Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Firefly logo - rentalcars.com

Firefly Reviews Newcastle Upon Tyne

Read 50 customer reviews on Firefly in Newcastle Upon Tyne and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

December 1, 2016
Facility was walking distance from station. Quick pick up
Location of office could be nearer the station and is in a secondary isolated area
8.0
November 9, 2016
Everything was very straightforward
Nothing
9.2
October 14, 2016
Danny..........he was very friendly but professional
Just putting the keys into a metal letter box, and no one to check the car over when I brought it back in at 8.00pm
8.8
JohnOctober 7, 2016
Same excellent staff at Avis
8.4
September 28, 2016
Cost
Limited milage
8.4
September 1, 2016
Firefly not identified at airport eventually after asking at several place it turned out to be Hertz. Plane delayed and staff very unwelcome lots of extra charges and deposits requested
7.6
August 29, 2016
There was no sign for Firefly Car Hire, we had to ask at another desk. We located it at the Hertz desk but there was no sign advertising Firefly.
8.0
August 16, 2016
I could not find a manual and therefore could not find the lights - maybe they were automatic
9.4
AndrewAugust 7, 2016
Almost new car which was just right for what we required and very reasonably priced. Friendly staff.
Newcastle Airport has confusing signs for car rental pointing you to the pick up location instead of the service desk. This meant we walked all the way to the pick up, then had to go back to the service desk and then back to the pick up once more. This is not Firefly's fault, however!
8.0
MargaretJuly 16, 2016
Friendly service and excellent condition of car
Nothing except that it was a short walk to depot and if weather had been poor I might not have been so happy
8.8
CristianJune 20, 2016
I was offered the extra insurance and I declined. Normally the sales staff overly pressurize you into buying it because I assume there is a commission. Here the staff were friendly and understood good customer service. - Thank you Firefly/Hertz.
Firefly is another name for Hertz, but the Hertz desk doesn't say this anywhere, you just have to know. That is the only bad thing to say, otherwise excellent experience and would use again.
8.8
June 3, 2016
Helpful staff both at pick up and drop off. Fantastic brand new car.
8.8
March 14, 2016
The upgrade because someone had taken the car booked
Problems waiting to pick up car , difficulty with fuel cap
8.2
DouglasMarch 11, 2016
The price and friendliness of the staff.
N/A
9.0
January 4, 2016
Fast counter service & friendly staff
I would not have known to go to the Herz counter unless I had already researched that as the counter isn't branded as Firefly. Other than this minor point the service was excellent.
9.2
July 4, 2015
friendly staff,no messing about
7.8
June 30, 2015
polite staff. Car functions explained by staff, clean car full of petrol.
couldnt locate desk as no signage up and had to ask several counters and airport staff. no customer information desk at newcastle airport either.
7.6
NeilJune 23, 2015
Ease of handover at end
Only one representative on the desk. Took nearly 30 minutes to deal with the one customer in front of me who had just flown in from New Zealand
9.0
JanetMay 18, 2015
Everything esp helpful staff
9.2
RoyApril 28, 2015
Collection was fast and hassle free by a very friendly member of staff , the car was an upgrade for no extra charge and on collection the car was spotless inside and out . The car (Renault kaptur)had a built in sat nav which proved very helpfull .the cost of hire was great value .overall I found my experience renting with firefly excellent
9.8
April 21, 2015
No instruction manual so I struggled with lights and wipers.
8.4
April 13, 2015
Excellent service well done
Firefly needs to have a small sign on the Hertz desk where they are located we had to ask other car hire agencies
8.6
October 27, 2014
the car was very clean
8.0
PeterSeptember 7, 2014
No fuss economic car hire with friendly and efficient staff at both ends of the rental.
8.222222222222221
sidneySeptember 5, 2014
vehicle rented not available but upgraded vehicle was excellent replacement. No hassle from start to finish.
none
9.777777777777779
DebraAugust 19, 2014
The car was excellent. The lady on service desk at Newcastle Airport was extremely helpful. A credit to the company in my opinion
The fact that Firefly was nowhere to be seen on any of Rental Car Service desks. We queued at several before finding right one WHY?
8.88888888888889
markAugust 19, 2014
The lack of a road atlas or navigator in the car. Arriving at Newcastle from Italy late in the evening and having to find our way to the heart of the Lake District became a long and frustrating task, not the perfect start to our holiday! This is my only complaint, but one which I feel should be brought to your attention, as a suggestion for perfecting your overall service. Thank you for your attention.
10.0
August 5, 2014
It didn't say bring the paper bit of my licence. Regardless of what customer services says. This caused much grief.
2.4444444444444446
BeverleyJuly 22, 2014
Everything was excellent.
Firefly is part of Hertz, but it doesn't say that anywhere. However, I asked at the desk and was accidentally at the right place.
9.333333333333334
KwokJuly 18, 2014
Firefly aka Hertz. Got a fantastic deal. I always rents with Hertz as they are good with customers. They don't really check the cars for damage when returning but then again I have never scratched or bumped a rental car in my life.
Suppose to collect car at 10am. Couldn't collect till 11am and it was the wrong class. Had to change back to original class at 4pm.
9.11111111111111
June 28, 2014
Returned car 2 days early and unable to transfer a credit to a new booking ( wife currently has another rental )
7.777777777777778
June 26, 2014
Bit confusing that that Firefly did not have there own desk ( they use Hertz), but once that cleared up everything went very smoothly.
8.666666666666666
June 25, 2014
Fantastic car for the money
Having to give it back
9.11111111111111
marieJune 24, 2014
Friendly guy at counter
No problems
10.0
GRAHAMJune 16, 2014
very wet walk to find and collect car
8.222222222222221
June 12, 2014
No indication of firefly at the air port. I asked for information at the hertz desk and it just happened to be the correct one.
9.333333333333334
June 10, 2014
Rental all went very smoothly. Man on the desk was very helpful in giving us directions to our accomodation. Car was nice to drive and quite economical.
A bit of a walk from the terminal, particularly as it was raining! Car could have been a bit cleaner, but it was ok!
9.777777777777779
HendrikJune 10, 2014
Friendly staff, nice car
Not clear that Firefly is part of Hertz
7.333333333333333
June 3, 2014
Much prefer them to any other car hire we have used.
10.0
ORIANAJune 3, 2014
nice clean car staff were very helpful ease of pick up and drop off
8.222222222222221
May 19, 2014
the very friendly staff at the book in desk, also the most helpful staff collecting and returning the car, made this all a pleasure.
8.88888888888889
May 15, 2014
Ease of every thing friendliness of the staff. Economy of the car hired.
Slight problems working out how everything worked as there is no manual in car to help with details.
9.777777777777779
StuartMay 13, 2014
Car nearly new, great value for price paid, customer friendly staff! Well Done Everybody!
I had to ask at the Hertz desk where the Firefly desk was! When shown by an amused staff member a small sign on their desk,(not really too clear), and no, I was not on an Irish inbound flight!
8.88888888888889
DavidMay 12, 2014
Excellent value. Nearly new, very clean car.
I hadn't realiused that Firefly is part of Hertz so it took a while to locate the desk. There was only a small A4 notice propped up on the Hertz desk stating that was the place to go for Firefly rentals.
7.333333333333333
EnricoMay 7, 2014
Service very efficent
There no signt of the company firefly
8.666666666666666
May 7, 2014
Cheap price
weren't able to get a diesel
10.0
May 5, 2014
The whole experience was handled very efficiently and with an up grade in vehicle I was more than happy.
Nothing negative about the experience
10.0
May 4, 2014
Top service - would def use again
10.0
PaulMay 1, 2014
Best value for money I have ever had, for car renting.
10.0
StephenApril 27, 2014
everything , well done
nothing to dislike.
10.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Firefly Rating
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Excellent
8.3 / 10
100+ ratings

Ratings