Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Cape Town

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in Cape Town and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

JaneMarch 22, 2017
The car was fine, but after 4 days the key-fob button to lock the car failed. I phoned Budget and they replaced the car without quibble, giving me a Ford Fiesta, which was very satisfactory.
See "What did you like?": the Polo I was issued in the first place was very basic, and the key-fob failed.
8.8
March 19, 2017
First class service
None
8.4
DannyMarch 15, 2017
Big trunk, managed to store 4 suitcases
Could clean the windscreen on the inside. There was some sticky product spayed.
6.6
PATRICKMarch 15, 2017
Excellent service and courtesy from start to finish
9.4
March 12, 2017
Stupid locking system on car! Collection took longer than usual due to computer printer failure - support should be in place.
7.6
March 11, 2017
The whole experience. All went smoothly.
Nothing to report
9.2
March 9, 2017
Thanks for including you Excess Insurance. Very comprehensive and good price. Service from you - as usual VERY GOOD
Couldn't get my favourite car - Toyota Etios
6.4
RaymondMarch 8, 2017
Excellent value, car was exactly what we ordered. Easy return policy, no waiting, plenty of staff to deal with returns.
Lengthy waiting time to book the car out.
9.0
March 8, 2017
The service wad on point
Standing in the queue for mire than an hour
8.2
March 8, 2017
The hire car was excellent and very new. However, we then had to hire another Polo for the last few days of our trip and this Polo was much older and so wasn't as good.
Very long queues to pick up the car but not surprisingly considering Budget are doing the best deals on hire cars!
8.8
March 7, 2017
Efficiency
8.6
March 6, 2017
The high pitched noise when you locked or unlocked the car. Wind up windows!!
9.2
March 6, 2017
Staff were helpful. Price was good
It took too long to pick up the car. There were too few staff on duty
8.0
March 5, 2017
The help we received when dropping off the car, as my husband was in need of a wheelchair following an accident.
The very long time it took to collect the car. Due to the popularity of Avis and Budget who had combined, the queue was very long.
7.8
JohnMarch 5, 2017
Need to speed pick up times
Pick up time...too long
8.0
JohnMarch 4, 2017
Quality car and value for money
Wait at pick up
8.6
gerardMarch 3, 2017
The ease of access and central location
Probably go for a slightly larger car if possible next time.
9.0
March 2, 2017
Proffessional staff
Car wasvjust ok.
7.4
March 1, 2017
Brand new car ideal for our purpose
nothing
9.0
RudyFebruary 28, 2017
EVERYTHING,I RECIEVED WHAT I WANTED.
NO COMMENTS ON THAT.
7.2
February 28, 2017
reasonably easy to find and car suitable for our purposes
the colour!! and the sat nav was bad.
8.0
HilaryFebruary 27, 2017
Helpful and considerate staff handy little car
Likely to move up a group to get a more powerful engine to cope with inclines!
7.6
February 27, 2017
Car wasnt very clean on the outside. It was difficult to inspect the vehicle re scratches. On returning the vehicle there was an issue re bump/scratch on rear door.
7.6
sarahFebruary 27, 2017
The gentleman who checked us in and out was exceptionally pleasant and efficient.
8.8
henkFebruary 24, 2017
Easy drop of, good car, assistance to get started,
8.8
RodFebruary 24, 2017
Easy pickup process and the car was perfect.
There was no damage report when we picked up the car but the car was ok.
8.8
February 23, 2017
Everything! Very smooth pleasant experience, Thank you very much!
9.6
henkFebruary 23, 2017
Excellent car, easy drop off
8.4
February 23, 2017
Have used Budget through your company for several years and no problems. Had no problem with car and they agreed there was no additional charges.
8.0
February 23, 2017
Queue to pick up
7.6
February 19, 2017
Quality of vehicle and ease of returning vehicle
Quite a long queue to go through administrative process before collecting vehicle.
8.8
ElaineFebruary 15, 2017
Efficient Service, respect for being a returning customer, upgrade at no extra cost.
8.2
JohnFebruary 15, 2017
Cost and clean; smooth return after they realised I'd been missed in queue.
Underpowered/poorly tuned, gears not smooth, steering loose - overall poor quality.
6.2
FritjofFebruary 14, 2017
When I brought it back, I was brought to the airport, very comfortable.
9.2
RichardFebruary 14, 2017
Getting the car I requested
Very difficult at pick up and return.
5.8
February 14, 2017
easy pick-up and return
air conditioning was not completely effective
8.2
February 13, 2017
everything ran very smoothly although there seems to be huge amounts of paperwork to sign
had to go back to accomodation for passport even though paperwork said we didn't need it,also we couldn't top car up at capetown airport as petrol station very difficult to find!
8.4
February 13, 2017
Effective and friendly staff, price excellent.
Nobody inspected the vehicle with us prior us leaving
9.4
michaelFebruary 12, 2017
Efficiency of staff
Front mud flap dropped down on first day of hire
8.0
February 11, 2017
Ease of returning car and politeness and friendliness of staff
The quality of the sat navigation which we paid extra for was poor. Quite often didn't recognise destinations which the one rentEd by my son from another company did and did not tell you time to travel between destinations
8.0
ADAMFebruary 11, 2017
Very friendly staff. And extremely accommodating. We where going to get am i10 but it was too small so we got the a VW Polo Viva the same as the booking.
Sadly, a long wait time to pick up car.
8.8
BrettFebruary 10, 2017
Staff were friendly and car was fine.
It took almost an hour to even see a staff member. I understand that at that time of the year it was busy but it was ridiculous how long I had to wait.
8.4
DavidFebruary 9, 2017
The model car we had had a very poor engine which is not very practical when stationery in traffic in an up-hill road.
8.0
February 8, 2017
Helpfulness of staff
8.8
February 8, 2017
Usual service from Rental Cars - I use them several times a year and find them very good.
8.6
February 7, 2017
Very nice staff and a good orderly queue
8.8
February 6, 2017
Comfort and economy and low mileage.
Nothing.
9.0
February 4, 2017
Ease of pick up
Ease of drop off
8.4
February 2, 2017
Helpfulness of staff who retrieved and help load luggage into the car upon collection.
Very long wait to process reservation at the office. Lack of quick response to check and sign off the vehicle upon return.
8.0
February 1, 2017
Generally efficient service
There were stains on the seat, sand on the floor and the car was noisy in first gear as if there may have been a slight leak in the exhaust at the engine end of it.
6.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Budget Rating
Cape Town
Excellent
8.425 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings