Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Alamo logo - rentalcars.com

Alamo Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on Alamo in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

LouiseJanuary 9, 2017
I was so impressed by the sheer ease of the whole process. I was actually dreading it but hats off, easiest bit of the holiday by far. gorgeous car, smooth process and fab staff. Loved the lady who showed us how to put the roof down. Was a very fair price too.
Nothing I didn't like
8.8
January 6, 2017
We got a brand new car that was in perfect condition. Staff were excellent at Alamo. Plenty of customer service staff at counters. All the other counters had lines.
8.2
January 4, 2017
I liked to rent a car from Alamo and it's partnership National.
I didn't like to drive a car which I didn't select.
8.2
January 4, 2017
Great service and good quality rental cars on offer
Choice of in-car wifi would be great to offer.
8.2
January 1, 2017
Very and helpful friendly staff. Particularly at the Bush Street depot where we dropped it off.
9.2
pohDecember 30, 2016
helpful staff who gave good suggestion for my upgrade though more costly than booking online.
7.2
RobertDecember 28, 2016
Unlimited Kilometres. GPS included
7.6
RuwanDecember 27, 2016
nothing to complaint everything was there as expected
9.4
December 25, 2016
No extra charge to drop car off at a different location. Helpful staff at Las Vegas when we noticed engine coolant was low after a few days. the manager also gave the car a clean. We got a brand new fiat 500x with built in gps.
Fluid levels not topped up and a parking light not working.
7.8
khaledDecember 23, 2016
The one who attended me was nice and helpful, and the car was clean and in a great condition
Can't complain about anything
8.6
TarekDecember 20, 2016
helpful & commitment
if price is less it will be better
6.6
DuncanDecember 19, 2016
Simplicity of pickup and the joy of a convertible top, plus the driving of a nice vehicle.
N/A
8.8
December 16, 2016
Car Hire drop off at SF Int airport very difficult to locate
9.0
December 8, 2016
Efficient automated check-in process
There was no one at the counter to ask if there is a question.
8.4
December 5, 2016
At 1st where some problem, but next day called customer service and (Vickie)fixed it.
7.0
November 29, 2016
Courtesy of staff
Nothing not to like
9.0
RunarNovember 25, 2016
The whole experience was very smooth, including online communications regarding upgrading the car and also picking up and dropping off the car.
When we dropped off the car at the San Francisco International Airport we were a little bit lost - there were no signs to guide us out of the area.
10.0
DavidNovember 23, 2016
A wide choice of cars in my category. Brilliant Mono-Rail access to/from airport. Rental car return very smooth.
9.4
joannaNovember 23, 2016
Very easy. Good location. Great staff
Nothing
8.0
MichaelNovember 14, 2016
Everything
The only one bad thing was that the girl who brought the car up just got out of the car and walked off not even staying to show me round the car. I had to request the coordinating staff give help and advice.
8.8
November 13, 2016
how many questions i had to answer on the screen during pickup
10.0
GrahamNovember 13, 2016
Pick up location was convenient. Staff were friendly.
Didn't like the make of car provided.
8.0
AlperNovember 12, 2016
Fast services at desk
Heavy cigarette smoking car..
8.8
DavidNovember 11, 2016
Ease of pick up , it was 2 minutes walk from hotel
We were not told and the in car GPS did not tell us the Alamo drop off was different to the other rental car drops at Portland Airport
8.6
MikaelNovember 10, 2016
Everything
Nothing
9.0
TimothyNovember 10, 2016
Everything was 1st class
Nothing
9.2
November 8, 2016
Helpful
GPS was set in German and difficult to change to English
7.6
PaulNovember 8, 2016
Car was new
Had specifically ordered a RAV4 but got a Jeep Compass
7.4
November 8, 2016
Fantastic service, very helpful staff at San Fran. Hired a GPS and it was up to date and efficient. Car was an eco car so very efficient on fuel. Possibly a bit smaller than what I expected but was fine all the same. Hired another car off a competing car company and would highly recommend Alamo over the other car company.
9.0
SimonNovember 6, 2016
Counter staff very helpful. Offered to see if they could provide a GT Mustang instead of the standard
9.0
YINNovember 5, 2016
easy to pickup and dropoff
not the same car ordered
6.2
NergitonNovember 5, 2016
Excelents services I liked
Nothing
8.6
PaulNovember 4, 2016
Check in and drop off was very quick and easy.
Ordered a Rav 4. Got a Jeep Patriot the load space is in no way similar to a Rav 4. The car was also in bad need of a wheel alignment.
7.0
IvanOctober 31, 2016
staff in san francisco where I pick the car up was very helpful to me, as I had no experiences with such type of the car. thank you!!!
9.0
October 29, 2016
Everything as expected
9.0
JamesOctober 28, 2016
Easy drop off
9.8
SergeyOctober 27, 2016
I liked the car condition and the ease and speed of dropping the car.
I didn't like the time to pick the car up. There was only one person on the counter for two companies: Alamo & National, for about 10 people when I came - got to wait about 30-35 minutes in a queue.
8.8
October 25, 2016
staff were friendly and helpful, drop off at LA was very simple and easy to find
the reception area looked dirty and in need of an upgrade.
8.2
October 25, 2016
Helpful staff
Utah plates and no seat height adjustment
7.6
FionaOctober 25, 2016
Warren at the pick up desk was very understanding of our needs and suggested a perfect car for our use
8.2
ToddOctober 24, 2016
I was given a choice of vehicles but got the one I desired
Nothing, the experience was quick and easy
9.4
October 20, 2016
The automated collection system was arduous, took 20 minutes to complete the menu and still concluded with a request to queue at the desk!
6.8
October 19, 2016
All good
All good
8.8
October 17, 2016
Have the car option that we want.
The counter staff was not very helpful to us being a first time car renter in US. He became a bit impatient after we asked many questions, and told him we don't need any more insurance. The pickup place is not very organized. We didn't know who was serving us and how to complete the pickup procedure. Again it could be due to we first time renting.
8.2
October 16, 2016
They reached out to me after one day of my 4-day rental, just to see if everything was OK.
The car I reserved was not available anymore – I was kind of late. So the only thing left in the same price range was a truck, not very convenient in the city.
9.0
JasonOctober 16, 2016
We booked a RAV4 (or equivalent), but when we went to collect the car, the lady saw our 4 luggages and said 'let me help you with your bags" and passed me a set of keys. We got an upgrade to a 2016 Ford Explorer, which was a great car. Loved every feature and made the long drives effortless and fun.
Car handn't been cleaned properly, the insides were quite grimy and the exterior looked like someone just took a hose to it and that's all. We had to use wet wipes on the car steering wheels, dash and seats at our next stop.
8.4
October 16, 2016
Great vehicle, in great condition, perfect for the four of us. Ease of return in Las Vegas.
Some pressure to buy extra insurance which we did not need. Leaving the vehicle and the USA !
9.2
JohnOctober 16, 2016
The fact that Alamo put both car keys on a wire that cannot be undone. This makes for an uncomfortable trouser pocket with both size and weight
7.6
JohnOctober 15, 2016
Free Roadside Assistance number was not accessible to my NZ mobile telephone. An alternative number (not necessarily free) should have been provided without asking. Information on how tolls were treated (for non locals) was lacking. It would be helpful to know that any tolls would be added automatically to the account without penalties.
7.4
JohnOctober 15, 2016
Courtesy and helpfulness of the counter staff
Nil
9.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Alamo Rating
San Francisco
Excellent
8.475 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings