Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Southampton

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Southampton and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

October 4, 2017
Quick service
Take out spare tyre and tools so you need to have the AA service help you
7.4
September 26, 2017
Overall experience
Very little
8.8
TIANJUNSeptember 8, 2017
very good very good
10.2
SharonAugust 30, 2017
A very positive and memorable experience.
The phrase "Downtown" was rather ambiguous, leading me to believe Avis was in Southampton town.
9.2
JamieAugust 29, 2017
The Air Conditioning did not work well in that car.
Monday drop off day and pick up new car day was a bank holiday and the office was closed, I had to go to airport.
6.2
July 31, 2017
Easy to book and helpful staff
Car although clean was on paperwork black IS metallic blue and the flue was only 3/4 full when i said about it to collection team the reply was computer error
8.6
July 25, 2017
Excellent service, particularly from helpful and professional staff, each and everyone one of them.
Nothing special
8.2
DerekJuly 17, 2017
Good service and helpful staff.
Nothing to dislike.
8.4
July 13, 2017
The service guys were great. Really pleasant, despite the IT systems not working so well.
8.0
ColinMarch 11, 2017
Staff were all friendly
9.0
January 22, 2017
Staff at counter was very helpful.
Walked right past the rental desk area without knowing. Once you know it's pretty clear otherwise can be easily missed. Walked right down to where the cars were parked thinking the office was there too.
8.4
November 20, 2016
Easy collecting and dropping off
Walk to ollect csr
9.4
KarenSeptember 19, 2016
Very close to airport
The price was a little high and there were no staff when I dropped the car off so no one to check the vehicle and I had to ask airport staff about where to put the keys
4.8
August 21, 2016
Everything from booking the car online, picking up and returning the car were really easy. I was really impressed and happy with the car.
9.8
July 25, 2016
Nice new Skoda Octavia. Friendly desk staff.
9.0
MichaelJuly 17, 2016
the vehicle was very clean.
unable to get sat/nav to work and not told how to use it.not very unhappy about it.
9.2
June 26, 2016
Clean car
nightmare trying to find petrol station to top up fuel before leaving car back..
9.0
May 29, 2016
luggage space
head space
6.6
May 17, 2016
The attitude of the Avis staff both collecting and dropping off was excellent
Nothing
9.2
April 26, 2016
When returning car to Avis there was nobody in the Avis return car park to receive us. This concerned me as I left the car in top condition but there was no one there to sign the car off. EG what if the car got damaged after I left the car off and before being checked by Avis staff
8.8
HelenApril 24, 2016
Value for money
Length of time had to wait to collect the car was way too long - no real apology made for any delay - was told it was due to increased rentals because of cruise ships - surely this could have been assessed in advance and extra personnel on hand to deal with those picking up vehicles
7.2
March 21, 2016
Excellent friendly service at reception, wonderful car. Easy to locate and drive.
My usual - no 'briefing 'on the car. eg I couldt open the boot. An attendant did it for me but didn't explain how it worked so I had the same problem tryng to open it and retrieve my case. up. I couldn't open the petrol cap and it took an attendant at the petrol station and the handbook to locate an inside switc No one at reception to return.
9.4
GeoffreyJanuary 22, 2016
It was my first experience of this model, as a personal preference I like the fiat 500 which I have rented before from other companies.
The only thing I was not so happy with was the brakes which were either on or off with no happy medium.
9.4
MichaelJanuary 4, 2016
The price and the ease of the hire, also friendliness & helpful staff.
9.0
SaraDecember 16, 2015
Claire who dealt with my booking at the car pick up point was so lovely and helpful, very chatty and pleasant a real asset to AVIS group. She was very professional and efficient, helpful I cant praise her enough. She really does an excellent job AVIS are very lucky to have her.
9.8
MichaelNovember 2, 2015
Very efficient service all round.
9.0
PaulAugust 31, 2015
Very happy and will be happy to go back
9.2
July 7, 2015
Easy to drop car off
Would be useful if someone gave you an overview of the car and what all the control buttons are for. Never did find the auxiliary plug for the music system. Also Avis had no record of me taking out the extra insurance and even though it showed on my booking form they still insisted on taking a credit card deposit
7.8
May 29, 2015
Good little car - Peugot 208 diesel
8.4
JohnMay 29, 2015
Very pleased. No problems
Everything was fine
8.8
April 25, 2015
automatic cars were very expensive.
7.2
PaulMarch 24, 2015
Everything was good. In the end it depends on price. I will definitely use Avis, not least because insurance deal was good, but I will look around to get best deal.
nothing.
9.4
January 20, 2015
Your representative Charlotte was particularly helpful and friendly. It was Charlotte who made our contact with your company so pleasurable.
8.4
January 14, 2015
Petrol tank wasn't quite completely full. Disappointing.
8.0
December 20, 2014
Service and ease of obtaining car. Great customer service at desk.
Nothing really, but it would be great to have a lesser amount for insurance costs i.e. bringing the excess down to zero. That would be a major selling point.
9.2
CharlesDecember 11, 2014
The lady at reception was very helpful
The long walk to the car with our bags
7.4
December 5, 2014
Desk service good.
I book a golf style car. For ease of driving and reliability . I got a Vauxhall Mokka which was a horrible drive. The Avis attendant couldn't be bother to show me any information. Like dipping the clutch to get it started. Where the lights were as it was dark. Very poor experience . Would never hire this car again.
8.6
December 1, 2014
Excellent service at the counter in Southampton - my compliments to Lauren, who served me (and I hope she is feeling better!)
I am not convinced at the efficiency of the SatNav which definitely took me on a very circuitous route to the M4. Otherwise, no complaints.
9.0
RafaelNovember 4, 2014
I like the service and the upgrade option.
10.0
October 20, 2014
The desk staff were very pleasant
Had ordered a 5 dr car and initially was given a 3 dr car, telephone number on form was unobtainable so had to go back to desk with my family in order to ask for the 5 dr car
6.888888888888889
October 6, 2014
The car rental office, car collection point and return are so convenient in Southampton airport. Everything just flows effortlessly.
10.0
DavidOctober 6, 2014
Overall a good experience so thanks.
The car was not full. It was too late for me to point out that the tank was not full so this was disappointing.
8.444444444444445
October 2, 2014
Exceptional value Friendly, helpful and efficient service at the rental desk from Charlotte.
Rental desk is not well marked coming out of the terminal. Wandered the car park for a while till I found it!!!!!
9.333333333333334
September 30, 2014
Performances of the car, but this depends on the type of car, so what it concerns just the rentals, i think it was perfect!It's not that i didn't like, it's just a comment.
8.222222222222221
September 4, 2014
Trying to find the car
9.11111111111111
August 14, 2014
Ease and convenience of collecting car
Oil light came on. Small things like this should have been checked before I collected the car.
8.222222222222221
NanAugust 14, 2014
Difficulty in opening boot of car. Staff member ar pick up was very perfunctory when I could not open the boot. The boot continued to be a problem over 2 days hire. Same chap on return just as dismissive as on first day. Not good advert for Avis
8.444444444444445
August 12, 2014
The vehicle had scratches down the sides
6.444444444444445
July 28, 2014
The car return was very quick and efficient. Very important.
The drop off point still left quite a distance to walk to the airport.
7.777777777777778
AelredJuly 26, 2014
Car was clean and in good condition. Availability of sat-nav hire was very useful.
Nothing.
9.777777777777779
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Avis Rating
Southampton
Excellent
8.2 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings