Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Alamo logo - rentalcars.com

Alamo Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on Alamo in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

May 21, 2017
Good overall service
Not enough detail for comparable vehicles. Hard to equate the ' or similar' situation when having to choose an alternative to that originally chosen/booked.
7.6
SophiaMay 21, 2017
Wonderful Alamo staff at the San Francisco office.
They did not have enough cars ready for collection and we had to wait about 45 minutes, but this was not their fault as there was huge traffic problems for cars coming in from the airport.
6.2
May 21, 2017
This is the best Alamo around. They are busy for a reason.
8.8
DejanMay 20, 2017
Great value for money, easy, comfortable
All ok this time around
8.4
StephenMay 19, 2017
Aggressive tactics of counter staff forcing tired people to pay for unwanted upgrades
7.0
MartinMay 18, 2017
Samia at SFO was VERY helpful and friendly. She is a real star staff member. Treasure her.
7.6
SandiMay 18, 2017
In Alamo SF were very frendly and giving us good infos. Also they provide us kind prepositions...so overall very good.
8.8
May 18, 2017
Located close to our hotel and easy to get out of SF going north
8.0
May 13, 2017
Not paying one way rental fee
Car did not have usb port
6.8
LindsayMay 13, 2017
Kiosk check-in was very quick. Drop-off also very efficient. Great car at a good price.
Nothing!
9.0
JonathanMay 12, 2017
Given choice of cars in class, very quick drop off
Wait time to collect
6.4
PaulMay 12, 2017
So easy
Nothing, exceeded expectations
8.6
May 11, 2017
Very god and helpful persons at Alamo.
The first car I got in SAN Francisco was a Jeep. The AC system was out of order, so I had to change car in Monterey, got a Nissan Pathfinder, which was eccellent. Also very understanding and helpful staff in Monterey.
8.6
AdamMay 9, 2017
Very impressed with the staff; they offered a little extra due to the long wait for the car to be made ready. Very happy with the 'Fairy Godmother' for helping us out on this and was fantastic to get the exact car we asked for.
Longer wait time than expected (about 45 minutes) but the staff did a good job ensuring we were happy.
7.4
EllieshiaMay 8, 2017
Great Service all round!
9.0
GaryMay 8, 2017
Found the exact car I wanted, very quickly ran through how to use the features.
Nothing
9.2
kanellosMay 7, 2017
Very good company
7.8
May 7, 2017
Car seat hire was too expensive.
7.4
May 7, 2017
Nothing
7.2
May 6, 2017
Loved the car...drove great and had plenty of room! The price was perfect and I was very pleased!
Booked while in England and when I arrived in the states to pick up the car at Alamo, he said not to book a car again while in another country. He told me it would not be honored next time. He told me to use Expedia.
7.4
May 6, 2017
Very good, we had a wonderful trip because of this car.
Nothing
8.4
May 5, 2017
Ease of service
sales clerk pushing upgrades and opinionated when we declined
8.6
May 3, 2017
Nothing for now
6.0
JamesMay 3, 2017
The ease of getting the car and the speed and friendliest cheery staff.
Nothing.
8.2
May 3, 2017
Booking and comparison of the models was easy. Package deals are confusing.
I still cannot follow the complete cost of the rental, which disappoints me a little bit. I really hope that after 2-3 weeks of the actual rental period reserved amounts will be released on my card.
8.4
AlanMay 2, 2017
The rental staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We were given easy to understand directions out of San Francisco saving us time. We enjoyed the banter and joking about us being totally nervous about driving in the USA.
8.8
May 1, 2017
quick drop off.
9.6
brianApril 25, 2017
Excellent GPS and good assistance was provided to a first time user of how it worked.
Full to full policy for gas was not encouraged but perhaps I should have pressed for same.
8.6
April 23, 2017
Condition of the Car. The manner and attitude of the staff on Return of the car
The confusion over the eventual car type on collection. I stated clearly that I was not prepared to pay extra for the replacement RAV 4 vehicle I was given. It now appears that an extra payment unapproved by me might have been taken by your company! Hence a detailed copy of the final invoice is requested.
7.8
April 21, 2017
Loved car hubby wanted to ship it back to uk
8.0
RobinApril 15, 2017
Every thing apart from extortionate fuel charge
Over priced fuel charge when car returned
9.2
April 14, 2017
The car was a brand new car so we feel lucky
Nothing
9.0
WilliamApril 11, 2017
The ease of pick up and drop off. We were upgraded to a Hyundai Elantra and it went well with no hiccups and was very economical.
The locking system was a bit tricky.
8.4
PatrickApril 7, 2017
Very courteous and efficient staff.
The first car I got, A VW Jetta, I had to return after driving 40 miles because the lighter socket, the only one in the car, was not working and I needed it to power my cellphone and nav system.
9.2
April 1, 2017
Easy to pick up the car
The sat nav was not built in
8.4
March 31, 2017
George was very helpful, took his time to deal with me and gave me tips on driving
8.4
BenjaminMarch 29, 2017
Quick service on pickup. Friendly service. Car worked well + comfortable.
Alamo in San Francisco downtown only open until 4 pm - made giving the car back difficult
7.4
March 29, 2017
I had to pay extra 100 USD when I picked it up...
8.8
March 23, 2017
ewerything was like I expected
9.4
JeffreyMarch 22, 2017
Helpful staff at pickup, car spotless, lovely lady at Phx airport for drop off, great experience
8.8
March 21, 2017
Car could have been cleaner.
7.8
March 11, 2017
The entire process went smoothly, effectively, and the expense was as expected
8.2
March 5, 2017
I like the fact that Alamo cares about how I liked the car. I liked how I could choose the car I wanted at the airport. I liked that I could call and extend the days I rented the car. I liked that my husband could drive the car too no problem.
8.6
March 1, 2017
GREAT SERVICE
9.2
March 1, 2017
Counter staff suggested a different model for where we were taking the car given the snow conditions. While car was bigger than we needed it was all they had available when we changed to the upgraded v4WD vehicle.
Car was bigger than we needed
8.4
JackieFebruary 28, 2017
Close to hotel. Easy to book. Very friendly helpful staff, Joaquin gave us an upgrade. Made sure we were happy, checked if all was ok. Very good service. Easy to park the car when we returned. Very happy, we will definately be back.
8.8
ClaytonFebruary 28, 2017
Ease of pick up & friendly Staff
8.6
GlennFebruary 26, 2017
Great service and friendly staff. Car was ready on time and no problems. I liked the option of pre paying for the petrol meaning I didn't have to find a garage before returning the car.
9.0
ChetanFebruary 25, 2017
The ease of booking and the location of the rental is impeccable. Service is the best, perfect car, quick and efficient.
When I went to pick the car up, which was a standard SUV category. There were some Jeep branded vehicles and the staff told me to pick one of them. I was confused because they are not standard SUV at all. On the other side I saw the Santa Fe model which I had actually booked. When asked they were reluctant to get me that vehicle.
9.2
KhawarizmiFebruary 19, 2017
excess included amazing
8.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Alamo Rating
San Francisco
Excellent
8.325 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings