Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Alamo logo - rentalcars.com

Alamo Reviews San Diego

Read 50 customer reviews on Alamo in San Diego and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

February 12, 2017
Very easy to use and quick and helpful
Happy with the whole process
8.8
BarbaraJanuary 11, 2017
I particularly liked that I wasn't required to take the car back after each month and start again.
I didn't like having to bring the car back after the first month because we were told to by member of staff at the outset. When we brought it back another member of staff told us we needn't have done it as we had booked for the whole time. However, now we know for next time. Maybe you could mention that all reception staff should know this.
8.2
AlisonJanuary 4, 2017
Great car - fitted 8 not 7 and worked really well for all of us. So glad we upgraded. Enjoyed all the mod cons - service was quick. Had to ask for an orientation on how to start the car and where things were but they were happy to oblige. Would use them again.
No snow tires or snow chains allowed but have since found that this is normal in the States as snow chains can cause alot of damage if incorrectly attached. Snow tires are very rare too. They gave us an upgrade to a Yukon which was a massive beast with all wheel drive, traction control and good tires. It turned out to be perfect for us.
8.4
December 31, 2016
Excellent customer service
None
8.6
December 18, 2016
The car rental center in San Diego rocks!
9.2
NicolaNovember 23, 2016
simply great
9.6
November 14, 2016
Excellent service, great car
9.2
October 22, 2016
The car
The windows were dirty with children fingers so. Couldn't see well
7.6
SimonOctober 21, 2016
I was very happy with the whole process and arrangements
9.0
StephenOctober 21, 2016
Car was clean and people were great
0
9.8
September 1, 2016
Excellent advice at desk - car requested would have been too small. Ease of pick up and drop off.
Was simply given keys with no directives on how car worked. Had to go back and ask for help regarding location of functions on car.
8.4
VincentAugust 15, 2016
Pleasant staff, easy straightforward pickup.
Car could have been washed a bit better.
7.6
July 19, 2016
Warning light came on during trip. Took car to Alamo at Ontario Airport. Car exchanged with no fuss
Nothing
8.6
May 24, 2016
Check in counter staff not fully aware of prepaid items. Had to remind them that our contract included a tank of petrol and sat nav.
8.6
PerMay 10, 2016
The entire end-to-end process was excellent. And we could even change the drop off to an Alamo downtown San Francisco location instead of using the San Francisco Intnl Airport drop off as originally requested. This saved a couple of hours for us and was much appreciated. Thank you for delivering super service ! Per
Nothing ! :-)
9.4
AliMay 9, 2016
Brands and pricess of the cars
The car wasn't clean..
8.6
JustinApril 26, 2016
Very Good service and easy. We even kept one of the rentals longer and it was not a problem.
7.8
April 3, 2016
Perfect!!!
8.8
March 28, 2016
Thanks for Alamo desk staff, they were very helpful.
The GPS wasn't functioning and I have to come back immediately to change it.
9.0
March 9, 2016
The return system was very efficient.
The time it took collect the car and the complex system of form filling. The hired GPS was rubbish. For example I could not enter Alamo's address! The voice was so distorted that I couldn't follow instructions!
6.8
February 9, 2016
new car so no problems
no
9.4
January 22, 2016
Easiness to drop off the car Helpfull staff
Consumption and low autonomy of the car
9.2
CarlosJanuary 4, 2016
Very good service and car
A bit high price
8.6
December 5, 2015
Both Matt the check in guy and the drop off guy were very friendly and helpful. First class service couldn't have asked for more.
Alamo at San Diego airport was far better experience than Phoenix airport.
8.6
BrianNovember 28, 2015
Staff were very helpful
7.8
November 24, 2015
good cond., new car model, easy rental process.
I left my glasses in the car, I told Alamo to get it back and send me email but I havent received their update yet.
9.0
ManishaOctober 18, 2015
Great customer service
Nothing
8.6
September 29, 2015
Everything about the service was Excellent
location of pick up/drop off bit difficult to locate
8.8
September 28, 2015
customer service Car quality Pickup drop off facility
Na
9.0
MohammedSeptember 20, 2015
New car Good customers service
The drop location was outside the airport. But I guess all the other car rental companies don't have inside parkings
8.0
RaduSeptember 4, 2015
Everything
GPS not updated
9.0
September 2, 2015
Alamo location in San Diego and Los Angeles is far away from airport.
7.2
JustinAugust 30, 2015
For the first time ever we got the exact make and model of car that we signed up for. Great.
It's a big car and it would have been good to have parking sensors on the model we had. Built in sat nav should also now be standard as cost of hiring that seemed disporportiante to cost of car rental.
8.6
FawazAugust 29, 2015
It was a brand new car
8.6
AlanAugust 24, 2015
Alamo representative was friendly and efficient. Cars were clean and new. We were given a choice from several vehicles. (We chose the Hyundai Sonata because of the amount of leg-room in the rear, and the trunk size.)
We were very happy with the whole hire process and condition of cars. Nothing to dislike.
9.0
PeterAugust 22, 2015
basic but comfortable,large boot for two cases
9.0
August 14, 2015
Promptly replaced stopping at Okland airport rent
Car was in need of tie manteinance
7.8
AdamAugust 13, 2015
Efficiency and friendliness of the staff was spot on! We felt very positive from the beginning.
9.4
August 12, 2015
The conditions and time duration for car return in downtown San Francisco; the organization is not optimized !
7.8
SarahAugust 10, 2015
Dropoff was amazingly quick and painless.
It seemed far from the airport.
8.2
AjayJuly 28, 2015
Technical Staff, very nice cooperative
Nothing to complain about
8.8
July 21, 2015
Staff in San Diego very helpful.
Sat nav, gave up on us and would not charge. Due to massive que was unable to complain to Alamo as had onward flight.
8.2
NitinJuly 6, 2015
You need to have some one to help visitors to fix accessories like car seat etc
We had to put car seat by our self which was tough task for us
8.4
StuartJuly 5, 2015
Very helpful staff at Mason Street Alamo, SF, when I wanted to drop the car off earlier than planned.
8.8
June 29, 2015
The car and the price.
rental location wasn't that close to the airport, shuttle was nice though.
8.8
MatejJune 26, 2015
Very quick check-in nad check-out, car in excellent condition - we loved it!
9.0
June 21, 2015
The fuel charge was expensive. They under estimated the amount of residual gas, and over priced the gas price.
8.6
DWIJune 18, 2015
I think Alamo is better than my car rental previous one. The officer was very kind and helpful.
Nothing.
8.6
June 15, 2015
Great service. The car we originally had selected smelled of cigarette smoke so they upgraded is for free!!
7.8
LeandroJune 14, 2015
Everything was perfect.
10.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Alamo Rating
San Diego
Superb
9.0 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings