Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Johannesburg Airport

Read customer reviews on Avis at Johannesburg Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

StanleyFebruary 18, 2018
Great staff, good vehicle and excellent service.
9.2
HaroonFebruary 8, 2018
Collecting with no much wait
General conditions of the car
6.2
BelindaJanuary 29, 2018
Awesome service thank you
9.0
DuncanJanuary 28, 2018
Ease of pick up and go
Nothing to do with the car rental but it would be nice if all the rental company's would have trolley for luggage on dropping off car
9.6
DavidJanuary 15, 2018
The staff was friendly and helpful.
7.2
IbrahimoJanuary 13, 2018
Still doing on this way.
Everything was ok.
8.6
EliJanuary 8, 2018
Friendliness of the staff
8.4
PeterNovember 28, 2017
Service was very good and the vehicle in excellent condition.
The GPS did not work as it would not charge. It was a waste of money and caused some difficulty in us getting around
8.4
ROBERTONovember 27, 2017
Fast pick up and drop.
No info whatsoever about the car. We didn't get a map we didn't know about the electronic device to pay the toll fees on the highway. They just say: here are the keys, there is the car. Go in peace.
8.4
AdamNovember 11, 2017
Very good company have used them a few times before
The qeue at pick up was too long
8.8
November 7, 2017
Car as a better chioce, as I used it for self drive Game viewing in a National park were the car got very dusty , which I was able to wipe most of it off with a rag The cost was with petrol a 1/4 the cost offered by the lodge for a single person
None
9.6
NeliswaOctober 30, 2017
NOTHING EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT
9.0
AlanOctober 20, 2017
It was a brand new car, very good fuel economy. Very comfortable.
E tag on my return journey failed to work, so embarrassed when in an e tag only gate at the first toll on the N1
8.0
October 17, 2017
Very friendly staff, went out their way to help is as we had two children with us. A toddler and an infant. After a 12hour international flight any help is very much appreciated
7.8
MononoOctober 17, 2017
Non. I had great service
8.8
October 16, 2017
Good service
9.6
October 15, 2017
Low price; good car
An eternal wait at the counter upon picking up the car ! Ther line was short (about 5) and 4 open counters but it still took 35 Minutes ! And that after a long-haul night flight ! How can it be that average customer proc time is about 15 Minutes ? Processing me, in contrast, took a bit under 5.
7.4
RonaldOctober 14, 2017
Car was new
Surprised a new Toyota Corolla didn't have bluetooth connection for phone.
9.4
LeighOctober 3, 2017
Got the car I ordered
6.2
September 30, 2017
Friendly service. Well organized processes.
The aircon didn't work well.
6.6
September 29, 2017
The staff was very helpful. Loved the car.
8.4
williamSeptember 29, 2017
easy of doing business
9.8
AndrewSeptember 25, 2017
Economical car
The air conditioning did not work.
7.0
JamesSeptember 17, 2017
The car was a pleasure to drive I booked it over the internet a week before I got home just had to wait a little longer than I expected but was happy at the end service was good had no problems with the car very happy.
8.8
WitoldSeptember 17, 2017
Avis is as it should be
long waiting at the counter to get the car
9.6
September 9, 2017
They explained almost everything to me. Very helpful and most important they gave me feeling that a big company stand behind me and it really was like that.
Just one unclear thing that they didn't told me that toll rods are not free, actually the guy that took me to the car told me it is free.. and he also asked us for tip for walking us 10 seconds to the car when he wasn't even asked to :D but ok
9.2
CassiaSeptember 8, 2017
The ar/con did not work properly.
6.4
SylviaSeptember 5, 2017
All well
Not powerful
7.4
August 30, 2017
very friendly service from all, from the attendant at the counter to the man who handed us the vehicle
i would like to get a map for the journey. my waze gps played havoc with us on the return journey resulting in a late ( very) return of the car. In the old days the car rental companies used to provide a map. Avis, please try harder!!!
8.8
August 28, 2017
Very very good all round.
8.0
August 13, 2017
Service and quality of car excellent.
9.2
July 30, 2017
Good service
Nothing
8.0
HumphreyJuly 22, 2017
They were very helpful and easy to extend by one more day when my flight change to 22 july.
All was good
9.0
HendrikJuly 20, 2017
New vehicle
Smallish boot
9.0
grahamJuly 15, 2017
The car was fine , a few scratches , but was fine
There wasn't anything I didn't like
7.0
July 13, 2017
excellent service throughout
nothing
9.0
July 13, 2017
The pick up to be quicker
The time to finalize the paperwork
8.8
GraemeJuly 11, 2017
Staff were very helpful with requested change of dates
N/A
6.8
MogamadJuly 10, 2017
All was good. Car was fairly New.
There was nothing that i did not like.
7.8
July 4, 2017
Great vehicle
8.6
ImakandoJune 29, 2017
I had a good time with Avis. Thanks.
5.6
DavidJune 28, 2017
I got the specific car that I requested - medium size with large boot to keep luggage out of sight - in a country where theft is common. It was also a car which I know from experi nice is ideal for roads in South Africa and Swaziland. The staff were also very friendly and courteous.
9.6
June 16, 2017
I extended the rental for an other 30 days
9.0
June 14, 2017
Avis is tops. The staff very helpful.
The prise quoted from rentalcars.com was not the price that i paid at the end of the booking. When the payment came thru it suddenly went up a lot. AVIS explained to me that I dit not read the small print.
8.8
AhmetMay 26, 2017
Smoothness of the operation
Nothing... really nothing.
10.2
May 21, 2017
Price service relation was good
Desk service poor
6.4
May 20, 2017
Overall cost, and reliability of the vehicle.
Nothing specific. I would probably go for a "better" vehicle next time as the version I requested and got was underpowered and lacked nice finishes.
7.8
DixonMay 18, 2017
The fast and efficient service at the airport office. Online booking and confirmation of booking - prompt response.
9.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Avis Rating
Johannesburg Airport
Excellent
8.1 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*
Privacy policy

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.