Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews San Diego Airport

Read customer reviews on Thrifty at San Diego Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

AdrianNovember 5, 2017
Counter staff were very helpful.
Choice of cars was very poor, when we arrived there was only 3 cars available. We booked a Ford Focus and ended up with a Hyundai Accent which was not very pleasing but was the best of what was available.
6.2
AndrewNovember 5, 2017
Quick and easy.
9.2
RobertOctober 19, 2017
Easy, if lengthy, pick up due to long queue, and drop off was straightforward. Staff helpful and friendly which was great, but most people just want to get going and not engage in or listen to others ahead in the queue making small talk. Sorry.
SatNav should be standard and not an expensive extra in this day and age. Or at least offer a reduced rate for longer hire periods. In the US, particularly in big cities, it is essential and should come with the car.
7.6
October 10, 2017
All insurance included
Nothing
8.0
KamaniOctober 4, 2017
Friendly Staff
7.6
christopherSeptember 27, 2017
Thrifty did not try to upsell unnecessary extra insurance.Nice to have a selection of cars to pick from. Pick up was only slow because of undecisive customers in front of us and the fact thrifty were trying to get them good deals as they had not pre booked.
Nothing
7.0
September 17, 2017
Customer service in San Diego was good
The satnav didnt work which meant ive pixked up a substantial bill on my phone. The bus transport at thrifty LA was poor. Service was slow and the driver rude. Bus was also filthy.
5.8
September 13, 2017
Easy, clean
Fuel efficiency not very good
7.6
September 4, 2017
Easy to locate and access
The car had relatively high mileage and was not in the best condition. Care had not been given to the body work or the cleanliness of the interior. Everything about the whole experience was average.
5.6
DuaneSeptember 3, 2017
Gail @ SD airport was terrific... professional & efficient ... Grazie!
9.0
September 3, 2017
Quick and easy
Didn't get the car make we wanted - the choice was quite limited.
8.4
September 3, 2017
Got the same type i booked without any discussions.
Took us over 1 hour at the counter after a 12hrs flight
5.8
KeithSeptember 2, 2017
The car hire was all good
7.2
TrevorSeptember 1, 2017
The SUV I eventually received was fine (Rav 4) and we were happy with the vehicle I also liked the fact that who ever I dropped the car off to comped the cost of the Sat Nav, lovely guy and he's a credit to your organisation
When I went to the car park to choose my car there was only two vehicles to choose from.One was a very old Jeep in poor condition and the other was a very small SUV that had a broken seat- not much of a choice and it was only after complaining that I received another vehicle that had recently been dropped off. The SatNav was awful, really bad!
7.4
August 21, 2017
Navigation system with wifi
Telephone calls did not work through Tab GPS system
7.4
joelJuly 27, 2017
easy pick up and check out of car.
no clear signage for getting back to the Interstate. Counter staff might be more helpful in this regard, although I accept that having a sat nav device they may consider this unnecessary. Travel Tab device was good but often gave confusing - and contradictory -instructions.
8.8
ElieJune 22, 2017
Every thing was ok
7.8
DOROTHYMay 22, 2017
Liked being able to choose which car to hire.
The queue for picking up the car was quite long and didn't seem to move very quickly. On returning the car we explained that we had used a couple of toll roads and no one could explain what we needed to do in this regard. We were given a phone number to call which didn't work!!
6.4
ManuelMay 18, 2017
Excellent
8.2
JohnMay 13, 2017
Helped with toll fees after we dropped the car off. Would have been good to have been warned about how to pay them.
Some damage on the car but no one seemed interested.
7.2
May 3, 2017
Brilliant job!! Will definitely rent again from you.
9.0
LionelMarch 11, 2017
The car rental centre is separate from the airport so only rental traffic to cope with also a dedicated area for satnav GPS sync on the way out of the complex.
Car rental centre away from the airport terminal meaning that luggage has to be loaded and unloaded from the shuttle bus.
9.4
GeorgeOctober 16, 2016
That was the smoothest rental, very streamlined with no hassle and returning the car was even simpler.
Could have given better direction to where to go to check out the car since there are multiple rental companies with their own check out booths.
9.0
JinOctober 14, 2016
Friendly staff. Professional. Did not try to upsell. Offered suggestions for dining in the area.
9.6
October 11, 2016
could not get the car i booked.
7.8
AndrewAugust 2, 2016
Lady on the counter at San Diego was very helpful.
7.4
GaryJuly 22, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff.
8.6
MarkJuly 5, 2016
We chose a Ford Focus and ended up with a hyundai compact, with no offer of a ford focus from the selection!
6.8
May 15, 2016
GPS did not work so well. They gave me an old version. But customer service did a fantastic job to handle our concern.
9.4
December 12, 2015
Convenience
9.0
LaurieDecember 11, 2015
Excellent price. Convenient. Good car.
nothing
9.8
December 1, 2015
Picking up & returning car was very easy. Helpful staff
8.6
November 14, 2015
Car performed well, although disappointed that we did not get a Dodge Caravan
Counter staff were not professional and unfriendly.
7.6
November 3, 2015
It was NEAT inside the car
There was NO reverse camera and had mild scratch
8.0
July 31, 2015
Shuttle was slow in coming
8.8
FaisalMay 21, 2015
The helpness from the employee and the prices
8.2
March 2, 2015
Convenient service
The compact car
6.2
January 20, 2015
The GPS did not function after 5 minutes because the battery didn't charge due to bad connector
8.6
October 13, 2014
The ac stoped workin . I replaced the car after 2 day . Had to wait for a long time for a new ca .
6.444444444444445
September 20, 2014
The car we got at the end was perfect for us
There were no cars aviable
6.888888888888889
JamesSeptember 1, 2014
Car was great.
Queue to collect car at airport.
8.222222222222221
NoelMay 27, 2014
Staff was very friendly, suggestion attractions to visit, and explain everything (including any different rules). even gave me a card for emergency road side assistance.
The car engine oil was running low, front left wheel was flat after 2 days.
8.666666666666666
PaulApril 8, 2014
Choice of cars at pickup. Very courteous staff.
9.555555555555555
March 26, 2014
Good Swift service
6.444444444444445
February 28, 2014
Good service, good car, fast transfer to airport from drop off zone, good value
Long queue to collect car, 45 minutes.
8.666666666666666
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
San Diego Airport
Very good
7.7 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations