Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Vancouver, BC

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Vancouver, BC and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

November 17, 2017
easy and convienient
7.8
November 11, 2017
Everything was good. The staff at Thrifty are helpful. It took us no time to get our car.
Nil
7.2
October 15, 2017
Pick up was a bit slow at about 45 mins esp after a long flight
6.8
SusanOctober 9, 2017
Very easy process. The staff were helpful and friendly and the vehicle was in excellent condition and clean.
I haven't received my deposit refund as yet so have to follow up on this.
8.8
MarkOctober 7, 2017
Would have liked the jeep we booked but otherwise good booking
7.6
ColinOctober 7, 2017
Helpful staff
7.8
keithOctober 6, 2017
Car was fine, met our needs. Desk staff and reception staff when dropping off car were good
Signage not clear when dropping off car hence took such a long time to drop off. Girls were extremely efficient just took some time to reach them. Gps is an extra this should be a standard. We used phone gps as it was so much cheaper than renting in car, could actually buy one cheaper than it would have cost us for rental with car.
7.0
October 5, 2017
Great car, super service
8.0
CesarOctober 5, 2017
Office reception was helpful.
I specified a toyota corolla but was given a different brand despite booking weeks ahead. I had to come back after a few hours to get the corolla, but it wasn't washed at all. I had to wipe the reversing camera because it was dirty and blurry.
6.2
alanOctober 3, 2017
The rental desk staff was helpful
We got a smaller car then we booked but it was due to limited availability and we was driving to a different province and conveniently it had the province licence plate on the car,
6.0
JeffOctober 2, 2017
Friendliness of service at desk and pick up/ drop off. Plenty of room for four bags with rear seats flat.
We ordered a Grand Cherokee. Got a Wrangler Sahara. Closest available to booking ???? It was a truck. Poor visibility. Uncomfortable ride. Difficult for us seniors to enter and exit. Disappointed with vehicle. Perhaps we booked too late.
7.6
IanOctober 1, 2017
No pressure to purchase extra insurance or to upgrade. Canada never seems to be pushy with this.
The cost of car hire in North America in general is more expensive than Europe, mainly because of all the different insurances, airport pick-up surcharges and taxes.
8.0
RogerSeptember 29, 2017
Friendly very efficient staff, and no problem to them that we were early at pick up time! No extras to pay at the desk. No selling at all by the agent to pay any extra than what we had booked online.
Nothing!!
9.0
September 25, 2017
no comments
no comments
7.6
September 23, 2017
Got the requested car, but a cheap low powered version
Underpowered car, lack of SatNav
7.2
SeanSeptember 23, 2017
Good clean car and speedy service
Drop off was quick but very chaotic!
7.2
September 20, 2017
Very efficient, did not try to sell me extra insurance I didn't need
None
9.0
RobynSeptember 17, 2017
Staff were helpful, though the girl at pick up was a little dour, too early for her maybe, at drop off much better.
9.2
JeanSeptember 17, 2017
Overall a very hassle free and positive experience. We appreciated the effecient and friendly way that Vanessa handled the vehicle return, very good!
I would have preferred the more modest car we booked as larger car more difficult to park etc. Most people would have been delighted! Returning the car empty a bit difficult!
8.8
CarmellaSeptember 15, 2017
We enjoyed the Volkswagan Golf so much!
6.6
AlanSeptember 13, 2017
Superb Helpful receptionist
Location
8.6
September 12, 2017
Newness of car
Lots of people queuing so delays in picking up vehicles/ drop off
7.6
September 12, 2017
Robyn at pick up was very helpful
7.4
GEORGESeptember 12, 2017
We liked everything about the car we rented from Thrifty !
Nothing to complain about !
8.8
JohanSeptember 12, 2017
Very nice upgrade to Chrysler pacifica.. great car!
The drop off destination in the gps was way off.. we ended up on a industrial zone a few kilometers away from the AirPort and had to ask for guidance.. the only time we really needed to use the gps it failed us...
7.0
MaSeptember 12, 2017
Efficiency of the counter staff.
Car was dirty when I pick it up.
6.8
September 11, 2017
All very straightforward even though returned to a different location
Car was not clean
6.4
SamSeptember 10, 2017
Excellent service on Saturday from the Thrifty employee - he should be given a raise or a promotion
The surcharge for young drivers despite 6 years driving experience and evidence of no claims
7.6
AnnabelSeptember 10, 2017
Very easy return of the car. Friendly helpful staff.
Had to go back and return the car the next day as the car I was originally assigned had a cracked windscreen which they hadn't noticed and they didn't have a replacement when I picked up the initial car
7.4
YOUNGJAESeptember 8, 2017
The staff was incredibly nice and friendly. Love his passion and wish his professional career luck further.
None at all. Best staff ever.
8.6
TuckSeptember 6, 2017
Not the exact car that I have booked prior
6.6
September 5, 2017
Upgrade to a bigger car was much appreciated.
Full to Empty fuel policy and extortionate charge for the tank (seemed to be approx 50% more expensive than filling up fully at the local petrol stations). This was not very clearly advertised on the booking.
7.6
CliveSeptember 4, 2017
return with empty tank, spouse/partner covered as additional driver
Long wait for car, even when all paperwork completed, the couple of mins promised turned into annoying wait
7.8
September 4, 2017
The car esse good.
Coulthard bem cheaper.
7.6
MarkSeptember 3, 2017
Car was clean and what I ordered , staff were very helpful
Car was not ready had to wait for one to come in and be valeted
7.4
ISeptember 1, 2017
Good service
Didn't recieve any information about the car model changed before I pick up!
7.6
FionaAugust 30, 2017
Very efficient staff, good location, ease of exiting the city from this location, good directions, maps included
all was good
8.4
StephenAugust 29, 2017
Nice car
Always end up paying a bit more at the counter. The price you pay when booking should include everything
7.4
August 28, 2017
value,
Clarity of pricing
9.0
August 27, 2017
The up-grade was very good.
Requested model was not available. We needed an upgrade to have sufficient room in the car.
6.6
August 26, 2017
The car and the price
When we returned the car agent checked it and declared everything was fine. He asked if an email receipt would suffice or did we need a paper copy. We chose email. However that was 2 days ago and we still have no email. It took too much time to collect the car and I reckoned that the agent was rushing because he was under pressure.
7.0
DavideAugust 20, 2017
Excellent service.
Booking confirmation arrived very late while I was already traveling to destination.
8.4
August 19, 2017
Nice clean vehicle & friendly service.
8.2
MarkAugust 3, 2017
Too few staff on type counters
6.0
August 1, 2017
Comfortable car with room. The girl that we did pick up through.
Paying for a sat nav that didn't work. Retuning staff not helpful
5.6
SusanAugust 1, 2017
I didn't have a choice in the gas charge!
7.0
EnriqueJuly 31, 2017
I have booked a Jeep Grand Cherokee, but I have recieved a Jeep Wrangles, which is less category and size.
The downgrade the model car.
6.2
ChiJuly 30, 2017
I changed my pickup time from 9:00am to 1:00pm. I can still get my car without trouble.
The waiting time to get the car is 30 minutes. It was too long.
7.0
peterJuly 29, 2017
Great staff. Nice car.
7.4
OwenJuly 27, 2017
Great car - especially with upgrade. Downtown drop off.
Out of town location for pick up; not as initially booked but dealt with well by UK team when became clear deal wasn't as advertised. Some gentle pressure to return to same out of town location by rental staff but agreed to stick to arranged downtown drop off; which worked very well.
6.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Vancouver, BC
Very good
7.86667 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings