Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Dollar logo - rentalcars.com

Dollar Reviews Kona Airport

Read customer reviews on Dollar at Kona Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

JohnDecember 5, 2016
Friendly staff and location of rental office.
All good
8.4
October 21, 2016
Good comprehensive insurance, hassle free hand over despite a small scratch, fully insured
I wanted a second driver for one week of the 5 weeks for 2nd week only and was told I would have to pay the daily rate for the rest of my hire time despite the fact that my friend would no longer be driving. I declined to put her on license as too expensive.
8.6
October 13, 2016
I was given a Nissan Pathfinder which is a good car for the family as I was staying in Hawaii for 4 weeks.
Dirty car - the outside was clean however the interior was dusty and sandy; car park was not lit so it was difficult to inspect the car;
6.2
October 12, 2016
Insistence To sell adjunctive services
7.0
September 9, 2016
They put the Ford Escape in same category as the Jeep Renegade. In reality Ford Escape is way bigger. Felt unhappy with what I got.
7.8
July 12, 2016
Excellent value for money Rate included all insurance.
Car a little small was expecting a jeep however received a VW Having to pay extra if you want additional drivers
8.6
RonnyMay 3, 2016
Upgraded to a Mustang Convertible V6 engine. Great fun to drive around the Big Island.
According to Rentalcars.com this was an onsite rental shop however a shuttle is required to reach all rental car shops at Kona Airport.
8.8
May 3, 2016
Fantastic car. Very comfortable for a family of 5
counter staff persuading us to upgrade for double the price we already paid. Made it sound like it was complimentary initially, almost tricked us into paying more
7.6
April 26, 2016
No consideration for dropping the car off 1 hour later than original time. Dollar wanted to charge a full day.
8.0
CraigMarch 19, 2016
staff were very good,car was outside, all nice and clean,were given a map, with directions,
went to the wrong hire company first, our fault.
9.4
stephenMarch 17, 2016
Tried to sell us every extra
7.4
February 9, 2016
I reserved Ford Fusion but they offered me Mazda 5 with mileage over 50000miles Not clean
6.4
KarenFebruary 7, 2016
The ease in both picking up and dropping off the vehicle, was so easy and quick. Overall an excellent experience.
9.0
February 3, 2016
Attempting to sell a bunch of other products when going to receive the car.
8.4
GarethFebruary 3, 2016
Great SUV the Nissan Pathfinder.
All rental companies in USA including Dollar try to persuade you to purchase additional insurance. Please continue to emphasize that your cost includes all necessary insurance.
7.8
TONYDecember 23, 2015
Car
Existing damage
7.8
October 28, 2015
Convenient location Driver assisted with luggage when we were departing
Long wait in hot sun when we arrived Driver was not very helpful when we arrived
6.6
October 18, 2015
Staff were very friendly, just not enough of them.
No info on type of fuel needed in the car. Long wait for collection of car. Only around 200 miles in a tank in a country without many petrol stations. Car hadn't been moved for a while so brakes very sensitive when 1st driven.
6.8
PatrickOctober 18, 2015
speed and effiency
8.8
October 14, 2015
Friendly staff at counter
Having to queue up
7.0
October 5, 2015
Staff friendly and helpful - almost but not quite offsetting the long queue and delay
1 hour wait to collect vehicle
6.6
RoderickSeptember 27, 2015
Dollar service
yet agagin I didnt get what i ordered.
8.2
DamianSeptember 22, 2015
The car was nice
A little expensive and had to wait a long time to get the car
4.8
JenniferSeptember 12, 2015
very friendly booking in assistant
having to wait for almost 50 mins to get the car, unfriendly person at drop off
7.6
September 7, 2015
Check in and check out are really slow
5.8
EdwinSeptember 6, 2015
We paid for upgrade for larger vehicle. Very happy with the choice of a Chev Traverse
8.8
DeanAugust 24, 2015
Open top driving
The Ford Mustang has very poor design and manufacturing.
6.4
PatrickAugust 14, 2015
I had to wait too Much at picking up. The car was not ready
7.8
July 22, 2015
The price was good and so was the discount brochure provided when we picked up the car. The counter staff were good to deal with.
the windscreen was hard to see through when raining and at night with rain we didn't feel very safe driving. The front seats weren't very comfortable and we got sore backs when driving for a while.
7.2
July 22, 2015
GPS sometimes not working,
No
8.6
JonJuly 7, 2015
overall good so thankful for the shuttle service from and to air[port
not much really
6.8
July 3, 2015
Price, DVD player in back for kids
Long time in queue waiting to pick up, this was an absolute nightmare after over 15hr of travelling
6.4
AlesJuly 1, 2015
Great customer service Very comfortable and reliable car Good price
The only thing which we found not excellent was cleanliness of the wind screen, which was not perfectly clean from inside. It was quite annoying with the low afternoon sun.
8.6
June 30, 2015
After spending 1.5 hours waiting in line in the 88 degree uncooled lobby I was informed by the Dollar rep that they would only be able to honor my reservation unless I showed a passport. The reservation was made in the US for the US, why would I ever have been able to present a passport unless by dumb luck I had brought it along. I ended up requesting a full refund, which was granted. Not a happy story or great way to start a vacation.
3.4
June 23, 2015
long wait at counter, no car outside!
6.4
JariJune 10, 2015
process was super smoothy
selling addins and upgrades. on the other hand the bigger car wad bigger fun :)
8.8
June 3, 2015
The Nissan Quest was nice and comfortable
I got it a bit dirty
8.4
MihailJune 1, 2015
Good car, good condition, smooth service. Especially good that at drop off we could leave the car very fast, despite a long line of other cars being returned.
The car was showing the sign that oil change is required
8.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Dollar Rating
Kona Airport
Very good
7.5 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings