Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Dollar logo - rentalcars.com

Dollar Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on Dollar in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

nicolaOctober 28, 2017
Quick check in Nice staff
Car was not that one I choosed The cruise control was not working properly
6.4
WilliamOctober 24, 2017
Great car & great service
Having to drive on the right. :)
7.4
October 22, 2017
Everything went smooth and no surprises. Car received was exactly what was offered. Highly recommend rental cars.com.
9.0
AlbertOctober 21, 2017
Really a cool car! New model highly appreciated!
-
8.8
RobertOctober 20, 2017
Dropping off car very simple and easy
Took a long time to queue and pick up car when you have prepaid 1 year in advance.They should have had a desk for prepaid people it's not good waiting about 45mins in queue after a long 11 hr flight
7.2
October 19, 2017
The ease of the process.
No clear option on how to pay for the crossing of the Golden Gate Bridge, I have passed once and I am not sure if I was charged any extra by your company.
7.4
HAKANOctober 19, 2017
Suitable for 3 to 5 passanger with baggages
8.0
October 17, 2017
Very straightforward process, helpful staff, no "hard sell" for add ons. Drop off was particularly efficient. Although the car wasn't a Mustang Convertible that we'd ordered it was a brand new Chevvy Camaro (100 miles on the clock) which was fabulous!
8.4
RichardOctober 17, 2017
Excellent service right through from booking online via collection right till return. Not an issue - and excellent value for money.
Nothing. Everything was great.
9.0
October 15, 2017
The car is very new and cleanliness
Waiting time to long to pickup car
7.6
October 8, 2017
Kia Soul suits us perfectly
Not sure I needed the extra insurance (jet lag ruins your judgement).
9.4
October 6, 2017
Quality of car Speed of drop off
8.2
HaroldOctober 5, 2017
Helpfull at San Francisco desk
Not very pleasant at New Orleans desk To far away from terminal to pick up while carrying suit cases ect No help at hand poorly signposted too
6.8
MatthewOctober 3, 2017
Being sent downstairs to the kiosk to save time instead of queuing for an agent at the desk.
Confusing directions to exit the parking structure.
8.6
PaulOctober 2, 2017
Easy to locate car - nice staff
No air conditioning - our fault for not checking. The side mirrors would not adjust so my tall husband had difficulty seeing out of the offside mirror.
9.2
October 1, 2017
Good vehicle for our requirement wikth plenty of boot space at a good price
Confusing departing & returning to Vehicle Hire Garage not fully explained. Seat belts in rear seat a bit inflexible
8.0
September 30, 2017
Friendly and helpful service.
Eventhough I had paid my rental car in advance, I couldn't pick it up directly from dropoff/pick-up. I had to queue to the service desk.
6.0
September 30, 2017
Value for money
Maintenance required alert throughout hire
7.4
September 30, 2017
No extra unforeseen expences.
8.0
September 27, 2017
Friendly helpful staff
Long wait for shuttle bus at drop off (LAX) there was a big queue and driver left a lot of people behind without ensuring all seats were taken! At least 10 more people could have got on
6.4
September 25, 2017
We got the car we had booked. The initial rental price was competitive and included an additional driver.
We bought breakdown/recovery as an extra. You would've thought as it is their asset it would be included in the rental, it's in their interest to retrieve their vehicle. the queue at SFO was the longest of all the hire companies. The pick up area for the car was dark so we couldn't check the condition of the car.
5.4
September 24, 2017
Staff very helpful. Clear explanations. Vincent on the desk is the man
Nothing really. Return process easy and efficient
7.0
September 24, 2017
The car was great and we got an upgrade which was great as it was the car we originally wanted but it was just a bit too expensive.
It wasn't really easy to locate the rental desk and it was a long queue.
7.6
September 19, 2017
Great price and easy use.
nothing
9.4
September 19, 2017
Car was nice and in good order.Staff were helpful.
Nil
7.4
September 19, 2017
Was told it would be cheaper to bring car back empty rather than full of fuel, it wasn't
6.6
RynoSeptember 18, 2017
The reasonableness of the cost of the rental, including full insurance and GPS device. The car itself was good and the person I dealt with at the counter when I picked the car up was very friendly and helpful.
The GPS device is an excellent idea as it had phone and other functionality, which was useful, but the navigation didn't work at some critical times during the trip - either not picking up satellites or just not finding the location entered. We were very reliant on this, so it was challenging when it didn't work.
7.8
September 18, 2017
Quick service and process of hiring and dropping off. Location of car rental.
Car was basic, even side mirrors adjustment was not provided. Mileage of the car was poor.
8.0
September 18, 2017
Car counter was quick to issue paperwork and friendly.
The Nissan Versa I had was quite new but under powered and had lots of road noise.
8.0
September 16, 2017
Great renting experience.
7.6
RobertSeptember 16, 2017
Clean car
Counter Staff at San Francisco
8.2
September 13, 2017
The car was great. No charge for a different return destination.
Better information at the pickup on Bridge Tolls/Tollpass?/Toll Highways and how to pay etc. etc.
7.8
RobertSeptember 12, 2017
simple drop off
Addition payment for some kind of insurance
8.2
September 12, 2017
Convenient location in Fisherman's Wharf and the representative was very nice.
The car we reserved was not there when we arrived. We paid $40 more for another car that was ready.
8.6
September 11, 2017
Dropping off simple
Slow counter staff
6.8
September 10, 2017
Staff where very helpful, especially as my wife has problems walking
8.4
JOHANSeptember 10, 2017
GPS was included in the car hire.
9.4
IanSeptember 9, 2017
Easy to pick up
Charged an additional $19 for licence fee which should have been pre-paid
8.8
September 8, 2017
Car was in good condition.
Very difficult to find where to drop off car in Las Vegas. When I rand Dollar they were unable to assist. I was transferred to the direction guy and he couldn't help either.
6.8
September 7, 2017
Recieved my cAr fast
Nothing
7.4
AndrewSeptember 7, 2017
The car you get for the price. The initial car we were offered was inadequate to fit in our luggage cos it wasn't the car we requested. They happily offered us a bigger nicer car FOC
Check in agents. Always on look out to make money from tired passengers. This time they said we were under insured and then tried to sell the toll pass to go over the golden gate bridge. Just do it yourself online cheaper
6.8
September 6, 2017
Nice car!
Not a fan of the remote videophone check-in service - very polite & friendly but feels a bit impersonal compared to true face-to-face
6.6
September 4, 2017
Hire of sat nav really helped journey Simple pick up and price was as expected no hidden extras
Unsure if car was equivalent to that booked? One seat belt did not work in the back
7.2
September 4, 2017
Happy for the purpose
8.0
HowardSeptember 4, 2017
new economical car that was easy to drive
the final account was not itemized
6.4
LYNNESeptember 1, 2017
Rented for 3 months. That required re-signing en route after 2 months. This proved very irksome. Made 3 trips across Las Vegas to finally resolve. Computer system of Dollar could not cope with this duration of rental.
6.6
JoseAugust 29, 2017
The staff were attentive to custumer
Had to wait 1 hour , even rhough I arrived at the schedulled time. Didn't get the car I had asked.
6.2
YuAugust 27, 2017
straightforward explanations
i dropped my cell phone in the car and the staff didn't give me enough time to search for it before returning
5.2
August 26, 2017
Thanks! Keep up the good work!
6.4
ChristopherAugust 23, 2017
Excellent staff
Nothing
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Dollar Rating
San Francisco
Very good
7.7 / 10
10000+ ratings

Ratings