than usual. Staff said it is a system problem on that day. She called another staff member to rerun system.
8.6
October 21, 2017
Good service, convenient procedures, the price is reasonable, it is recommended
6.4
October 18, 2017
The vehicle was very economical on fuel.
smell of cigarettes in the car!
8.6
October 16, 2017
The car was not that pleasant to drive.
7.2
RayOctober 15, 2017
Efficiency and ease
9.4
October 9, 2017
Was absolutely delighted with everything-courteous staff good car very happy with everything
Nothing
8.0
October 8, 2017
Excellent staff
I would have liked the car I had booked
7.4
ChristineOctober 8, 2017
Thrifty is my rental comp any of choice
9.4
EvahOctober 3, 2017
SERVICE AND VEHICLE ITSELF
NONE
8.4
DavidSeptember 28, 2017
Friendly staff from start to return of the car...
distance from the terminal to the car hire area...
8.8
AdriaanSeptember 26, 2017
Price and short time for dropping off the car.
Long wait before the car was ready
7.8
September 26, 2017
The vehicle is not older than 2 years, yet the car was badly scratched. The handbrake did not work, and I had to park uphill.
8.4
September 26, 2017
Exceptional service received
Not applicable
9.0
CliveSeptember 26, 2017
Ability to res pond to a difficultd situation I didnt have a Credit Card so they were able to compimise and I paid extra deposit to secure the Car
Not enough awareness and it is only in the small print is made on the internet that non credit cards like my Captec Debit card which is also a master card are not allowed. I belive non credit embossed credit card should be allowed
8.4
September 22, 2017
Service and vehicle
Nothing
9.2
JurieSeptember 22, 2017
Much bwtter than Avis!!!
No issues here.
8.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Cape Town
Very good
7.13333 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.