Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Melbourne

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Melbourne and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

MarionJanuary 15, 2017
model and comfort ability. Easy to drive and easy to get to and from.
Prior owner/driver had left smoke odour in car. manage to remove smell but felt like it was still lingering around.
7.4
January 15, 2017
Price and cost
Took too long to pick the car up because the staff looked overloaded. Also disappointed l did not get the car l booked, it was meant to carry 5 passengers plus 3 bags, could just get 2 bags, no chance for 3rd bag we had to mske other arrangements
5.4
January 11, 2017
The Holden Commodore was almost new with a large boot space. liked the wing mirror warnings of approaching traffic in the blind spots
Disappointed with the park lever. I have a VW with the park lever applied automatically by the brake pedal
7.8
January 10, 2017
Vehicle did its job and got us where we needed to go.
A Signal indicator that came up, each time, advising that the vehicle needed a service. Vehicle had been abused.
6.0
January 8, 2017
easy communicate.
9.2
TorstenJanuary 6, 2017
The guy at Thrifty renatl desk was very very vwry friendly. Amazing. He was perfect!
nothing
8.8
JamesJanuary 6, 2017
Once the desk was located the booking was taken care of very efficiently.
The desk was hard to locate due to signs sending us to the wrong building. There was no clear key drop point before 6am and the key drop procedure wasn't explained to us on rental.
7.8
SiobhanJanuary 5, 2017
Excellent service and the exact car I booked. Helpful staff that made it easy to pick up and drop off the car. Great value for money and I will definitely be using Thrifty for my next car hire trip.
9.8
January 4, 2017
Late return of deposit
7.4
KatrinaJanuary 3, 2017
The customer service from the Thrifty staff we encountered were exceptional. Extremely friendly and helpful and made the hire an absolute pleasure. Thank you
Nothing.
8.8
January 3, 2017
All good
All.good
8.2
January 2, 2017
Fast and friendly
No comment
8.2
MaryJanuary 2, 2017
Almost a new car. Only done 6600km.
Did not like the charge for a second driver. We have never had to pay for second driver before.
8.8
January 2, 2017
good value for money
filthy car
6.4
MarkJanuary 1, 2017
all great staff and car
none
8.8
MeganDecember 29, 2016
Price and friendly help
9.2
December 28, 2016
Very easy to do the transaction
Car inside could have been cleaner. Lollie papers in back
7.6
December 28, 2016
Condition of car and the ease of the drop off process
Wait at pick up
7.2
December 25, 2016
The car is comfortable.
No provide GPS.
7.2
December 22, 2016
The car was very clean and fuel efficient!
No negative comments
8.4
lewisDecember 21, 2016
G'DAY, WITH THE ADDITION OF TERMIMAL 4, IT IS A LONGWAY TO WALK ESPECIALY WHEN YOU HAVE A CROOK HIP TO YOUR RENTAL OFFICE. MAYBE IN THE FUTURE ADD A CAR RENTAL STATION CLOSER TO TERMIMAL 4. ALSO I DID NOT APPRECIATE HAVING TO PAY FOR THE CAR HIRE WHEN I BOOKED IT OR THE OVERSEAS TAX IT INCURRED.
8.6
December 21, 2016
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Airport counter was closed and had to go to counter at Park Royal. Very busy morning and a long wait in line.
8.4
MichaelDecember 16, 2016
car was only 6/8 full of fuel
9.0
RajinderDecember 11, 2016
Following: car was cleaned inside Helpful staff on the counter Car as per specs (new almost)
Following: outside cleaning Wait in the line before reaching your number No instructions except car handing the keys
7.0
heleneDecember 10, 2016
Easy
Car was scratched all over, had unpleasant smell
7.8
PieterDecember 8, 2016
The upgrade although it seemed to be a similar vehicle to the one booked. Generally the hiring experience with Thrifty went well.
The overall hire cost was too expensive.
8.0
December 8, 2016
Friendliness of staff and cost. The car was a good size for the 2 of us.
The walking with bags from the airport terminal. Wife has a heart condition.
9.0
GraemeDecember 7, 2016
Instant confirmation of booking.
Difficult to find rental office. Poor signage at the airport.
8.4
December 7, 2016
Price and ease in and out of location
Bit more friendliness from staff would go a long way....without customers there is no need for staff....customers arent a distraction...they are the reason employees are there.
9.6
December 6, 2016
Easy to book and drop off
thrifty counter didn't open until 6am when the flights came in 1hr prior to that.
8.2
BradleyDecember 3, 2016
Ease of pickup
7.8
RONALDDecember 1, 2016
Customer Service
9.2
SamNovember 30, 2016
Took out insurance through broker as Thrifty insurance too costly
7.4
AdamNovember 29, 2016
Great Customer Service - Everyone had a smile and very helpful
n/a
9.8
November 29, 2016
The staff was very helpful
Booked a Ford Focus and end up getting a Toyota Corolla didn't get what I booked
6.2
DavidNovember 28, 2016
It was easy to book & easy to pick up & drop off The reason I have put 60 mins for pick up is because our flight landed at 4-50 am & Thrifty dont open till 6 am This was not a concern of mine at all Thank you
All good Thank you
8.6
November 21, 2016
The car was great and we had a lovely holiday driving it around. We did wonder how difficult it would be for us to get out of the airport and to return the car to the airport, but with the instructions given to us when we picked up the car, we managed well enough and would be much more knowledgeable next time!
9.2
November 19, 2016
Excellent pickup service staff and drop off staff
New car made strange road noises
9.4
November 15, 2016
Helpful staff, tried hard to make sure we were happy.
Nothing
8.4
November 15, 2016
Was very happy experience
Only one thing which is took long time to drop it. Others than that was very good experience
8.4
November 14, 2016
Location of the rental office. Friendly staff.
I booked the Focus and gave my flight info weeks ago. Still I wasn't gotten the model and offered a i30 instead. Checking around the yard during pickup and return, I couldn't see one Focus makes me wonder if Thrifty has truly a Focus in their fleet as advertised
7.2
November 13, 2016
I couldn't speak highly enough of the staff at thrifty they stayed up to an hour longer so that we could pick up our car after midnight as our flight had been delayed.
9.2
ValentineNovember 13, 2016
Andious was simply fabulous
colour of the car.
6.6
TRACEYNovember 10, 2016
first car had smoke smell so requested a replacement which was granted without any fuss... very happy with the dealings with Thrifty
8.2
November 8, 2016
everything went well
nothing
8.8
SERGIONovember 6, 2016
Despite turning up on wrong day a vehicle was found very quickly
Nothing
7.8
AndreaOctober 31, 2016
Good service. Thanks!
9.0
October 30, 2016
Everything was easy from start to finish. The staff were wonderful, even though the lines were out the door the staff were calm and apologetic.
The queue was large. But, the staff were dealing with some pretty serious language barriers and a busy Melbourne weekend, it was to be expected.
8.8
SemOctober 30, 2016
The fact that the car I booked is what I got. The staff at the parking and in the Thrifty office were also very helpful - which is always nice.
Nothing really. Everything was great.
10.2
CatherineOctober 30, 2016
The Thrifty service at both Melbourne and Sydney airport was excellent. The friendly and helpful staff along the way was the best I have had. Also, when I made a location drop off change, the process was simple and easy.
9.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Melbourne
Excellent
8.25 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings