Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Exeter

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Exeter and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

ChristopherDecember 5, 2017
Had problems finding a petrol station to refill the car. Had to drive for 20 mins or so to fined this which caused a delay.
8.6
November 13, 2017
Nissan Qashqai It was amazing. Fantastic car.
9.4
November 13, 2017
Upgrade, friendly helpful staff
Form filling still took time despite prebooking
8.4
November 10, 2017
I found the booking online very easy and it made it very convenient when picking the car up at Exeter Airport at the check-in desk. The Avis staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with.
The waiting to pick up the car but this was due to the number of customers all picking up from Avis at the same time.
8.6
LouiseOctober 23, 2017
The service provided by John on the Avis desk at exeter Airport was exemplary. He was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable.
With only one member of staff on duty, the wait was a little longer than I would have liked.
8.4
October 23, 2017
Friendly, convenient
Didn't let me know the office would be closed when I returned the car
7.6
shaunSeptember 21, 2017
The car was fantastic, there was a bit off a walk to get to the car tho.
Nobody checked the vehicle when I dropped it off. No damage when dropped off but you never no what happens in car parks!!
8.4
September 17, 2017
Easy drive----smooth.
Sat nav---hard to do. Someone should have told me how to use it ,and starting up and the braking was hard.
9.2
August 29, 2017
The staff eas very helpful at providing an appropriate size car.
They provided a car that had a faulty fuel gauge. I was told but only doimg about 100 miles so this was ok.
6.6
August 28, 2017
Ease of pick up; helpful friendly staff
Bit of a walk to parking; car a bit underpowered
7.4
CornelisAugust 14, 2017
The whole packet except see under
Avis to rental car was not the same. Certain costs , if made, were to pay to Avis and after that to declare to Rental cars . That should not be that way becouse of the service to the customer.
7.6
July 24, 2017
They did the job
Hertz prices
7.6
July 9, 2017
Car was clean and handy to pick up and leave of
9.0
June 26, 2017
very good counter staff
I was upgraded to a i30 hyundai while this is a fine car My wife and I wanted the Fiat 500. We need a large car at home so it was going to be a novelty to drive the fiat 500.
8.0
June 3, 2017
Quick and easy.
8.6
May 30, 2017
Helpful staff
Walk to car park
8.8
May 29, 2017
Value for money
Nothing
9.2
March 24, 2017
Walk to and from P3 in the rain
9.0
GaryFebruary 15, 2017
Good style of car
8.8
February 13, 2017
staff very friendly on arrival
was not informed the office was closed when dropping off. didn't get an invoice/receipt still waiting for breakdown of costs. sat nav was out of date new roads not on it so could not use it.
8.2
October 16, 2016
Ease of collection and drop off
Nothing
9.6
September 24, 2016
Very difficult to open the petrol tank to refuel - a system I had not used before and had to get help. Nothing in the car to give instructions.
8.4
September 23, 2016
Helpful staff at pickup. Car was what we expected.
Didn't get information on vehicle controls or accessories. 3 days before I realised how to operate Satnav. Waited 10mins in queue waiting to return vehicle keys, when this is not necessary. Key drop would suffice. Condition of vehicle not checked on return. Anything may happen after I park the car.
7.6
September 20, 2016
Car was excellent. The staff were fantastic and offered simple and accurate directions to avoid roadworks etc in the area. highly efficient staff and deserve recognition
the distance from the car pickup point to the Avis office, it was raining when i dropped the car off and got a bit wet.
9.2
TrevorJuly 18, 2016
Staff were pleasant and helpful. Car was in great condition.
Too many "extras" trying to be sold at the counter!
7.8
JeanJune 27, 2016
I loved the car and was pleased to have an upgrade.
The representative wasn't very communicative and spoke softly and Quickly so it was difficult to understand everything he was saying. The car was a long walk from the Avis office and when I tried to exit the car park I found i hadn't been given an exit ticket. I rang for help and luckily the assistant let me exit.
6.2
June 26, 2016
The car was lovely and the staff really pleasant
Walk to the car as it was raining and it was a 10 min walk to get to the car so I was soaked
8.2
ThereseMay 8, 2016
Very friendly, efficient and supportive staff. Emma gives excellent Personal support which also makes a lone female driver feel additionally safe in their travels.
9.8
MARIANMay 4, 2016
Friendly helpful staff, lovely new car
9.0
April 4, 2016
Friendly counter staff. Easy process.
8.6
March 29, 2016
The upgrade was nice and the car park staff were friendly. The car was virtually Undamaged.
The counter staff was a little unfriendly - she didn't seem to trust I was giving the right answers
8.2
December 3, 2015
I didn't want a larger vehicle than the Fiat 500 advertised as I'm used to driving smaller cars.
9.4
October 26, 2015
Catlerine at Exeter was exceptionally helpful.
Nothing to complain about, the car and service was what you would expect.
9.0
October 20, 2015
Modern car, pleasure to drive. Lovely helpful staff
I arrived late at night so couldn't really see the controls. It's a shame you didn't have enough staff who could introduce me to the very complicated controls. I had to scramble with a torch & freaked out when I couldn't find the handbrake. It was certainly an adventure!
9.2
October 19, 2015
STAFF WERE VERY HELPFULL
I HAD TO LEAVE THE CAR WITHOUT ANYONE CHECKING IT OVER AS MY FLIGHT LEFT BEFORE THE DESK OPENED
9.4
MichaelSeptember 14, 2015
Very likely
8.8
July 19, 2015
Had an upgrade from a petrol to a diesel and a bigger car for £5 a day, excellent value!!
Personally I think the bigger cars should have parking assist, although I didn't have any scrapes, driving a different car for the first time must cause problems for some people. The other problem was the fact that Exeter airport car rentals close quite early at the weekend and if it wasn't for the excellent help from your member of staff, (sorry can't remember his name) we would have been absolutely stuffed seeing as we had a 2 hour drive, at least we know for next time.
8.8
StuartJuly 9, 2015
There was some damage to the car wheel hubs when I picked the car up. This was noted on the form. When I returned there was also some damage to the tyre caused by this previous damage to the hubs. The cause was obvious but your employee still found it necessary to fill in an incident report. I think a common sense approach would have been more appropriate.
7.2
PaulJune 24, 2015
Great service from the counter staff. Friendly and welcoming.
8.8
WilliamJune 13, 2015
The staff and the car
The walk from the office to the car, inclement weather would make this an unpleasant experience
8.6
June 1, 2015
Great service, very quick to collect car and got a cheap upgrade but queue very long on return with just one very busy man serving. No sign to say keys could just be dropped in which after waiting for 15 mins is all I did!
As above.
7.8
PaulMay 30, 2015
The car was very clean and fuel efficient.
The Avis Rep tried to sell me the most expensive insurance first and then when I challenged him he folded straight away to the cheaper one. Little distasteful. I would have given the service full marks only for this.
9.0
May 18, 2015
Excellent value and service.
Return area poorly signposted.
8.6
April 1, 2015
The car it's self. The upgradevwas amazing value.
8.2
March 17, 2015
Staff member was knowledgeable and efficient
The rental office was very crowded with people trying to access both the avis and Europe hire desks
8.0
AliceJanuary 25, 2015
Very friendly staff and very help full and efficient
9.6
December 16, 2014
The proximity of the car rental office and the car park. Car was same as have at home so no problems learning to drive it.
Long time to pick up because of all the add-ons. Ultimately not as cheap as thought when booked on line. Insufficient staff in office to allow rapid hand back. More cars than spaces in unattended park.
7.2
MartinNovember 17, 2014
The staff
Car park
8.222222222222221
MartinNovember 5, 2014
There was a problem with the rental car, due to previous hirer's.
The problem was sorted very quickly to our satisfaction.We were reassured on handing the vehicle back that they had managed to resolve the problem.
8.222222222222221
October 29, 2014
Very good car for the price.
8.444444444444445
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Avis Rating
Exeter
Excellent
8.9 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations