Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

National logo - rentalcars.com

National Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on National in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

October 3, 2017
We were helped very quickly. Ability to choose our car at the pick-up zone.
The only qualm was the 30 day max rental period shown on the agreement in spite of the fact that we rented for 63 days. Apparently the company's systems automatically roll the rental over if it goes for more than 30 days, but I think it probably would be a problem if we would be stopped by an officer of the law. Fortunately this did not happen.
8.6
September 25, 2017
The drop off was very time efficient. The car was beautiful and easy to use.
The fee for extra drivers and the fee for 'underaged' drivers. Especially the last one because I personally think that 22 year can not be considered underaged anymore.
8.8
LuisSeptember 25, 2017
The car was new and in perfect conditions and maintenance.
The first option that National offers was a different car. When I insist they give me the one I reserved, but there were a kind of vegetal sabia on the front window that was impossible to clean. I used three different products trying to clean it and nothing. My accompaniment never could see the views.
7.8
September 11, 2017
Had a Nissan Rogue, excellent car! Very friendly staff in San Francisco. Thank you!
8.8
September 11, 2017
Easy to get car in short time
Didn't get the car I wanted. Could have paid a lot less for a similar model to the one I got. Staff unhelpful on the whole. Cars all had dents and scratches, and exterior dirty. Would not recommend this to anyone. In hindsight would have paid less. Annoyed that I lost money.
5.2
RogerSeptember 9, 2017
Excellent service at pickup and drop off.
Nothing.
9.2
DavidAugust 21, 2017
EASE of the process
8.4
August 20, 2017
Rare to actually get the car model I'd booked. Nice surprise. rental cars booking was easy and a good experience.
Drop off in a different location fee seemed extortionate.
7.6
GilbertAugust 12, 2017
The staff at National are amazing prifessional and curtious
The prices at san francisco are a bit inflated in car rentals
7.6
August 6, 2017
very simple and relaxed to deal with.
finding the rental car desk at the airport was tough after a 10 hour flight.
7.8
ErnstJuly 31, 2017
Brand new clean car, customer friendly service counter
8.8
July 25, 2017
Brand new car
Car wasn't as good as what we had ordered
7.8
FerdynandJuly 12, 2017
Getting in the car was super quick, I just asked to choose the available car in the row and the data they need is just a driving license.
No upgrade at all :-)
8.4
June 23, 2017
friendly, helpful great service, great car
9.6
LeopoldoJune 7, 2017
I booked a Jeep Grand Cherokee, North American vehicle, I collected a Nissan Pathfinder, Japanese. Part of my vacation is to drive a local vehicle. It was disappointing.
7.4
SeanJune 3, 2017
No Queue at the counter.
Had booked a Jeep Cherokee wish I had got one. Instead got the Durango which wasnt bad at all...
8.8
May 28, 2017
Excellent service, great staff at National in SFA. A big thank you to Yasmine! Efharisto poli!!!
8.6
May 23, 2017
In a short time, I was in my rental vehicle and ready to drive.
Nothing
9.0
May 22, 2017
Second time I used National at SFO, everything perfect, no pushing for extras, no queues and love that you can pick your car.
9.4
JaroslavMay 4, 2017
Very quick and profesional dealing. Good service.
Nil
9.4
November 22, 2016
Loved seeing California and the changing scenery
Traffic!! Too fast paced for us rural New Zealanders!
7.6
VincentNovember 7, 2016
Excellent service, everything went as expected and excellent value to money
nothing
8.8
October 25, 2016
Fantastic flexibility when I wanted to change car and in general.
9.8
TonyOctober 22, 2016
Staff
Not getting car that I booked,lack of power.
5.6
anthonySeptember 14, 2016
very fast to return the car. litterly seconds.
we booked a jeep grand cherokee. it was not available. Likewise no similair size SUV was available. we were given a much larger SUV, Ford Expedition. The car had an extra row of seats and was simply to big. This made driving very stressful
6.2
September 10, 2016
clean car. We got upgraded because of my birthday ! Staff really helpfull and we never had a long line to wait to pick up and drop off the car (contrary to other rental compagnies).
8.8
August 30, 2016
The pick up
8.6
KeithAugust 28, 2016
I would use National again but was looking forward to the Jeep and got an awful Hyundai Santra. The worst auto gearbox you could imagine. It became a laughing point of the holiday!
The spare key was metal roped to the main key, you couldn`t seperate them! Apart from it banging on my leg for 10 days when in the ignition what If I was unfortunate enough to lose the key! The spare would be with it, just ridiculous really.
7.4
August 28, 2016
downtown easy to get there, very friendly counter staff, fast paperwork
8.6
August 23, 2016
great car, good value, excellent service at drop off.
poor service at pick up. no support at all (which UK drivers need!).
6.8
MartijnAugust 21, 2016
Flexibility in finding an available car that more or less met my specification. Quick and no hassle.
Would have liked the car I specified (Jeep Grand Cherokee) better than what I got (Ford Explorer), probably. Also, I wasn't thrilled by the limitations I couldn't reset (max speed, sound); 80 Mph is too close to the speed limits in Texas.
8.6
GijsbrechtAugust 3, 2016
I eventually got the car I ordered and it was in great condition.
At first, the car wasn't available and a 'similar' car was offered. The cars where not similar at all however (older, less attractive cars). After some complaining, they found the exact model we were looking for after all.
9.0
BartJuly 29, 2016
The GPS was not satelite-navigation but depending on connection to mobile phone systems. As I was driving to a lot of areas with no mobile phone coverage I even had to buy me a map to find my destination.
7.0
JanJune 27, 2016
Very satisfied. No hidden charges or fees. We paid exactly as indicated on our booking. Straightforward car pick up and drop off. Convenient drop off with helpful staff.
The car we were given had few small scratches. The staff at pick up should have informed us about them.
8.2
RobertMay 20, 2016
Price & ease of use ie easy to cancel
N/A
8.8
MichaelMay 19, 2016
Car was better than i expected
Car wasn't clean at pickup.
7.2
DominicMay 4, 2016
Considered my request for the exact car model Over the phone service was great
Please mark somewhere visibly what kind of fuel the car needs
9.2
NickApril 23, 2016
Expensive upgrade at SFO. Dodge Challenger not as polished or fun to drive as a Mustang or Camaro.
7.6
martinApril 3, 2016
Quick to collect. Even quicker to drop off
8.6
March 14, 2016
Return of car excellent very efficient service
8.8
johnFebruary 27, 2016
I found the staff helpful, bags of choice with car
Nothing
9.4
February 26, 2016
Fantastic check in and check out staff an overall great experience
8.6
jean-noelFebruary 26, 2016
Car is brand new, contract was also in french, gps was here
8.8
February 17, 2016
Jeep was not available
9.0
StephenFebruary 7, 2016
Courtesy. Friendliness Upgrade. Simplicity
Nothing
9.0
BenFebruary 1, 2016
Been in customer service for 25 yrs and demand excellent customer service. Your company did this at all levels. Keep up the good work. You have my custom from now on. Thank you very much
9.8
EdwinJanuary 9, 2016
We came very late due to flight delayed, but nothing seemed to be the problem at all. We got our car in no more than 5 mins!
9.0
DawnJanuary 4, 2016
Lovely friendly helpful staff. Great car - husband didn't want to hand it back!0
8.4
DanielleNovember 11, 2015
The car was fantastic, very comfortable, easy to drive and spacious
8.6
October 26, 2015
Great Service and an great car
9.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
National Rating
San Francisco
Excellent
8.225 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings