Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Cairns

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Cairns and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 25, 2017
Low kilometres, current model and large info screen
N/A
8.6
January 24, 2017
Staff at the check in desk and the pick up desk were extremely polite and helpful. Also, at the dropoff desk in the car park. Could not have asked for better assistance and courtesy.
There were no negatives at all!
9.6
MarkusJanuary 15, 2017
reversing camera
8.8
StephenJanuary 1, 2017
Great vehicle easy to drive comfortable seats except rear seats very cramped for adults limited seating when you have two child seats in car. Plenty of power readonably evonomical for size of vehicle
Car is very large hard to park in confined spaces with constant threat of someone scratching or damaging it
8.8
NormanDecember 31, 2016
The car rental desk was easy to find, the attendant processed the paperwork quickly and everything was ready at the car pick up point. The vehicle was nice to drive.
8.6
December 31, 2016
Appreciate the bigger car - hope can get same next time when travelling with other people.
I thought the increased hire rate was due to low availability of vehicles. But car availability looked pretty high at Cairns airport. Price jack appeared consistent across major rental companies through search engines.
8.4
December 28, 2016
It was all good - ease of booking, pick up and drop off. Car was immaculate and air con efficient (we were in Nth Qld!)
Shame that for the sake of an extra couple of hours you have to pay another whole day's rental.
8.8
ThomasDecember 27, 2016
Every thing nice economical car to drive ,good aircon
Nothinl
9.4
PeterNovember 22, 2016
It did the job.
Missed the extra power. Small boot.
8.8
November 16, 2016
No hassles
Nothing really
9.2
November 8, 2016
Great friendly service
I didn't like waiting to be served at the counter for 15 minutes. there were plenty of people behind me to, they would've taken a lot longer to be served.
8.4
JocelynOctober 14, 2016
Excellent experience. Thank you to all the helpful staff.
9.0
June 24, 2016
Thank you so much. The car was great!
8.6
May 12, 2016
Thought we had ordered a Holden Cruze but got a Toyota Carolla instead
8.0
ChristopherMay 7, 2016
Nice car to drive
It was a hastle for the girl at the counter to come out and show her some damage during a precheck of the car. Car was not very clean.
6.4
MurrayMay 2, 2016
The Collection of the vehicle was simple & easy. Staff were helpful.
Distance of drop off point to the departures lounge at the airport.
9.0
PeterApril 26, 2016
The car was above expectations and better than we originally asked for
Nil
8.8
justinApril 20, 2016
quick
8.4
PeterApril 20, 2016
The staff were great
The Outlander's ride is fairly rigid and left us a bit stiff after some of our longer exploring days
8.6
April 18, 2016
Was quite difficult to obtain the booking reference. The app did not work and the web page slow and hard to navigate.
8.8
December 3, 2015
Excelent service and great car!
8.8
colinNovember 21, 2015
Very efficient people ar the airport desk and in the care hire lot Car was in excellent condition and very economical to run Very pleased
Nothing
9.0
KerryNovember 18, 2015
Best car hire experience ever. Staff very helpful and cheerful.
Nothing, a great experience
10.0
October 12, 2015
Friendly staff.
Completed over the ph app for insurance then salesperson at thrifty tried to sell insurance again. At pick up I was Informed thrifty wouldn't deal with chosen insurance Co in the event of damage to the car; thrifty would only deal with the person hiring the car. vehicles should have GPS fitted .Vehicle should be jointly inspected on return.
7.2
October 4, 2015
good on fuel
It had a bit of a wet smell to the car
7.6
SimonOctober 1, 2015
Clean car. Almost new.
No floor mats just seemed a bit odd.
8.4
June 13, 2015
Car was very comfortable and easy to drive except for the problem listed in "What you didn't like". I was also very happy with the service both in the terminal and at the pickup/drop off point
The car had a tendency to feel as though it was going to stall under acceleration from stationary. This was most disconcerting. On returning the car I was told this was because it must have been in the "economy" setting. I hated it!
8.6
March 26, 2015
Staff were helpfull with a map and directions
I would have prefered to get the Nissan Tiida
7.8
EdmundMarch 21, 2015
Quick and easy.
For some reason the dip with on the headlights didn't work. Left the info on return!
8.8
February 17, 2015
Great job! Everyone was very friendly and worked efficiently.
Steering wheel is on the wrong side!!!
9.2
KayFebruary 9, 2015
It was a very good experience from arriving at the Thrifty desk and dropping off the keys at the of the holiday. I can't speak highly enough of Thrifty. Just excellent!
9.6
MatthewFebruary 4, 2015
excellent service. Not sure if car was an upgrade or same, but not what i had ordered. Car could have ben cleaner
Not sure if car was an upgrade or same, but not what i had ordered.
8.2
ErinFebruary 3, 2015
The girl at Cairns airport was lovely. Very informative and helped us with directions to our resort, gave us maps, let us know about the troubles with a mosquitoe plaque of late and to get insect repellent. My other experiences with rental car collection is they're either too busy or bored to bother. Well done to this staff member.
9.0
October 26, 2014
Friendly and quick. Only quibble was a child seat still in the car but we dropped it in so no issue at all. Phoned up to drop in layer and no issues with that either
10.0
October 17, 2014
If anything the car seats could be a little more comfortable
9.777777777777779
PaulOctober 11, 2014
Mitsubishi AX Car extremely comfortable for long distant travel.
All very good. a most satisfactory experience
8.88888888888889
October 7, 2014
Car bigger than booked- excellent
Nothing
9.333333333333334
MarkOctober 3, 2014
Wonderful car experience
10.0
GeoffSeptember 21, 2014
The vehicle suited our needs perfectly - roomy, economical and easy to drive.
8.222222222222221
September 15, 2014
Great new car, great price. Staff in the booth on the car lot were very helpful.
Staff at the counter in the airport weren't very helpful. The child seat we ordered wasn't available.
8.444444444444445
paulSeptember 5, 2014
Ease of drop off
Car was dirty on pickup
8.222222222222221
August 20, 2014
Seemd pretty expensive for a little car but well managed and nice staff (albeit under training)
I was told extra drivers could be added in absentia by providing a driver's licence number but it transpired when we got there that this had to be done in person, which involved driving into Cairns. Bit of a pain but not too serious and the staff were very nice and quick (which seems most unbusual in Cairns)
8.88888888888889
August 17, 2014
Excellent service from front desk at Cairns airport
8.222222222222221
August 6, 2014
ease of the package - ordering, pickup, dropoff
7.777777777777778
MichaelAugust 4, 2014
Very pleasant experience from start to finish. Quick pick-up and drop-off, no hidden charges and next to new vehicle. Would highly recommend.
9.777777777777779
July 22, 2014
We were given an upgraded vehicle without fuss and was ready and waiting which was excellent from the staff. very pleased with the service provided.
9.777777777777779
AngelikaJuly 20, 2014
Would have liked more info on the workings of the car e.g. how and where to open petrol cap, could have said it was a European car and that blinkers,wipers and lights are placed in different positions and that the vehicle could have been returned to the domestic terminal site instead of international terminal site where is originally collected it from, as I was flying out from domestic. Next time I will know better, but it would have helped in the beginning to have that info.
9.11111111111111
DouglasJuly 19, 2014
Very nice car
trying to find thrithty park at airport maroochydore
9.777777777777779
SimonJuly 18, 2014
Continued valued customer of Thrifty and appreciate professional service
9.777777777777779
July 17, 2014
Easy and efficient
10.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Cairns
Excellent
8.9 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations