Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo -

Thrifty Reviews Budapest

Read customer reviews on Thrifty in Budapest and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by


PaulFebruary 21, 2018
good service great little car
January 16, 2018
Car was very good condition.
Staff at counter trying to sell additional things.
September 26, 2017
The car did not have cruise control
September 26, 2017
Proper services, administration.
All was ok.
September 18, 2017
some more guidance where to find the car...
January 5, 2017
Reasonable price, reasonable quality
October 29, 2016
Got an upgrade, very good location near a gas station (easy to fill gas on return), very cheap.
Returning the car at night took some time
October 9, 2016
Easy access, polite staff, very good service.
September 23, 2016
they don't have any desk at the airport and difficult to locate their representative
ViktorSeptember 14, 2016
Speed and efficiency of service, friendly and helpful staff.
September 5, 2016
Condition of car and friendliness of staff
Time it took to collect
August 16, 2016
It was excellent!
ArpadAugust 14, 2016
Staff very helpful, working quick and promptly.
was offered another car as did not had the car i chose
July 29, 2016
There was no one there to pick us up when we arrived at the airport which created a bit of insecurity since the booking said there would be. Maybe you should write, 'go to x location and wait for your pick up which will arrive within 10 minutes if not already there'.
RobertJuly 25, 2016
Very pleased and happy with the car and thrifty top marks.
May 28, 2016
Nice upgrade
No mention or advice regarding toll roads Larger car so not as fuel efficient
May 27, 2016
Lovely car. Economical and easy to drive
May 17, 2016
Friendly & helpful staff , very clean car .
Pleased overall .
nicholasMay 5, 2016
MichaelApril 28, 2016
March 28, 2016
The waiting time in the shuttle after dropping off the car
December 29, 2015
On the booking confirmation it clearly said you drop the car off at the airport where a representative will meet you. Well, it's not the case, you have to drop the car off at the office which could make you miss your flight if you go to the airport first!!! Please make it clear where you drop the car off, give address etc.
November 10, 2015
Friendly staff, quick service. I would recommend it.
Petrol tank was not full when they gave me the car- it was hard to refill the quantity I used during the day.
ReyyanSeptember 21, 2015
The approach was very nice employees
I pay attention to in my previous websites without having to pay extra money, GPS is more than the daily money, GPS didn't show some of the streets in Budapest
August 26, 2015
Waiting time by arrival unprofessional unfriendly . Long waiting time to transport to the office
MOUNIRAugust 16, 2015
It was a brand new Toyota verseau excellent condition big spacey , powerful and economic with cool Aircondition !
They charged me 60€ extra prepaid paytoll ? And they kept 600€ safety deposit on my credit card?
CeciliaAugust 14, 2015
The courteous, efficient, friendly and helpful staff. The upgrade was good; the pick up and drop off was quick and efficient. I was able to reach the company on the phone and they were helpful in answering my questions.
The only complaint is that there was no handle on the passenger side next to the driver's seat which would have been helpful for my elderly father.
July 29, 2015
We paid for a GPS and there was no GPS in the car!!!!
July 1, 2015
not in the terminal
LaszloMarch 31, 2015
Great service
March 17, 2015
Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially since I was not from Budapest.
I was not aware Thrifty was not located in the airport. My flight was late coming in and I didn't know someone would be waiting for me. Thankfully after I called a rep came with a shuttle in less than 5 minutes (no complaints there). I got an 'upgrade' I suppose, to a 4 door car but I would have appreciated if I was asked if that was suitable. I had booked a 2 door car for a reason so I was surprised when the car pulled up and it was something else. I've rented vehicles before so I understood the protocal but for anyone who has never done it before, it may have been confusing because nothing was explained (i.e. deposit, accidents, insurance, etc).
RobertJanuary 25, 2015
The service I got fromThrifty was just perfect. I would recommend it to all of my friends.
The car Opel Corsa was a bit of disappointmrnt for me. It is not so economic as I was expecting and tge seat is unconfortable. Next time I'll choose different type of car.
December 29, 2014
Getting a substantial upgrade on the car rented and the simple, quick drop off.
The difficulty of meeting up with the rental staff and getting to the rental location.
AntonioAugust 23, 2014
The staff are friendly and helpful. They did not have my car that I want (automatic) but they tried to find out when I could get it (I have not got my refund yet). The service is good.
The address in Budapest is hard to find in the GPS, it is not listed. I have to find the adjacent street to get there.
August 23, 2014
friendly ,high standard
Not applicable
June 7, 2014
June 4, 2014
Value for money, fairness, efficiency, helpful and polite service, the company sent a driver to pick me up from a nearby location at no extra cost. No hassle whatsoever in either collecting or returning the car. The vehicle was in excellent condition and did not consume much fuel.
The location off-airport makes it uncomfortable, especially in dropping the car. The fuel policy was a bit unusual: not full-full, but return it with the same amount of gas (3/4 in my case), highway sticker was not included and had to be purchased separately.
May 27, 2014
Satisfied with the car, performed well.
Office was to open at 8:00 AM but staff didn't show up till 8:30, no apology or explanation. One emplyee who did not work in the office was very helpful, spoke better English than office staff, was there on time. I believe his name was Gabor.
May 13, 2014
All fine - except drop off in Budapest downtown
Drop off at Budapest downtown is not convenient at all. Had to make several phone calls to find the staff at the correct but seemingly abandoned address.
May 9, 2014
the position of the drop off office.
the late of the staff at the arrival in airport
KeirsmaekersApril 25, 2014
The friendly staff
April 14, 2014
Offsite rental location
KRISApril 10, 2014
New, clean car. Cheap. Exellent service!!
BengtMarch 15, 2014
Snabb service ingen väntetid
March 9, 2014
Suzuki swift was a delight to drive and very economic in fuel
February 4, 2014
We were very satisfied, this was the best car-rental service we ever had. An assistant was waiting for us with a board with our name on, when we arrived to Budapest airport, got a personal transfer to the rental office (5 mins by car from the airport). The car was great, exactly what we expected. Great, polite, very fast service, no misunderstandings, no surprise of extra fee. When we returned the car, they brought us back to the airport without any delay. We will definitely rent from Thrifty by again.
January 31, 2014
drop off and shuttle service from Thrifty office to airport. GPS was ready as requested.
Had to wait 30 mins while my car was with there but with the wrong name. The car key tag was not saying if it was diezel or gasoline. I had to read the car registration to know. Also nothing shown on the gas tank.
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission

Nearby Locations


What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.