Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Melbourne

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Melbourne and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

June 5, 2017
Counter staff were very helpful.
Long wait time at counter. Only 1 of the 2 prebooked car seats were available. Long delay to locate extra seat.
7.0
June 5, 2017
Very friendly staff.
We asked if we could pick the car up two earlier than requested. Don't think the staff really tried to accommodate our request.
8.6
BernhardJune 4, 2017
Very friendly staff
9.4
June 1, 2017
Convenience during pickup and drop-off
Nil
6.0
May 28, 2017
The size of the car is comfortable
No screen wiping water!
6.6
May 27, 2017
The lady at the counter was very bubbly and friendly.
Nothing.
6.6
May 26, 2017
customer service was fantastic, very helpful with directions too,
8.6
May 26, 2017
Wasn't informed the location opened at 6am
9.0
RossMay 24, 2017
Thankyou, all good
9.0
May 22, 2017
I like that it states whether the car you're selecting is located in airport terminal or not.
7.6
May 20, 2017
All good thank you
8.2
May 20, 2017
Great staff - very helpful and polite.
Car cleanliness was poor
6.8
May 19, 2017
Ease of booking.
Was given an 'upgrade', however I booked a specific car for Apple Car Play feature. I asked the counter staff if the 'upgrade' offered the same feature, which she said it did. It didn't. Disappointing
7.4
May 17, 2017
Staff.
Price. Condition off the car. Cleanliness of car
7.0
May 16, 2017
Seemless !!!
8.6
PiMay 14, 2017
Full tank petrol.
Worried about the existing scratches on car when I picked up the car. Worried thrifty might charge me out of nothing which I had bad experience in another country!
7.0
May 14, 2017
Great fuel economy and comfortable for what we needed it for.
9.8
May 11, 2017
Realistic pricing.
Nothing was a problem
8.0
May 5, 2017
Service
Tyres under-inflated, possible alignment issue but hard to say as tyres so flat. Windscreen wiper wash empty.
9.0
May 4, 2017
Near pick up points within city
7.6
April 30, 2017
the ease of everything go in get keys then off you go
thought insurance is too expensive
8.2
April 27, 2017
Car was very clean. Car was easy to drive. Thrift staff on site were helpful & knowledgeable.
It was a little difficult to see objects in the blind spots of the car. Legroom in the back was very limited. For such a small car, I felt the value for money was not great.
8.2
SamanthaApril 20, 2017
Great customer service
Liked everything
9.8
April 19, 2017
The guy at the drop off in the parking area was rather pushy and impolite. We did not feel comfortable leaving the keys with him. He was like that with the counter staff as well where we handed over our keys.
7.6
April 18, 2017
Location to our airbnb
8.0
AnthonyApril 17, 2017
Good clean car with low mileage and no damage so no hassles sorting things out at start of the rental.
Nothing.
8.8
ChrisApril 12, 2017
Friendliness at pick up and ease of collection
Nothing
8.2
April 10, 2017
The car was great. Interior was a bit worn, but that was fine. It drove really well and the whole family was comfortable in it. Staff when picking up the car was friendly and helpful.
The drop off was a bit confusing. No one really told me what was going on. I felt a little vulnerable walking away without some sort of receipt/proof that I had in fact returned the car. :)
8.4
GemmaApril 10, 2017
Staff were friendly
Ordered a car with an infant car seat and the seat wasn't installed when we arrived. We had to wait for the person to install it. Originally they tried to install a larger child seat when I had booked a infant seat, so they had to go and get the correct seat.
6.4
MichaelApril 9, 2017
Staff- Very professional.
7.6
VaughnApril 8, 2017
Got what I ordered..
The car had been previously in an accident to the offside front wing and door which was noticeable... suppose to be new car..!
7.8
NicoleApril 7, 2017
the car was great and we loved it. Perfect use for our business trip
Collecting the car took so long. There was only two people on the desk and about 15 people waiting. When I arrived I waited in line for 15 minutes before the two customers who were already at the desk when I arrived, to finish. I think in future you should have one person dedicated to walk ins & one person for people that have already booked online
8.0
April 5, 2017
All worked well
Getting a petrol top up at airport but know this is out of your control
8.4
ElizabethApril 5, 2017
Car was a Toyota. Much better than Kia or Hyundai. Much better fuel consumption, comfort and had Cruise Control. Loved it
Nothing
9.6
LyndaApril 4, 2017
Car and service
Nothing
7.8
PeterApril 3, 2017
everything was smooth and quick which was very good.
would have liked a smaller premium but my wife was aware of the cost when she booked it so no valid complaint.
8.2
March 31, 2017
Helpful staff
The car had not been filled with fuel prior to pickup and I did not realise until the fuel light came on just as I was dropping the car off. On drop off the staff were helpful and will organise a refund of the fuel I paid for to refuel the car.
9.6
March 30, 2017
Great customer service
Waiting so long for pick up of vechile due to bad weather,flights being delayed so hence there was a back log of people
8.2
March 29, 2017
The car was dirty inside and outside when picked up.
7.4
March 28, 2017
Well I haven't got my deposit back yet You should send out these surveys AFTER the deposit has been sorted!
7.8
March 28, 2017
Ease of sign up and quick departure,withoutad nauseum of over the top paper work
Nil
9.8
March 26, 2017
I paid for a full tank of petrol, but didn't use anywhere near that much.
9.0
March 26, 2017
I did not get the car make that I booked.
6.6
March 22, 2017
Good, clean, low km car. Easy to drive and good A/C
When I went to pick up my car they didn't have one to give me at the time I booked it for. So I was held up for a long time until they had one.
8.4
March 16, 2017
They gave me a map how to find the fuel station at MEL airport.
8.8
March 16, 2017
INFO AT DESK ABOUT GOING THROUGH TOLLS WOULD BE GOOD AS I FORGOT TO ASK
9.2
March 12, 2017
the car was very clean and easy to drive.
very hard to find drop off point for the car when returning it.
8.2
ChristineMarch 12, 2017
Staff were friendly, car was nice and clean, plus upgraded.
Took forever to get car with jammed comms and car being washed. It was the Avalon air show weekend, so it was busy but as a business traveller this is a huge issue, as I was stressed about making important meeting, also I had made effort to leave family early in Sydney to allow lots of time to get through Melbourne to meeting in Dandenong.
8.6
March 9, 2017
Everything
8.8
March 9, 2017
There was a huge queue waiting for cars so I think more staff could have been put on
8.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Melbourne
Excellent
8.15 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings