Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

First Car Rental logo - rentalcars.com

First Car Rental Reviews Johannesburg Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on First Car Rental at Johannesburg Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

November 30, 2016
High mileage of car slight unbalanced wheel
9.4
LindiweOctober 31, 2016
The helpful staff when my credit card was not accepted.
The fact that I was not told in time that my credit card will not be accepted because it was printed.
7.0
October 26, 2016
Friendly and diligent staff. A very good quality vehicle that although apparently well used was well turned out
8.6
AngelaSeptember 27, 2016
Convenient pick up and drop off
Car body was in poor condition which included a loose side panel. It was also a lower grade car than the one booked and this wasn't brought to my attention by the staff.
5.6
PetrusSeptember 20, 2016
Friendly ness of the staff
I got the car at night and check 90% of the marks was on the form But a very important on wass missed ind in the dark was not vissable The right front tyre was badly repaired with a plug to the side. I ONLY SAW THAT THE FOLLOWING MORNING WHEN STOPPED AT A GARAGE
6.6
YINGHAOAugust 26, 2016
the car is good for family trip and off-roading. diesel engine is powerful and trustworthy.
the reverse light is NOT working for the car. other than that everything is ok.
8.0
August 21, 2016
Car very clean. Fast charge back money.
It was impossible to find First Car Rental office in Nelspruit. They should give information not only for the main office, in Johannesburg Airport, but also for different returning location.
7.8
ManetteAugust 16, 2016
Staff were friendly & just wanted to help where they could so offered a 'bigger' car to what we had booked.
Unfortunately the 'change' was a relatively old car that had the space but not the fuel economy or nippiness that we were looking for.
7.8
peterAugust 3, 2016
Staff excellent Manageress very helpful with the problem I had
Nothing too add here
9.0
July 30, 2016
EXCELLENT !
9.2
RonaldJuly 12, 2016
Very helpful staff at Johannesburg Airport but much better service at Durban Airport where I dropped off the car
I picked up the car at 21.30 it was dark.Only when I got to Kwa Zulu Natal did I realise that the right rear light was not working?I looked through the lens & noticed there was no globe?I tried to phone from Balito but was told to hold on,it took so long to hang on I put the phone down.This car should have been checked by your staff prior
8.8
June 20, 2016
Car was comfortable.
8.2
May 19, 2016
the car had lots of minor scratches on picking up, this took time to mark these down on the paperwork, thus taking upto an hour to drive away.
7.2
May 5, 2016
Although they said the car was same category, only thing it matched was both are Auto gear. I ordered Nissan TIIDA but got Honda BRIO which was less engine power, smaller wheel size etc.
8.4
JOHNApril 20, 2016
did not state engine size
8.8
April 11, 2016
Very easy to retrieve the car as well as handing it back.
N/A
8.8
April 3, 2016
just about everthing
No complaints at all
8.6
March 16, 2016
The service was great. Friendly staff and very efficient. The car was clean, ready and really easy to drive.
There was not enough choice of cars. I was not given the car I was promised.
7.8
March 16, 2016
Comfortable, great boot
Car underpowered - did not cope well when aircon activated.
8.4
March 15, 2016
Very helpful staff Clear information
Nothing so far Waiting to get my invoice & deposit returned at present
8.2
March 1, 2016
Change of car (due to service) in Durban proceeded with no Problems. Personal were very helpfull. Had to wait a while but we received a higher category car. Thank you !!
The car we received in Johannesburg was due to be serviced after ca. 1500 km (we booked the car for 6 weeks car). We had to organize a change of car in Durban.
7.0
March 1, 2016
The staff were very friendly and understanding when I hadn't understood the rental requirements and were able to help me with alternate arrangements.
I did not feel that the third party rental site explained the upfront holding costs adequately. THese were only "explained" in the contract terms and agreements after I had clicked on the button to book the car. Having been a driver of a Ford Fiesta, I did not feel that a Hinda Jazz was an equivalent car.
7.0
March 1, 2016
Good service. Clean car economical.
Computer was not working when I took the car but still good service.
8.6
March 1, 2016
Unfortunately the car had a flat battery on Saturday morning so had to try and find jumper leads and with help managed to push start the car, got to my meeting late but First Car did come and swop the car for me.
8.4
DouglasFebruary 29, 2016
Friendly service.
Not clear on rental car site what the deposit will be for advance planning purposes. Car was underpowered, will have to get a bigger one next time.
8.4
February 11, 2016
Great staff very efficient
Nothing
9.2
WikusFebruary 6, 2016
Good service, nice car. Thanks guys!
9.4
January 20, 2016
Excellent service
9.2
LuqmanJanuary 13, 2016
Comfortable,navigation system and a/c.
Nothing
7.8
MelanieJanuary 12, 2016
Fantastic service and good car
Nothing - all good
9.0
EvarDecember 25, 2015
Promptness of service, the car condition and performance.
Car booked wasn't available, hired a GPS gadget from the company that wasn't charging so worked 20% of time.
6.8
December 7, 2015
I like the fact that you gave me the serviced car.
NILL
7.4
FranciscoNovember 3, 2015
New car.
Not really easy to know some terms and conditions of the agreement.
8.0
October 28, 2015
Friendly helpful staff Quick return of vehicle....took less than 10 minutes
6.4
October 19, 2015
Service and correctness of the company activities.
9.0
AdemOctober 11, 2015
Good service
Nothing really
7.6
StergeonOctober 1, 2015
Was not the model I ask for
8.0
September 30, 2015
Loved the car , the build in sat nav was fantastic and proved very useful
Having to give it back
9.0
KolekileSeptember 29, 2015
The service was excellent and the car was super.
9.6
August 15, 2015
The booking went really smooth. There was a mixup with two of my email adresses that was sorted by staff on the phone.
The additional cost for glass insurance, extra driver, nav, etc. etc. etc. made it a really bad experience cost-wise. Picking up was really,.... really slow :-(
6.4
PatrickAugust 12, 2015
Friendliness of staff and reliability of vehicle
Some interior trim issues and sunroof worked intermittently
8.4
ChristopherAugust 2, 2015
Staff member was extremely helpful and the car was new.
9.4
AlanJune 20, 2015
good service
nothing to mention
8.6
davidJune 19, 2015
won,t hire a hiace again will go for combi or hyandi. would prefer automatic.
8.2
AlbertJune 15, 2015
Everything worked out very well, wasn't sure about additional payments made on day of collection (as I confirmed with the UK car rental company) that no additional costs were to be made, prepaid etc, staff explained what the retainer was for, made sense. Very happy with the service provided.
9.4
May 9, 2015
nIce all round customer service
I didn't like handing back the car - I want to keep it
9.6
KarlMay 6, 2015
Very competent and professional staff and no alternative car offered. I got what I wanted in a hassle free service. I did also go and give the manager a compliment when dropping off the car
9.2
RobertMay 4, 2015
Managers knowledge of the product was impressive
condition of the car
7.4
RobertMay 3, 2015
Everything in place at arrival,efficient,friendly staff.
Overhead sign boards for the location of where to return the car. Boards are confusing..forcing you stay right,wheras you have keep left in the final stage.
9.0
April 25, 2015
Thank you for the upgrade
8.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
First Car Rental Rating
Johannesburg Airport
Very good
7.7 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings