Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Sydney

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Sydney and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

June 1, 2017
No Satnav
8.0
ShaneMay 30, 2017
Staff
9.6
May 29, 2017
our upgrade was cheap and we ended up driving a brand new Mercedes
9.0
May 22, 2017
Pick up was greatly delayed due to break down of computer system.
8.0
JohnMay 21, 2017
Didn't offer a refund even though I dropped the car off a day earlier
8.2
StevenMay 21, 2017
He was dealing with a damaged car which took a little time. Very helpful and assisted us with our luggage.
Nothing to comment on.
8.2
May 18, 2017
Very pleasant and efficient staff member at the desk
The Thrifty desk in the airport terminal was closed, which wasn't immediately apparent. Please place a sign on the counter making it clear that clients should proceed straight to the car park.
8.2
PeterMay 18, 2017
Easy drop off
The car was a little "tired " A car with less kilometers on it would be preferable
5.8
May 15, 2017
Money for value car was clean nice to drive well looked after the person on reception when I dropped the car off was approachable and friendly.
The person on reception when we picked up the car made us wait for over ten minutes due to a phone conversation not even a hand gesture or eye contact and then wrote the wrong bay number was not very helpful.
7.0
AlbinMay 15, 2017
Attractive price, booked a day before, got an upgrade, super efficient service, amazing car.
It would be useful to state if it's Domestic or International Airport on the printed reservation confirmation (rentalcars.com); I had to go online, and double check.
8.8
KennethMay 12, 2017
The car drove perfectly. The staff were great.
I'm always edgy when there are a few minor marks on the car already. And there was in case i'm asked to pay for the marks already there. But that happens no matter who i rent off. And repay of the deposit could be quicker. OK I get it takes 2 business days but still it's my money.
8.2
martinMay 8, 2017
very easy, great fuel economy
8.6
CrosbieMay 3, 2017
Staff were helpfu, polite.
7.0
April 22, 2017
the right size for the purpose
the Toyota Yaris was not a car I would drive visibility was poor due to bad dash reflection in windscreen
9.2
RamanathanApril 20, 2017
Ease and no hassel
None
9.8
April 12, 2017
Nice. Car, clean inside but exterior dirty.
1. The airport terminal (Arrivals) personnel would not accept a standard UK paper licence, we had to go to the Thrifty car office at the collection point to put our case forward. The second person we dealt with was more experienced and there were no further problems. 2. There was minor bodywork damage to the car which was not on the paperwork.
6.8
JustinApril 3, 2017
Nice modern car
Took ages to pick up the car, looked unorganised at the time of pick up
7.2
April 2, 2017
Dirty windscreen
7.6
KenMarch 31, 2017
All good
Nil
8.0
IanMarch 27, 2017
The car has to be returned to the airport with a full tank of petrol Thrifty should let customers know what petrol station on the way in to use as the nearest I saw inbound was about twenty Kilometres from drop of as there was nothing on the Sydney airport complex incurring an additional charge for petrol.
7.6
StarMarch 24, 2017
Easy access, booking service 1st rate..
Forgot to check fuel before we left it was not full, however we couldn't get through to report it and needed phone for NAV. We still returned car with full tank.
9.8
AndrewMarch 15, 2017
Nice car in good condition
Counter staff were in no hurry to serve me. The counter inside the terminal was unmanned and didnt say where to go to find their other counter
8.2
March 4, 2017
whole experience excellent
signs to drop off at syd. bit confusing-- indicate P1 but we needed P1 2nd entrance
9.4
ManfredMarch 2, 2017
Staff at counter very helpfull
Car had prior renters trash in the car
9.2
RezaFebruary 21, 2017
Very quick serice
1. change the model of car 2. not providing useful info
6.0
DanielFebruary 19, 2017
Excellent car, very friendly and helpful staff at airport.
Nothing
8.8
KeithFebruary 15, 2017
everything...painless and the whole process WORKED as it should. Thanks for brilliant service.
Nothing
8.6
February 13, 2017
good service
nobody at main counter - poor directions where to go.
9.6
February 12, 2017
That i didnt have to wait over an hour to pick up a vehicle i preordered
7.4
RonaldFebruary 8, 2017
Nice car,overall good condition.
1way charge
7.6
February 4, 2017
Ease of dropoff.
Car was well worn with various scratches to the exterior.
8.0
JennaJanuary 24, 2017
Good car, clean, drove well, cruise control
Car wasn't filled up to the specification with petrol. We talked to the people at the service desk as we filled it to specifications. Waiting to hear back now
8.0
January 24, 2017
No Sat Nav
8.8
January 22, 2017
No GPS
8.8
January 20, 2017
condition of the car was very well presented.
nil
8.8
NeilJanuary 17, 2017
Car was good and low fuel usage
Only one girl on desk at airport. Customer in front of us took over 20 minutes to decide on what vehicle he wanted, so by the time we got our keys, it was just on a 30 minute wait.
6.2
DeniseJanuary 16, 2017
Space
7.6
MarkJanuary 16, 2017
The counter staff at sydney were in a bit of a rush but were pleasant, the staff at sydney was very polite.
The car was dirty on the inside, someone had been smoking in it prior and when the leather seats, dash and head lining were wiped by me with a cloth the cloth was black. The car stunk of smoke for half of our week hire. The car also was not vacuumed or seats cleaned as we found the previous occupants rubbish, cigarette lighter and hand sanitiser.
5.6
NicoleJanuary 15, 2017
We had our own GPS that didn't fit in the lighter socket. The man that was checking cars in and out? The coordinator ? Not sure of his role? Was so helpful and accomodating. He changed us to another car straight away without any hassle and made sure our GPS was working. I wish I knew his name! Thrifty is very lucky to have him working for them.
8.8
January 12, 2017
Auto trans good and economical to run.
7.4
January 12, 2017
Friendly staff and involve sent after we returned the car. So we know we have no extra charges
Nothing
8.8
GregJanuary 11, 2017
New car, upgrade
Built in Sat Nav was hard to use and inaccurate. It lead us astray and we used our iPad instead.
8.2
January 11, 2017
The counter is easy to find and the staff is helpful.
8.2
January 10, 2017
Keys were not at the counter for the car, plenty of notice given this booking was made months in advance. only one person serving despite large line up. Thrifty were not very organized.
7.0
January 10, 2017
condition of car , smoke free
credit card hold was charged and reconverted with fees and loss of money no trolleys in return area and had to carry all bags on shoulder
8.2
January 6, 2017
Exact location of downtown pick-up point was not easy to identify at booking stage.
8.2
January 6, 2017
Staff were helpful and courteous, given the circumstances(no car ready)
Had to wait for over an hour for our car, with a 4 hour drive ahead of us.
6.6
KennethJanuary 4, 2017
Helpful staff. Very easy return.
Only minor point was lack of information re grade of petrol necessary.
8.8
January 2, 2017
No complications when picking up. Easy booking on line
8.2
December 31, 2016
Ease of rental
Car not clean
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Sydney
Very good
7.72 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings