Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Reykjavik

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Reykjavik and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

JohnMay 17, 2017
We had a new car, we got a lift back to our accommodation in the courtesy minibus. Quick efficient process. Nice staff.
8.4
MartinMay 13, 2017
Nice straff, good service.
Unfortunately there was a problem with the computers when we picked up the car. That's why it took some extra time. No ones fault, of course, and the staff did their best of the situation.
7.8
JohnMay 13, 2017
Friendly helpful staff when collecting car. Fuel discount card.
After dropping car off at Keflavik airport had a 15 minute wait outside in very cold windy conditions for shuttle bus to airport building. No bus arrived and then told it was less than 5 minutes to walk there! Somewhat annoying to say the least and about a dozen other people thought the same.
7.8
April 25, 2017
I did want to make some changes during the weekend,and was not happy with that the desk on duty could not make a decision without connecting his boss.He had gone home for the weekend,and I didnt get any response.
8.6
April 20, 2017
I booked at the Reykjavik Domestic airport instead of KEF Intl airport. Thrifty staff were able to transfer my reservation and made our experience so much better. Will certainly book with Thrifty again. Excellent service.
6.8
April 19, 2017
Was worried we would be charged for some small, irrelevant thing, as I had read stories of that happening. In the end, the process was smooth and fair.
The assistant at the beginning wasn't overly helpful/knowledgeable about what insurance we may need, but it wasn't a big deal.
8.6
ChristopherFebruary 23, 2017
We were late getting to our collection point, but easily found desk with phone to contact Thrifty. They came straight to get us. Car was brand new and immaculate. Came with helpful tips and map of petrol stations. Free coffee available at petrol stations. Staff really helpful. Easy to drop off in return as opened at 7am. Free return shuttle bus
Nil
8.6
KennethJanuary 30, 2017
Very economical.
It was a little small with our family and luggage.
6.6
EliranJanuary 12, 2017
Everything in general.
Nothing.
8.8
November 16, 2016
Sometimes navigation didn't find address which I put into.
7.4
SamanthaNovember 14, 2016
The staff were so friendly, particularly the guy we picked the car up from (so sorry, can't remember his name). Perfect first welcome to the country! The car was exactly as ordered and was very clean. Once we got to the place the whole process was very quick and easy both picking up and dropping off.
The courtesy bus could have been better signposted both in the airport and on the instructions given. It's actually really easy to find once you know where to go!
8.8
NICHOLASSeptember 26, 2016
I like the no-frills approach to getting the car, it was very easy, clear and prior conditions of the car have already been pointed out to me along with documentary proof for my keepsake. Staff was quick to attend without issue.
Clear signs from airport departure to car rental area should be made more prominent. There were others who were not sure where to board the shuttle bus to the car rental desk.
7.4
September 19, 2016
All car rental groups are within walking distance of the curb (taking the rental bus is not necessary).
When we had an issue of the car, we didn't have a means (nor direction from the firm) of how to get it addressed.
6.0
September 10, 2016
Registration and returning process done very quickly.
No effort from the staff at the counter to explain briefly on the terms and driving ruling in Iceland.
8.0
JacekAugust 3, 2016
Pick up from a hotel. The staff was very helpful. The car was in very good condition (Mazda 3).
8.0
JimJune 25, 2016
Online booking made the process easy and quick, with access to a wide range of vehicles. Access to all of the major rental companies enabled me to choose the right vehicle at the right price.
7.6
June 22, 2016
Very nice car! Really good to drive and was worth the money.
The car was not clean when we got it... Smelled of beer! Not fun when you spend a couple of thousands to rent a car and it smells...
6.6
peteApril 19, 2016
Pretty much everything
You had run out of free coffee when we collected the car and you had also run out when we took it back 4 days later.
7.2
BogdanApril 15, 2016
Thrifty was awesome and so was the staff!!!
Nothing.
9.4
March 25, 2016
good value. car in good condition
location rental co. was not the easiest to get to
9.4
March 19, 2016
Value for money, very Efficient and right at the airport
9.0
AthanasiosMarch 5, 2016
The upgrade!!
Nothing
7.8
HelenJanuary 8, 2016
Helpful staff Free tea/coffee and Wifi
Paying extra for GPS
8.6
SophieDecember 16, 2015
Car was good, we got a Mazda Cx-3 (or 6) There was some small damage on the front bumper which was noted before we accepted the car, so no trouble on return. Staff were great, drove us to our guesthouse 5 mins down the road after returning the car. The rental office is directly across from the airport, we walked there
8.4
PETERNovember 24, 2015
Car good despite not being model ordered
Ordered manual but given automatic
8.2
PaulNovember 17, 2015
Staff were fantastic and friendly . Car was exactly what I asked for and was in perfect condition.
9.4
November 10, 2015
Excellent car, service and the ease of adding another drive, aged twenty. Nothing was too much trouble
Filling the car at the end of the hire, not the rental company's fault. I should have asked for more detail when the rep said something like "the filling station is over there".
9.2
GeoffreyOctober 3, 2015
The Maxda CX5 AWD was simply superb. It was comfortable and fuel efficient. The GPS was brilliant. I loved this car and driving in Iceland
Nothing, everything was perfect.
8.8
MichaelSeptember 13, 2015
Reykjavik staff was awesome
9.0
July 28, 2015
Booked car with manual gear but when arrived only car with automatic gear was available.
7.8
July 2, 2015
Nice car - Ford cougar titanium
windows dirty, interior dirty and floor wet at pick-up.
5.8
June 27, 2015
Willingness to accommodate my questions as I was not familiar with the car provided.
Had to ask Avis counter how to find the Thrifty representative.
7.4
June 15, 2015
The car had some dents and scratches on the body, though those were all marked in the contract. At the time of pick up, the car was just from the cleaning, though still had a layer of dust on the dash board
6.2
EamonnMay 30, 2015
Pleasant staff and very helpful Car was what we booked and brand new! Overall excellent from ease of booking to return of car..
Filling up with fuel!
8.4
May 25, 2015
Good, clean car. Process smooth enough.
No advice given on car controls (or anything, really) - one I had not driven before. Took time to find the lights - must be on at all times in Iceland.
7.2
April 28, 2015
Getting the best offer from rentalcars.com and not having to surf for best prices.
When we arrived it wasn't clear who we should contact in the arrival hall because there was nobody there and our plane was delayed. So we were confused.
8.0
April 4, 2015
Being collected directly from arrivals
Being faced with large range of extra insurance at pickup. Working out where to leave the car at dropoff.
8.4
March 29, 2015
Excellent car.
We had to get the help of someone local to ring and tell them we had arrived.
7.4
MineshMarch 20, 2015
Service was efficient and quick
7.6
StephenMarch 16, 2015
Service & car quality
8.6
March 15, 2015
The car was reliable,well equipped and coped well with the poor weather conditions. Aside from the short distance away ( see opposite comments ) no hassle dropping it off - just posted the keys.
Representative was not there waiting when we arrived at airport. I had to call the office. They arrived within 10 mins after that. Dropping the car off outside office hours meant no car to take us to the airport. Even though the walk was not far, the weather was very bad. It would have been impossible with the luggage, so I had to drop my father at the airport first and then walk on my own. Unable to leave the car at the airport car park. No time taken to go over the car's controls - which I have always had with previous car hire e.g lights, heating etc...
7.0
ChristopherMarch 6, 2015
Great all-round service.
9.4
March 2, 2015
Car worked faultless all week and the winter tyres were excellent in the snow and ice in Iceland!
Nothing.
9.0
IngólfurMarch 2, 2015
Cleaness of the front screen, inside.
7.2
March 2, 2015
Ok I know it says similar but the car the brought me had a flat tyre they hadn't noticed so ended up with a large estate that I'm not used to But in the end came away ok
7.2
February 28, 2015
It would have helped if the staff had spent sometime talking through the car i.e. keyless start. They were 15-20 mins late to the airport to pick up.
7.0
February 11, 2015
efficient and pleasant and easy transaction
staff are efficient and helpful but all very young and non personable they need to work on their welcoming skills a little!
8.4
February 7, 2015
Good and friendly service
9.4
ErnestoFebruary 6, 2015
Very good service. Excellent car and good value for money.
That the office is not in the airport. But not a problem as the shuttle service was very effctive.
8.0
CarmelFebruary 5, 2015
Helpful staff. No pressure to buy add ons. The car was perfect for the conditions.
9.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Reykjavik
Excellent
8.025 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings