Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Edinburgh

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Edinburgh and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

September 25, 2017
Promptness in attending and helpful
Unfriendly approach
9.2
StephenSeptember 18, 2017
Danielle at the Avis desk was awesome - you should emply more people like her. She was friendly, welcoming and efficient...great ambassador for your business.
Someone had been smoking in the car before my hire - I needed to buy air freshener to mask the smell.
8.0
September 6, 2017
Getting through to the desk even during working hours was a nightmare. Had to wait at least 25 min on 3 occasions.
6.8
September 5, 2017
All good!
Nothing negative!
9.2
JohnAugust 21, 2017
Near new car that drove well
Having to walk for 2 kilometres just to find the car
7.0
August 19, 2017
Easy car pickup and close to terminal.
Nothing.
8.4
August 17, 2017
Distances from arrivals hall - very long and bad
7.4
August 6, 2017
Everything's o.k
7.6
July 8, 2017
No info on controls of car
7.0
July 5, 2017
Not happy about the insurance cover I took out with rentalcars. Should have checked carefully exactly what was covered in the policy. Poor signage to the rental building.
7.8
July 3, 2017
Ar was fine the Avis Staff were excellent
the length of time waiting in the queue was painful. the cost also was not great.
8.6
July 2, 2017
Avis staff checked over the car in detail on return so there was no ambiguity of damage on the car.
Inside cleanliness of the car
7.2
TerenceJune 19, 2017
Staff made it so easy at both ends Very friendly
8.4
BernardoJune 7, 2017
Excellent car! Better than I thought!
Nothing
8.8
June 5, 2017
Convenient
Nothing
7.2
SuzanneMay 18, 2017
Rental centre within airport Ease of pick-up Cleanliness of car
Lack of introduction to unfamiliar car
9.4
May 15, 2017
good car. helpful staff. ease of booking
nothing
8.4
May 7, 2017
GPS didn't work which made the trip difficult.
8.8
April 3, 2017
Very difficult to locate drop off at Glasgow airport due to road construction and poor signage Process took 30 minutes when already late for flight check in.
7.4
AlasdairFebruary 19, 2017
Great service, and a great car.
Nothing negative to say about my experience.
9.2
November 19, 2016
Everything
Car wasn't actually full with petrol although I was told that it was. Situation was resolved but it meant I had to call AVIS to explain that it was only half full and that I would return it half full. Could have done without this but no major problem.
9.2
LindaOctober 25, 2016
Very quick and easy to pick up the car, no queue. Staff were very helpful. Upgrade was gratefully received!
9.6
September 18, 2016
The Avis staff very helpful and obliging.
Could not understand why a shuttle bus would be available to reach the Avis rental office when you can walk to it. The courtesy phone did not work. The office is only just a short distance from the departure doors
8.2
August 26, 2016
Easy to order and get proper car. Easy to locate the pickup location
Very long waiting after getting the car because of busy time exactly when my pickup time was.
7.2
August 9, 2016
The Opel was a good car instead
The Ford we got first had a not working steering servo
7.6
JulieJune 27, 2016
Staff member was brilliant my flight was delayed until midnight she stayed until it got in and was very helpful.
Nothing
9.4
June 14, 2016
I was told the car was a Diesel when in fact it was a petrol engine.
6.8
May 22, 2016
Dell at the service desk was very helpful
I rented a similar car in the week before Christmas (busy time!) at Glasgow airport from Europcar and it cost less than half the total price.
8.4
May 20, 2016
Good quality car, value for money
6.6
May 17, 2016
A good spec of car with bluetooth and iPod connectivity.
Only two of four desks open for pick-up and a 25 minute wait.
9.0
April 13, 2016
The people i met,happy and smart, very welcoming. The quality of the car as well.
Problems to park in the city. Some stress to leave the car "near empty" against "visiting everything until the last moment" But it is not Avis' problem nevermind.
8.4
April 13, 2016
Drop off was poor. One employee to check multiple returns, customers hanging around in the rain with their families not knowing the process. If I hadn't left my keys on the counter and abandoned the queue, it would have taken over 20 minutes.
7.2
MervynMarch 21, 2016
Efficient practical vehicle.
Engine too small to cope with multiple gradients on local roads
6.6
March 1, 2016
The car, reasonably priced & the speed of pick up & drop off.
Rental cars 'free' app was asking for my payment details when I tried to install it. Phone a staff member who couldn't help me.
8.4
January 7, 2016
The creativity to offer a better choice than the one I had made.
8.2
November 24, 2015
Location of Car Rental facilities, long walk from the airport and not a lot of cover from the wind and rain.
8.6
November 24, 2015
Staff very friendly
sat nav was not up to date
8.4
John-PaulSeptember 22, 2015
All staff friendly and knowledgable, had no issues at all
Nothing
8.6
johnSeptember 19, 2015
The form is not completing - and so i thought I would put some comments. It was very busy when i got to to the desk on arrival and it did seem to take a long time for each customer - but your team were excellent and friendly (and upselling other clients which took the time). The car was in good condition, easy to find, and easy to return. Will use you again.
8.6
August 29, 2015
The upgrade was to a very nice car
Had to find my car in the dark and then had to work out where lights, petrol cap opening mechanism, braking system were on a dark wet night as a woman alone.
7.8
gilbertoAugust 28, 2015
Excelente Car, excellent price !
The car wasn't clean inside and have problem with over stearin!
8.0
PhillipAugust 27, 2015
being able to drop car back after closing time
Distance from our hotel in the new town area
9.0
August 19, 2015
Reasonably cheap car even though only booked 4 days in advance
Nothing
10.0
MadsAugust 12, 2015
Can not understand why an online booking has to be keyed in manually again when picking up the car - very time consuming and costly for Avis and in the for the customer. Would have been convenient and more safe to get a brief instruction of the main operating instruments and buttons when entering a car, which you have not tried before - keys were just handed out and you were on your own, this in particular relevant for a driver not used to left side driving. I do find it a bit "milking" that the integrated GPS is deactivated on purpose and you have to rent a separate GPS, which furthermore reduces the operating convenience - would suggest that it was included in the rental price.
6.6
August 10, 2015
All Good - Rental Agent very friendly and helpful
8.6
DaniloJuly 29, 2015
Fantastic, efficient and friendly staff members. Highly recommended.
Nil
8.8
KlaraJuly 26, 2015
Great car
Only one person at the counter at the time of car collection, only one person in the process and two people in front of us yet it took almost an hour to get through ourselves - not what you want to do at close to midnight after a very tiring week...
8.2
July 23, 2015
Awesome
Nil
9.4
July 21, 2015
helpful service, relatively efficient, except for the rental desk, which was very crowded. Recommendations in upgrade were good. Recommended GPS was a life-saver!
Recommended upgrade was a fine car, but was just too big for the tight spaces we needed to be in. Too much car for the driving we were doing.
7.4
June 15, 2015
Very good service
recommend
8.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Avis Rating
Edinburgh
Excellent
8.15 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations