Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Manchester

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Manchester and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

November 24, 2016
Helpful staff, car in excellent condition
Difficulty at airport finding desk/transfer bus when arriving by train to the airport.
7.8
DarrenOctober 3, 2016
Just location, would be better closer to airport
7.2
September 12, 2016
Very impressed with Thrifty staff. Courteous and helpful. Explained purpose of car hire and offered choice of 2 vehicles. Advised to take one particular vehicle and this was very helpful.
Nothing.
8.4
August 1, 2016
The staff are very helpful
changes in dropping of and the fuel return full, used to be drop back then use hire car to fill up on way to airport drop off which is not now the case
7.0
July 15, 2016
Staff were very courteous and helpful.
Not Thrifty's problem but drop off at Glasgow airport was a it of a walk from the terminal building.
8.6
AlisonJune 30, 2016
The lady at Trafford was extremely helpful
No one at rental cars mentioned that I had to pay to take my car back in the early hours
8.4
June 29, 2016
Not having to use the shuttle bus to the car rental village at Manchester Airport.
Difficulty in contacting the rental office via the courtesy phone.
6.0
June 27, 2016
Car was very good. clean and the make and model i chose
8.0
June 26, 2016
I liked the convenience of picking the car up at the airport & the good customer service given at the thrifty reception.
8.8
JohnJune 20, 2016
The car type I ordered a Passat and got a Hyundai Tucson - bit of a bait and switch. Also no refund when I returned the car three days earlier than initially planned.
6.2
PeterJune 14, 2016
Staff were excellent.
9.6
WANMay 21, 2016
Awesome
9.0
May 20, 2016
Friendly counter staff, good value for 7 seater car
Hassle of pick up and drop away from main car rental zone
7.0
PETERMay 6, 2016
nice little car, perfect for two people with limited baggage
car radio impossible to understand how to reset etc being collected from airport was a problem as I was not told which level we were to stand, now we know
7.4
March 26, 2016
There was no instructions on how to contact Thrifty upon arrival. All other car hire firms are clearly marked.
7.2
January 26, 2016
When arriving at the desk been told I have to produce a current utility invoice and a copy of my credit card statement. Passport. I was somewhat surprised, but I duly drove 30 minute round trip to collect the documents. On my return the second lady who took care of my booking was very polite and nice. Could you make it clearly what documentation
7.2
January 20, 2016
I was delighted that the staff on pick up did not keep trying to get me to upgrade my insurance or any make any other sale. Staff were polite, helpful, understanding and a delight to deal with. Drop off was swift, no waiting for a bus transfer and again staff were delightful.
8.4
IanJanuary 11, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Couldn't keep the car! Great vehicle.
8.2
January 8, 2016
Courtesy and infortmation given from the team
8.8
January 6, 2016
Efficiency of staff
Would of been more convenient if rental was at rental village
7.6
RichardJanuary 4, 2016
Car was Ok and automatic and ran very well.
All the extra costs (that are refunded admittedly), but it appears excessive to rent a car in the UK nowadays! Thrifty offices out on a limb in strange location from the airport!!! Needs moving to be with all the other car hire companies!!!
6.6
AnthonyNovember 9, 2015
They picked me up from the airport, we're very friendly, gave me advice about the local roads going out. Car was brand new, had 100 miles on the clock. When I dropped the car off, everything took less than 5 minutes and they were again really friendly. Then they offered to drop me off wherever I needed to be, first class service, will use again.
Nothing to report.
9.8
AnthonyNovember 4, 2015
Friendly staff and great choice of cars
Large deposit and inability to drop insurance excess down to zero
8.6
September 5, 2015
Good clean car.
Location of rental company. Operation hours may be inconvenient as our flight left very early in the morning.
6.4
August 30, 2015
i was encouraged to get an upgrade. as single only `I did not need a large car . I was offered a saloon family care. I did not care for this fortunately there was a small Fiat which was perfect for me. I would prefer not to be encouraged the upgrade. I was travelling through small country roads in Wales and the Fiat was perfect
7.8
warrenAugust 22, 2015
Car was good and very economical
Sat-nav was confusing in the vw
7.0
HeatherAugust 11, 2015
the staff were friendly and efficient. Car was nippy, economical and clean. I liked the office being off site as it took the stress out of driving into the airport for me.
I wouldn't have known it was off site has i not read the reviews where I discovered what to do - which helped a lot
8.0
DavidJuly 24, 2015
Car was better than expected and the newest hire car I have ever had
8.4
July 17, 2015
Special notification that Thrifty is not in the rental village at Manchester airport
7.4
July 4, 2015
They were polite, came to find me when I was lost, we're efficient and explained everything clearly.
9.4
May 31, 2015
Very happy apart from not got my deposit refunded yet
Refund not returned yet
7.6
May 24, 2015
New car excellent.
Fuel consumption poor. Locating Thrifty at airport poor.
7.6
May 6, 2015
Lovely car
Time to return car
8.8
NeilApril 10, 2015
Very helpful staff - showed us how to use sat nav
8.8
March 4, 2015
I though meet and greet at the airport would be that. I gave a time that i thought i would be through immigration and when i came out i had to go to customer services to contact thrifty and then had to wait 30 mins. Other than that the people where good.
5.8
ShireenFebruary 24, 2015
Renting online was quick and easy. This was my first time ever renting a car as well as my first time renting online. My unease was all for naught as the overall experience was excellent. I asked to rent a Ford Fiesta but got a free upgrade to a BMW !!!
The only thing I found somewhat confusing was the satnav in the car. It got me confused and lost twice. Otherwise it was a great experience.
8.4
February 21, 2015
Great customer service, great price. Will use them again..
9.6
February 20, 2015
Friendly staff, vehicle and its condition
Didn't know we had to give thrifty a call to be picked up and taken to the place where we could take the car with us
7.8
BaderFebruary 12, 2015
The rental office of thrifty is far from the airport rental car village.
7.4
January 18, 2015
The only suggestion I have is to make it really clear that the rental office is off-site. We somehow missed that. Not a big deal though, and when we phoned, the staff dealt with that very professionally.
8.6
VictorJanuary 5, 2015
I was absolutely thrilled at the upgrade. We plan to go back over to the UK in May, and we definately plan to rebook with Thrifty.
Maybe a fuller explaination of the total costs prior to full payment taken
7.8
RichardJanuary 3, 2015
Carr was great and so was the price. Meet and greet was more a hunt down and wait and wait. After waiting in the cold for over 20 mins the driver who arrived was expecting some other passenger but took us as well. Not easy with 2 1/2 yr old twins. However, we loved the 'big red car' once the fraught pick up was made.
See previous comment- meet & greet not satisfactory after 24hr travelling. No clear instructions on the paperwork regarding ringing up and then waiting for a pick up- not sure why we bothered supplying flight numbers as no effort was made to 'meet & greet'.
6.2
November 1, 2014
Excellent vehicle. Also v good customer service.
When we arrived 8am we were told the car selected for us (not the Freelander size I paid for) would not fit our luggage. Fortunately your staff were able to supply us a larger vehicle Outlander for same price and we were very satisfied with that... But I really didn't need the drama after a 24 hr flight with 2 small children!
7.111111111111111
KevinSeptember 25, 2014
Upgraded to a larger automatic 4 x 4, Efficent and friendly staff at rental location, quick pick up from airport
nothing
9.777777777777779
JamesAugust 27, 2014
The car was great the service was fantastic the overall experience was good
The time it takes to get your money back is to long
8.666666666666666
MaxineAugust 21, 2014
Great service and the staff were great, definitely would youse them again
10.0
WendyAugust 15, 2014
easy pick up from airport, quick and easy car pick up, upgraded car free of charge, excellent helpfull staff, will use again.
8.88888888888889
StephenJuly 13, 2014
We thought the staff were very competent and friendly and the car was much better than we had anticipated which added pleasure to our holiday.
There wasn't anything that we didn't like.
10.0
FrankMarch 12, 2014
The process
Not located at the airport
8.88888888888889
robertMarch 11, 2014
Friendly staff great 4 x 4 and quick pick up and drop off when on site.
Due to metro tram works around your depot at Wythenshaw Manchester no clear signs to your office at the moment.
9.11111111111111
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Manchester
Very good
7.5 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings