Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Auckland

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Auckland and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

TerenceJune 6, 2017
Nothing to dislike
9.0
SaulJune 5, 2017
The upgrade
No one took us to our car
7.8
May 29, 2017
Car smelt strongly of cleaning fluid. Perhaps someone had been smoking in it.
6.6
WendyMay 28, 2017
Friendly staff & clean & maintained car, convenience of terminal pick up!
Bit expensive
7.4
IvanMay 19, 2017
Every thing was great
Nothing
9.0
May 18, 2017
The ease of pick up and drop off and the car was in good condition
Nothing to complain about
6.2
DavidMay 15, 2017
Ease and efficiently of the whole process.
9.0
SusanMay 7, 2017
Helpful friendly staff
N/a
8.2
MargotMay 7, 2017
Ease of booking online. Ease of collection and drop off.
7.4
NoelMay 5, 2017
Friendliness of the staff,and clean car.
The heavy rain getting to the car. Haha!! Just joshing!!
9.6
PeterMay 4, 2017
Staff were helpful, straightforward and not pushy like at other car hire places.
8.4
May 4, 2017
Easy to use service
Car had chips on it, was concerned we would be held to account for these when already there. But no problems when car left at Napier.
7.6
May 3, 2017
Very good
Nothing
8.2
GeorgeMay 3, 2017
Fastest issuing of a car I've ever had.
9.4
KevinApril 30, 2017
Ease of overall process.
Boot opener on the key didn't work.
9.0
JohnApril 29, 2017
with New Zealands narrow roads the only problem I had was at nights and the lights needed a bit wider set. In saying this the rest of our experience was fantastic ,Thanks keep up the good work,
9.2
AlastairApril 26, 2017
Chocolate wrapping in passengers door pocket. Front windshield wiper washer spray did not work. Sticky substance on passengers head rest.
8.4
christopherApril 26, 2017
Vehicle supplied was in good order and clean, however smaller than requested
Vehicle supplied was a Holden Captiva which is smaller than the vehicle requested. Although still a 7 seater it is smaller inside and with 4 adults , suit cases and golf clubs it was a very uncomfortable trip to the accommodation
8.0
April 26, 2017
Thought the Barina would not be as powerful as a Toyota Yaris, but it was great, very new, few k's.
8.2
SusanApril 26, 2017
The inside of the windscreen and the outside of the car was not clean. Car was vacuumed only and had a lot of scratches for a 4 month old car.
8.0
April 25, 2017
thrifty generally has new cars in service.
There was only one front desk representative with a long line of customers waiting to pick up cars. Not the experience I expect after a long flight.
7.8
April 24, 2017
Good car at a good price, friendly staff, all went very smoothly
car had a dent (mentioned at the time of pick-up), which always causes stress e.g. is the rental company aware of the full extent of the damage notified, and will I be made responsible for any of it, etc.
8.0
andrewApril 24, 2017
the thriffy company did a good job i was happy with the price and the car. thanks.
just 1 thing was broken with the let window but over all was fine.
9.0
April 23, 2017
GPS would have been handy
9.2
SeanApril 21, 2017
Great service. Your staff member was excellent.
9.8
April 19, 2017
Vehicle was noticeably damaged- paint scrapes which were not recorded. Desk person advised that they don't worry unless it is a dent! Nothing heard to date so guess that is the case.
9.0
WilliamApril 17, 2017
Surprised to get an upgrade! I did not notice that I had booked it from the International terminal so they delivered it very quickly to the domestic terminal
Nothing
8.6
April 17, 2017
Efficient service, good car.
7.6
April 17, 2017
Quick & helpful service
8.0
April 17, 2017
Fantastic, friendly customer service--very helpful. Great price.
The car (Trax) was bigger than I thought a compact would be. The kids in the back under 10 couldn't see out the window because they were too short (not an issue in a smaller compact car).
8.6
April 15, 2017
Ordered a Corolla or similar - got allocated a Ssangyong Tivoli - a very disappointing replacement that I will not accept again in future.
7.8
GrantApril 10, 2017
Apart from see opposite all was excellent. Car, condition & drop off procedure all excellent. Special mention of the friendly & helpful drop off man!
Because I didn't give an exact pickup time & we were late, we were regarded as a non-show.This together with staff not particularly helpful was not a pleasant experience!
6.8
April 6, 2017
We accidentally left some personal items in vehicle when we dropped it off. Staff were most helpful in assisting us getting it back before our flight. Fantastic service.
Explanation of charges on the website is a little confusing.
8.8
April 6, 2017
The GPS batterie was out of order and we need to be plug to use it
8.2
LianneApril 3, 2017
The smell of man made fragrance was very strong.
9.4
April 2, 2017
Cheap brand of car. Sangyong. Not very good performance on open road. Controls on opposite sides to all cars we have owned and rented in the past.
7.6
March 25, 2017
Ease and convenience,
9.4
MarkMarch 24, 2017
I am a thrifty member in Australia and the service has always been excellent.
Car was late and not clean.
5.6
March 11, 2017
Everything went to plan
7.4
March 6, 2017
Top quality cars
9.0
March 6, 2017
The upgrade. Ease of locating desk and pick up point.
Cleanliness of the car and hence delay in getting the car as I had to wait while car recleaned after my complaint
7.0
March 6, 2017
No Thrifty space to return car. Had to leave in another company.
9.0
March 5, 2017
Desk and collection of car was within Airport
nothing. All good.
9.2
March 4, 2017
Friendly and helpful advice from the local staff who took the trouble to introduce us to travel agency to book ferries.
No negative comments.
8.6
March 4, 2017
Our second car, from Picton was great.
Drop off while easy, feels a little incomplete. We just handed over keys - no check no advice on where the car was. It was a little disconcerting. The Auckland car took a long time to be ready and the service was pretty laissez-faire
7.6
JohnMarch 3, 2017
Helpful staff. Ease of finding counter and car. Easy drop off. Rental car in good condition and exactly as asked for.
Nothing
9.4
March 2, 2017
Easy to get the car
No transfer upon dropping the car
8.0
March 2, 2017
Thrifty Staff in Picton - excellent
Thrifty counter in AKL with two staff and many customers. One staff left and never returned leaving only one staff member alone to handle. Car drop in Wellington Ferry terminal chaotic to say the least.
7.2
February 28, 2017
I got what I booked
The car was dirty
8.8
February 28, 2017
I booked the car from Australia and was told on arrival at Auckland that I needed to walk to Do estimate terminal. My group all walked only to be told that the International staff should have supplied the car. The attendant at the domestic terminal supplied the car and we were on our way.
6.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Auckland
Excellent
8.36667 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations