Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Johannesburg Airport

Read customer reviews on Avis at Johannesburg Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 11, 2017
Condition of the car and value for money
You should have told me about the extra R2000 that is requirement for toll gates etc via email before arriving at the airport and that no cash is accepted, only a credit card is accepted for this R2000
7.4
DevanathanJanuary 9, 2017
EFFIENTCY EXELLENT SERVICE
9.2
JoseDecember 11, 2016
Friendly and very helpful staff
10.2
December 5, 2016
Not your fault, but don't really like the small Chevy.Gear ratio.
9.2
December 4, 2016
Most everything. Very helpful people. Nice car.
several scratches had been "painted over" with white shoe polish, which only came to light when we washed it. This is not a great way to present a car to someone as if it is in mint condition, but really not.
8.6
December 2, 2016
Great Service, brand new car, really enjoyed it.
9.0
November 23, 2016
Car was fine for our use. We travelled nearly 5000Km in 3.5 weeks. Nothing went wrong.
The seat covers were very stained.
8.2
KudakwasheNovember 14, 2016
all good
car needed wheel balancing
8.4
JaninaNovember 10, 2016
Very efficient service at check-in and super friendly help at the desk (Jake I think it was?) Car was in great condition, couldn't complain at all! A bit of a pricy choice on our side but we trusted Avis.
Total price for a week a little too high.
8.8
October 31, 2016
Perfect drop off.
Pick up took too long
8.6
ThomasOctober 25, 2016
reliability of AVIS. Fast exchange of the car, after informing about a tyre problem. Positive reply on the claim of overtaking the costs by Rentalcars within a few days.
nothing
9.0
October 5, 2016
friendly and convenient service
nothing
9.2
September 20, 2016
Easy to drive, friendly staff
Two punctures car very basic not even electric windows
8.2
September 18, 2016
The car
Avis personal originally did not provide my booked car and to insist on it as I paid a lot of money. And that took too much time waiting and should have made an upgrade for an option.
9.8
MARGOLOFFAugust 16, 2016
waiting time for pick up (short queue and sufficient staff) friendly staff
express return without any signature, don't know what i will have to pay in addition to the original amount
7.8
August 8, 2016
Clean simple service. Helpful staff. Price point compared to higher tiers.
Price point to higher tiers is a large jump for not much more value.
9.0
PAULAugust 3, 2016
Fast efficient service
9.6
WillemAugust 1, 2016
I did not get a full statement
9.4
July 18, 2016
evrything
nothing
9.0
July 8, 2016
quick help
They wanted we should be responsible for some bump on the car! No good plan of the car to start with and when returning it. You get to sign the contract before you check the car!
6.2
SanjivJuly 4, 2016
Very spacious
3rd row seat did not fold flat
8.6
GerhardJune 13, 2016
Ease of transaction,no hassles,no problem just a breeze.Thank you
9.0
RolandJune 8, 2016
Final invoice takes too long and AVIS draws admin charges for a reported cracked windscreen.
7.0
KeithJune 6, 2016
The car had done 18000kms and seemed under powered and somewhat tired I normally get given a newer car with fewer Kms on clock
6.4
May 29, 2016
I was handled efficiently during pick up and the car was in excellent condition.
9.4
DominiqueMay 19, 2016
The trip to my destination and the good condition of the car . Very reliable and silent .
10.2
AdrianMay 15, 2016
Friendly,helpful staff. Excellent car,excellent service altogether.
Nothing
9.2
May 3, 2016
in peak hours there was quite a long queue. Different prices between Budget and Avis when part of the same group.
7.8
April 17, 2016
Good service by Avis staff.
8.4
April 6, 2016
Good value for money.
Collection of the vehicle was very slow. I stood in a queue for over 45 minutes.
7.6
April 5, 2016
Received upgrade from the booked VW Polo to the VW Polo TSI. The extra power was great and didn't sacrifice fuel economy too much. (still got near 1,000km per tank)
8.0
March 18, 2016
Exact car I had booked
Waited more that an hour and a half in the Avis queue. Only had a couple of staff on. Unacceptable after a long haul flight.
8.6
March 7, 2016
A good service and I enjoyed.
I was so hurry when I dropped the car because I was afraid of delay the return time. If I was delay 0ne or two hours,will you charge me for another day rent fee?
8.6
March 6, 2016
All good
Na
9.4
BonganiMarch 6, 2016
Avis staff members are always ready to be of assistance at anytime and they are frienday at all times.
Having to return to the airport to exchange the original car I have booked due to A/C water leak, 2 hours of my time was wasted by making a trip to and from the airport. It also seemed that the guy who assisted me at the returns section is/was aware of the problematic A/C.
8.6
CraigMarch 3, 2016
Didn't like that we didn't have unlimited mileage but was told we did when we booked.
9.0
March 3, 2016
I liked everything; service, the car-excellent
parting with the car, time was too short
10.0
DavidMarch 1, 2016
Genarally all good thank you.
9.8
MichaelMarch 1, 2016
Efficient and friendly service
Nothing. Good value for money!
9.2
MarkFebruary 29, 2016
Excellent in every aspect
Nothing
9.0
AlanFebruary 27, 2016
Speed of dropping off car
Dusty interior
8.4
February 21, 2016
The service delays at the collection counter at OR Tambo could be improved upon.
8.0
February 7, 2016
Car had no power
8.6
TorstenFebruary 3, 2016
Very friendly staff and good car condition.
The check-in process to get the car is tedious and inefficient. Too much Administration which is to be repeated each time I rent a car. Available Information about Driver and scanned documents should be used and the rental process be streamlined and shortened!!
9.2
January 31, 2016
Person at the check in counter was excellent. She was super efficient- best I've had!
9.2
January 27, 2016
Friendly service
I could not select my dropoff point on web page
8.6
January 10, 2016
The efficient and professional service including changing the car after we experienced a flat tyre and had no way of knowing if caused by hitting a pot hole or by a puncture.
The long wait to pick up car at the airport despite a very efficient and courteous member of staff. Perhaps more staff needed at particularly busy times?
8.0
SALEMJanuary 5, 2016
They will give you what you book.
Take more time standing in queue to pick up the car.
8.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
Johannesburg Airport
Excellent
8.6 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings