Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Cape Town

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Cape Town and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

August 16, 2017
Friendly and fast.
7.8
PAAugust 15, 2017
The friendly and quick service. Great condition of the vehicles.
8.2
August 15, 2017
Whilst the booked car was a chevy spark, which is probably my most unlikely car, we received a Datsun Go. A very easy and pleasant car to drive. And so I say thank you, I was very happy.
8.6
MaritzaAugust 13, 2017
Excellent service
7.4
NcebakaziAugust 1, 2017
Staff is friendly
9.6
JudithJuly 20, 2017
It was a pleasant and easy experience hiring the car.
Nothing I didn't like. Putting a map of Cape Town in the car would help.
9.6
HilelJuly 8, 2017
Found office staff particularly friendly & very efficient. Regretfully I did not take the name of the official who helped me - I'm sure records will show - he deserves a commendation
the extremely high cost of insurance
7.6
OliverJune 27, 2017
Spacious and by and large met my requirements
the brakes were snatchy and I didn't like the hand brake. The big wing mirror made it hard to judge the position of the car when turning right. There were a lot of scratch marks and chips on what seemed a newish car. Perhaps a reality of driving in Cape Town
6.8
June 7, 2017
Casual, relaxed, helpful representative at mthatha airport
Bit slow and laborious picking up he car and the car was underpowered.
8.2
May 22, 2017
The treatment i got was good since i had no Credit Card bit they helped me.
Nothing for now
8.4
May 6, 2017
Car was reliable
Car had very high fuel consumption Boot opened often unintendedly Car had no park sensors
7.4
May 5, 2017
Staff were friendly, car performed well and return was hassle free
Car was previously used by a smoker and stale smell was evident, model of car bonnet has design fault which means it moves when you drive and appears open.
6.8
ManishApril 27, 2017
It was very easy renting a car - as I did it for 1st time.
Yet to get their final bill (if they charge anything hidden) - so hard to say. Hoping for no-surprise.
7.4
MichaelApril 24, 2017
Good service at drop off.Able to return to a different destination
Problems with Garvin GPS- needed 3 attempts to get one that worked. Realised I had booked under powered car but could not easily upgrade having booked through an agency,Rentalcars
6.4
April 24, 2017
Speedy, easy and friendly service
Fuel tank was almost full. Member of staff claimed it was 3/4 but he'll do us a favour and will put 7/8...
9.2
April 20, 2017
Airconditioner did not work
7.4
AlexandreApril 10, 2017
Wipers was not functioning
8.8
April 2, 2017
Being able to collect the car downtown having arrived on a cruise ship and dropping off at the airport.
Nothing
8.4
March 31, 2017
Overall ease of the booking and hiring process.
8.8
March 19, 2017
We had trouble locating the car when leaving the counter.
9.0
RonaldMarch 13, 2017
The car went well and provided us with the best size option for the amount of luggage we had.
The upgrade for an additional day rent was quite expensive.
8.0
March 8, 2017
The model of the car was a few years old.
7.0
MichaelMarch 6, 2017
Quick efficient staff with big smiles to welcome us in hot weather after a 12 hour flight, really appreciated. We always use Thrifty for exactly that reason, not only in SA.
Nothing
8.4
March 1, 2017
Really good car and efficient counter and car park staff.
All good with this hire.
9.0
March 1, 2017
Easy to find the counter but it is a fair walk. Staff very good and very nice car.
Cape Town is a busy city and in some parts, with cars double parked, the roads are narrow!
8.8
February 27, 2017
The car was very comfortable and spacious for 4 passengers (Nissan X-Trail
Car was underpowered for 4 people plus luggage.
7.6
ALANFebruary 26, 2017
Thanks again for your business and management
I'm happy
9.0
February 25, 2017
ease of drop off process
Counter was a bit slow at pick-up of car but in fairness it was a very busy day for them
7.4
February 22, 2017
Car was good value and everything was included in the price, no added extras when we arrived.
Long queue to pick up car
8.6
PhilipFebruary 21, 2017
No problems / ceremony
7.4
January 31, 2017
Ease of pick-up, friendly service, good condition of car.
9.4
January 5, 2017
Everything was perfect, no problems
8.6
quintinJanuary 4, 2017
had engine problems with first car but was exchanged and drop-off in a hour.
7.2
January 4, 2017
GOOD SERVICE
IT WAS VERY BUSY AND SLOW TO PICK UP.
8.2
January 3, 2017
The long que and the long process to get the car. In addition before driving the car had to be inspected by a Thrifty representative but there were only two on duty and a large number of cars to be checked.
6.6
AndreasJanuary 3, 2017
Economical and user friendly
Seat belts at back were not working
8.4
December 15, 2016
the car was okay
I would have expected the care more modern
6.4
December 11, 2016
Everything was great!
Just wish I knew that I could pay at the time of pick-up instead so far ahead when booking online.
8.6
MichaelDecember 8, 2016
The car was an old model, the interior was tired and the door seals were poor.
6.8
November 16, 2016
Fast and well priced..
Car needs to be more clean and less damaged..
6.6
GaryNovember 8, 2016
Ease to find company
Took too long to get car after a long flight. Should be easier and maybe more done before collection ie at time of booking
7.0
BridgetNovember 6, 2016
Staff extremely friendly and helpful
Wasnt told I could pick the car up at the airport. Was given an address downtown. Also had to pay for extras that I nelieved were already paid for
7.2
October 16, 2016
Staff are do friendly. We have used them many times and are always happy
Nothing to note
8.4
October 11, 2016
The car we had booked was not available so they upgraded us to a larger car.
We had a screw in the tire and the tire blew out the morning after we picked it up. The roadside assist numbers didnt work.
8.0
RobertOctober 2, 2016
Helpfulness in exchanging the vehicle supplied for one that was closer to our requirements.
Long walk to rentals
6.4
YINGHAOAugust 25, 2016
the car was exactly the same as i book it.
the car's engine is too week. cannot cope with mountain road.
8.4
July 24, 2016
Service was not bad.
It did not get the car I chose even though it was in the same group.
7.8
PatrickJune 28, 2016
Car was the fact one I requested
The car had a computer fault that I could not clear.
8.0
April 25, 2016
Friendly and Helpful staff and quick service Staff could not do enough for us on pick up and returning Thanks
none
9.0
BrianApril 11, 2016
Thrifty were quick to help when problems happened
I ended up going through 4 cars
6.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Cape Town
Very good
7.65 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations