Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Dollar logo - rentalcars.com

Dollar Reviews Los Angeles

Read 50 customer reviews on Dollar in Los Angeles and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

FranciscoDecember 4, 2017
The car was a bit old, 42 000 miles
7.4
December 4, 2017
I like Dollar and the pickup and drop off are easy.
I'm from California but I live in France. I have a CA drivers license but there was a little issue because I used the app when I was in France and at first they said i needed a french DL. To me this is ridiculous, but the situation was resolved.
9.0
December 4, 2017
counter service at Lax excellent and easy to access
drop off at san fran difficult to access
7.2
MARGARETDecember 2, 2017
No queues at the rental counter. Representative very helpful and passed on helpful information to help us on our journey.
Longer than normal wait for bus to take us to the off site car rental depot. Rental pick up car park was very dark ( although it was early evening) making it difficult to check the cars condition. A couple of little dents and scratches identified next morning in the day light. This however did not present an issue on return.
7.2
peterNovember 25, 2017
Friendly counter staff
No vehicle available had to wait 30 minutes to find vehicle.
8.6
November 15, 2017
Quick drop off
Tried to downgrade me Car is not powerful enough vs size
6.6
gisleNovember 14, 2017
Good service
Small car
8.2
November 14, 2017
We got the car that we booked.
Interior can be cleaner.
6.4
November 13, 2017
Clean and Good Car
Had to pay extra for higway tolls.
8.0
November 7, 2017
Speed
Had to pay more for an upgrade as my car wasn't ready GPS was faulty
5.8
November 6, 2017
Excellent
Excellent
9.6
JamesNovember 6, 2017
Not enough cars having to wait along with others in line standing in sun.
6.4
November 6, 2017
Cars are not is the best condition
4.8
TroyNovember 4, 2017
I got to choose my car from about 8 in the compact class of vehicle.
No complaints
8.0
GlennNovember 2, 2017
Great service and great cars!
Nil
9.0
November 2, 2017
staffs are very helpful and friendly. processing was also efficient.
9.2
October 30, 2017
The Kia Sportage supplied was almost new, clean and pick up was very easy. We were very happy with it
You need to be very careful that extras that you don’t want are added to your bill at the rental desk at pick up of the vehicle
9.0
October 30, 2017
Nothing to say negative
7.2
October 27, 2017
Price
Got info check charging system and maintenance required soon infos on the screen
6.6
October 27, 2017
Drop off to long. Drive to LAX terminal 2 took forever because of the extremely slow shuttle buss driving. Incredible slow driving as if done intentionally.
6.4
StevenOctober 23, 2017
Very easy to hire
Not clear where the dollar return is at treasure island
8.4
CHUKWUEMEKAOctober 21, 2017
Easy
No comment
9.0
KieronOctober 13, 2017
No vehicles of the size we had booked were available upon arrival. We had to wait in a line for one to be valeted. On returning the rental car, the shuttle bus driver dropped all the passengers at the arrivals area of the terminals, not departures!
7.4
GregOctober 13, 2017
The car and the service were both excellent Thanks Greg J Australia
Car wasn,t real clean when we picked it up and it didn,t come with a spare wheel ,
8.4
BrentOctober 12, 2017
Nice car. No problems.
5.2
October 11, 2017
There were no compacts available, so I was given a slightly larger car.
The pick-up is a long way from the airport, but the shuttle buses were frequent.
6.4
October 2, 2017
The only thing. That we whait for the car long time. Out side. In the sun. And there noe sits
The the car wasn't ready
8.2
October 2, 2017
The suthle service to the airport left us at arrivals in thr wrong terminal
8.0
October 1, 2017
Easy Fast Clean
Nothing
8.0
MichaelOctober 1, 2017
Overall price of rental
Long time in line, to wait for one of 2 Dollar agents behind desk. Approximately 40 people waiting also.
7.0
September 30, 2017
I got problem with tired and Dollars tell me I need to change the car for safety reason. I love how they try to let me change at the nearest counter even they don't have. They offer the new car from Herz counter from the nearest location for me. Love!
Nothing
7.2
PaulSeptember 28, 2017
The customer agent was very friendly and helpful.
The car did not have working power outlets which meant that my GPS did not work. I exchanged the car at another Dollar outlet. This was undertaken in a very professional manner with an exchange car. I did not like the flat rate for tolls - normally when I rent a car, the tolls actually used are billed later with a small admin fee.
9.0
PAULSeptember 27, 2017
Was easy this time - didnt have to wait inline at all. Choice f car was ok.
They didn't seem interested in existing damage that I pointed out prior to taking the vehicle. This just made me wonder whether they would claim I had damaged it during the hire and try and make a claim for repairs.
8.2
AbdullahSeptember 26, 2017
I am very pleased .. I have no complain..
None
7.4
RobertSeptember 26, 2017
Have rented from Dollar on many past occasions and will continue to do so.
8.8
DEANSeptember 25, 2017
Staff were friendly
Nothing
8.8
AldrinSeptember 25, 2017
Our first time experience renting car.and Im a fan
9.0
GregSeptember 23, 2017
The vehicle fitted in what we needed to.
The roadside assistance and upgrade blew out the costs.The GPS was the most confusing we have ever used and waits too long to give finite instructions.
6.6
DonaldSeptember 23, 2017
The shuttle from the airport to the rental company was very regular and helpful
The impersonal nature of the rental company. We felt we were troublesome and were not treated with kindness nor attention
5.8
September 19, 2017
Car was clean and had many additional features
Queue for counter was slow moving and many of desks for helping customers were not occupied.
7.0
September 19, 2017
staff were easy-going. cars are in good conditions.
although cars were quite clean, there are hidden spots that has rubbish that are uncleared. time took to receive a car at LAX was quite long. also, we ended up paying for unlimited plate pass since the staff sort of told us how it was important at certain places (San Francisco) but was not exactly sure which are the highways/freeways were included
6.6
AntonSeptember 18, 2017
How the depot was not far from the airport
Vehicle did not have a GPS and only had one USB port
7.8
NicholasSeptember 13, 2017
very happy with the car. easy to collect at the dollar depot.
nothing.
8.8
AngelaSeptember 12, 2017
The car was quite new (3010 miles)and roomy for a mid-size.
Despite being a mid-size, it lacked the power of previous hire cars of this category, especially on inclines in the high Sierra. As the pick up was off-airport, it would have been helpful to have return directions as there were no address details on the hire contract.
8.2
September 12, 2017
The car was fit for purpose. That purpose being to travel a relatively long distance from LA to San Fran.
I believe I may have been charged twice for part of the insurance coverage as I had purchased some through Rentalcars.com partner, but was advised this wasn't valid via the actual car rental company Dollar. I will investigate this further.
6.4
ReneSeptember 10, 2017
Size of car an price, unbeatable
7.8
September 10, 2017
Very easy from booking to picking up car. Cheapest price also.
8.8
BERNARDOSeptember 9, 2017
More choices like Pick Up, or Van
The ratio upgrade but consumition avg milage
7.0
September 8, 2017
GPS system was great Good value and comprehensive insurance meant no worries
Road noise was quite loud Car was high mileage for a rental and there were quite a few marks
7.2
September 3, 2017
Excellent drop-off system.
GPS wasn't fully up to date and several times we couldn't get it to find locations. One occasion it took us on a dead-end dirt track in the middle of the forest.
7.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Dollar Rating
Los Angeles
Very good
7.2 / 10
10000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations