Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Newcastle Upon Tyne

Read customer reviews on Avis in Newcastle Upon Tyne and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

keithJuly 20, 2017
Always as good as ever
Nothing
8.8
MelbourneJuly 18, 2017
From booking to dropping off my car was simple efficient and friendly and helps fuel staff.
Not a thing
8.6
February 28, 2017
Avis are always friendly and efficient
Maybe because they are so popular there is usually a queue at their counter meaning a bit of waiting time
8.2
KevinDecember 12, 2016
Very good quality car.
8.6
December 6, 2016
Staff were great
Nothing
9.6
JudithNovember 22, 2016
This is the second time I have hired a car in the last four weeks and both times I have had an excellent service. Thank you.
8.8
GlenysNovember 11, 2016
I found it very comfortable to drive although the steering wheel blotted out the dashboard and I struggled to see the speed and mileage easily.
I requested a Fiat 500 and got a Peugeot 208 and I found the clutch very difficult to manage. It did not hold the car and also each time I used the headlight beam and switched it off the indicators started and in the dark in traffic I found this quite tricky to deal with.
9.4
July 7, 2016
No windshield washer fluid.
6.4
MalcolmMay 22, 2016
The ease of picking up and dropping off the car
A change of car between the reception desk and the pick up point
7.8
MichaelMay 5, 2016
There was a delay in picking up the car but did get an apology in the delay.
I have no dislikes.
8.6
March 22, 2016
The car
Being told I would have to pay for any damage and came it back from rental cars.Com. what If I did not have the money to pay for repairs?
8.0
March 15, 2016
Julia on the collection desk was very efficient and in addition didn't hesitate in offering to follow-up an overcharge I had received from car hire at Christmas. Very helpful.
8.8
stephenFebruary 18, 2016
The guy at the Avis desk was friendly and helpful.
I don't think a Peugot 208 is similar to a Fiesta which I requested. Tank not quite full when I picked it up but I let that go because it was too cold to hang around and sort out.
7.8
DavidDecember 15, 2015
Excellent all round And such nice staff
Nothing
9.6
November 19, 2015
Staff are excellent - all is prepared, they know what they're doing, no queue, no hassle, very friendly . Completely different to France where everything takes ten times as long for no apparent reason
Nothing - all v good
9.2
September 13, 2015
Staff
Bit of a wait due to over bookings (bank holiday weekend)
8.4
September 7, 2015
All of the above was dealt with in an very efficient and friendly manner. The location of rental office at the airport was so convenient for me.
There really is nothing you could improve. The service was second to none!! I will continue to use Avis and would not hesitate to recommend. Thank you!
9.6
June 25, 2015
Very helpful and friendly staff
9.2
June 21, 2015
The rental cars option for extra insurance. Much cheaper than from the rental car company and simplified the process of picking up the car.
Confusion over the price of extras. We agreed to pay for an extra driver, but it took some time to agree the cost. Also, why does it cost so much for an extra driver.
8.8
PaulJune 16, 2015
We paid for a 4 door car and only got a 2 door. We specifically book a four door every time we hire a car - and we hire cars regularly! This was poor service
6.8
June 1, 2015
I HAVE NOT RETURNED THE CARR YET I HAD TO EXTENT THE HIRE TIME DUE TO HOSPITAL APPOINTMENTS
9.4
LouisMay 31, 2015
Every thing was great
Nothing
8.2
AniruddhaMay 26, 2015
It was a very pleasant experience. The staff was very forthcoming and helpful. Special thanks to Samantha at George street, Newcastle. Drop off was super quick with complete trust. I was out of the car hire office in 2 minutes.
9.2
March 11, 2015
I pointed out to staff extra scratches on the car and he was very good about wrighting them down. The lady on the counter was very helpful
After a few days I felt like the car had a smell of smoke in it and neither myself or husband smokes
8.8
PaulFebruary 3, 2015
Very friendly staff especially at desk in arrivals
No negatives
9.0
RodneyJanuary 9, 2015
Quick & efficient service
car not as lively as I was used to but I drove accordingly.
8.0
TimSeptember 11, 2014
I'd ordered a large automatic (thinking it would be a saloon) however originally when I picked the car up it was a Peugeot 3008 - my mum is disabled and we had terrible difficulty getting her in and out the car (the seats are too far off the ground). I returned the next day and the representative swapped it for a Mercedes C class - it was absolutely perfect and meant mum really enjoyed her stay - so many thanks indeed!
That Peugeot 3008 - not only was it impossible to get my mum in out and out but it was horrible to drive!
10.0
September 9, 2014
Lady at counter (in airport) was very good. People at pickup were adequate.
9.333333333333334
September 2, 2014
Nice little car, refunded deposit within 24hrs even though it was a Saturday.
The desk being quite far away from the pick up.
9.11111111111111
September 1, 2014
Great service from Avis employees.
Car was a bit smaller than the one I booked, but it didn't cause any problems.
7.333333333333333
July 12, 2014
Wanted to bring forward date for collection no problem
Company car park was a bit cramped,did not want to damage car parking it up
10.0
JohnJune 20, 2014
Car was lovely to drive and the hire cost was good value. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Due possibly to the road works it was hard to find George Street when returning car and the only way was for me to hire a taxi from the station for me to follow and then got the taxi to take me back to station at double the fare!!
8.0
June 13, 2014
The convenience of booking a hire and collecting it an hour later. The efficiency of the staff on our arrival at Avis desk.
I chose the wrong type of car. Don't particularly like Clios. Everything fine for the short time required
8.88888888888889
WandaMay 11, 2014
Standard of car given really pleased with a one year old Renault Clio easiness of returning vehicle
Wasn't pre warned about £65 held for a week incase full tank of petrol wasn't returned car would not have held £65 worth of petrol
9.555555555555555
TimApril 24, 2014
Great service and good overall value for money - the car was a C class Mercedes which was a joy to drive!
The only thing that is a problem is that I had a passenger who needed a wheelchair to get to and from the terminal building - its a bit of a trek to the car hire lot - but perhaps that's the airports fault!
10.0
April 9, 2014
Staff where great and all was smooth in collection and drop off.
Car was not a great size and very bad on fule consumption.
8.666666666666666
March 22, 2014
ease of booking, collection, return.
location from the airport terminal. it is a bit of a walk.
9.11111111111111
BrianMarch 4, 2014
Hassle free
Nothing
9.555555555555555
February 16, 2014
Very pleased with the service
10.0
February 2, 2014
The fact that I was upgraded to a group D hire at no extra cost because they did not have the vehicle that I booked.
none
9.333333333333334
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Excellent
8.85 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings