Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Hertz logo - rentalcars.com

Hertz Reviews Cape Town

Read 50 customer reviews on Hertz in Cape Town and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

March 16, 2017
The car was a good quality car and as always from Hertz
no comments to make
7.8
MalcolmFebruary 25, 2017
Nice vehicle, easy to drive , good pick up location
Nothing!
9.2
RobertFebruary 21, 2017
Professionalism of staff and location of the depot
The cost of renting a GPS - it would be more economical to purchase one - especially as I intend to return next year!!
7.8
AngusFebruary 21, 2017
Everything ran smoothly.
I should receive a signed copy of the post inspection form when I return the car.
8.2
GregoryFebruary 21, 2017
Staff were knowledgeable and efficient.
8.4
GeoffreyFebruary 12, 2017
This year I was particularly impressed with you new service of taking you customers from the Return Car area, back to the departure point. This removes a great deal of inconvenience. Please ensure you keep this service in place for next year
There was nothing to complain about
9.2
ChrisJanuary 28, 2017
low mileage car clean and tidy
8.4
JohnJanuary 26, 2017
Courtesy of stAFF
nothing
8.6
January 18, 2017
Thoroughly impressed with both car and service. So much so my wife is considering buying the vehicle we drove!
8.6
January 15, 2017
Efficiency of pick up arrangements Condition of car
8.2
January 12, 2017
Everything was likeable
nothing
8.6
January 11, 2017
Employee who handed over the car could not explain the use of car key. E.g. we had to figure out ourselves how many times to klick on the key to open certain doors.
7.4
SoniaJanuary 11, 2017
The Hertz representative was very helpful and professional.
8.8
HermanusJanuary 11, 2017
Staff friendliness, condition of cars and professionalism.
NA
9.0
RaveshJanuary 10, 2017
The whole experience blended in with my holiday to be a pleasurable one.
no negatives
9.2
January 5, 2017
There was some minor damage to the bodywork that was not identified by Hertz when we collected the car and was not done by me. It was not an issue but I would hope that Hertz would not raise it with another renter
8.4
January 3, 2017
My car
No complains
8.6
TaniaJanuary 3, 2017
Speed of pickup and dropoff
Exact make not being available
8.4
December 24, 2016
Received better price and insurance coverage through rentalcars.com than I would have received directly from Hertz.
Took some time to pick up the vehicle
9.0
December 17, 2016
Easy to drive, good gas mileage
Fit our groups needs but was hard to park
8.6
November 16, 2016
In stead of a VW Polo we got a Ford Fiesta
7.0
ColinNovember 10, 2016
A good central location for car pick up and easy to navigate from office to roads leaving the city.
A long wait to pick car up. Only one person at counter. Not all conditions were explained adequately or clearly as representative rushed to get through each customer.
6.8
October 31, 2016
Friendly staff at pick-up and drop-off.
Just received at the pick-up the papers and a comment that all damages are noticed. But there was no one in the pick-up area to do a re-check and the damages were not marked on my contract.
9.2
October 22, 2016
The time it took to pick up the car
7.6
MichelleOctober 21, 2016
Good deal, Friendly staff
GPS was a VERY important part of our rental. (Having a car in a place we had never been would have been useless without navigation.) However, they were short on GPS units. Took a while to get one that was working properly.
8.0
October 10, 2016
Hertz is much more expensive than other rental car companies
7.6
PholosoOctober 5, 2016
The 24 hour cycle of renting,.. I didn't drive much but the point was to see as much cape town attractions and i did just that, thanks
It was my first time renting a car and i had a couple of questions/concerns but the guy at the counter was impatient to my questions
7.4
October 3, 2016
A compulsory fuel top up fee even though the vehicle was filled.
7.2
WendyOctober 3, 2016
Everything except the wait to have the car checked for departure.
Waiting so long for someone to check the car so that we could get on our way.
8.8
SteveSeptember 30, 2016
Was rushed and treated brusquely by staff on return of car, they could have a better setup for handling issues.
8.0
September 25, 2016
Very good small car with lots of little extra features - central locking, lights when you opened the doors, good dashboard etc
Suspension but then it was very good value!
8.4
September 20, 2016
Staff at capetown very helpful
Charged for fuel even though we had filled car .girl checking in car rather rude and unhelpful
7.6
September 18, 2016
Excellent service with a very friendly staff
9.0
MichaelSeptember 14, 2016
The staff reorganised to obtain the car we had booked without any argument. We had booked a Polo, but were initially offered a small Toyota with a very limited boot. It only took about 30 minutes.
We booked a car on-line, but initially received another car with a smaller boot. There seems to be a discrepancy between what is seen and booked on-line and what is received.
8.0
August 22, 2016
Staff were excellent. Car was not the exact model but was from the same group. On returning the vehicle the staff actually drove us to the airport terminal drop off point. Excellent service
When I picked up the car, the fuel guage was between 3/4 and full. When I returned the car the gauge was on full. However, I was still charged 191 Rand for fuel.
8.8
August 20, 2016
staff assistance
involved contract and insurance cover. car should be brought to the door instead of customers battling with suitcases etc and having to find the vehicle in the car park
8.8
HelenMay 22, 2016
Friendliness of staff. Happily showed us various features of the car. Readly agreed that there were lots of small scratches and marks over the whole car exterior.
These small marks etc were not fully recorded and therefore cause a problem at the drop off point.
6.8
May 13, 2016
Very friendly counter staff. Ability to return car to downtown location vs the airport.
Sat Nav needed replacing due to a fault. Car was quite high mileage and was nearly the only non-white car in the lot. Could not be bothered to walk back and change it after 12 hour flight. So was a bit hot sometimes.
8.8
May 4, 2016
The location of the desk
The fact that a polo and polo vivo was in kne group and the vivo is a upgrade of a city golf
6.6
April 16, 2016
Great service
8.8
ESMERALDAApril 7, 2016
Even there was a problem due to three big planes landed nearly at the same time...I was impressed by the service of Hertz!!!
No comments as service was perfect.
8.0
March 29, 2016
Friendly helpful staff.
Unfortunately we had to swap a vehicle out due to a headlight not working. The local office was had a single staff member on duty and it took a while to be attended to.
7.6
March 29, 2016
Fuel consumpsion
Struggle to find certain points on GPS for example Langebaan/Tieteiesbaai
9.0
March 26, 2016
Ease of collection and drop off
Hooter on car didn't work. Renault stepway.
7.2
DeborahMarch 25, 2016
Staff in the rental office. Location of car. Ease of return procedure
Would have liked a little info on the operation of the car. I didn't know how to open the boot, had to ask another customer.
9.0
March 22, 2016
Very good value for money
9.2
AhmadMarch 21, 2016
The pleasant service by the rental agent and the officer handling pick up and rental (Mr Hertz).
The waiting time for pick up, too many customers but too few rental agents
8.2
March 19, 2016
Handy car did the job for me
The engine needs checking it seemed to pulling all the time.carpet under driver seat slipping around the floor
7.6
March 17, 2016
They swapped the car as they gave me a two door and I needed a 4 door to take my surf board they come to my house to drop off a 4 door and take a 2 door car.
That I wasn't given what I ordered.
8.6
RicardoMarch 15, 2016
The vehicle was amazing and service was excellent!
Unfortunately the drop off area is limit and took us over 15 min to park the vehicle as the area was congested... But you cannot blame Hertz as the airport facilities do not allow room for improvement.
9.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Hertz Rating
Cape Town
Excellent
8.7 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations