Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Goldcar logo - rentalcars.com

Goldcar Reviews Funchal Airport

Read customer reviews on Goldcar at Funchal Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

June 7, 2017
Counter staff were friendly and helpful
Distance to car from counter in airport, furthest of the hire companies
8.2
JoaoApril 19, 2017
Sara, helpdesk costumer assistan in Funchal Airport, was amazing.
When you get full insurance they give you a car whois not in the best condition.
8.0
November 28, 2016
helpfulness Staff
Time waiting to drop car off, because I don't make car secure
7.0
TerryNovember 3, 2016
I liked being upgraded without any fuss. The car was immaculate. Easy to drive (after finding out to press the start twice.
Nothing really.
8.6
October 17, 2016
The good advice from the staff at the airport
8.8
November 12, 2015
Generally the car was good - comfortable and clean.
The car was far far too weak. The engine of the car was simply not strong enough for driving on Madeira. This island is full of big slopes, hills and so on. It's really dangerous to drive such a car there. It will be safier if cars would have more power.
6.6
November 8, 2015
The ease of service ,great helpful staff. The car was spotless and a dream to drive. It was our honeymoon and between the hire car, hotel and Madeira it was perfect thank you
9.2
CAJALNovember 5, 2015
Nos encantó el modelo, un Juke, por eso lo contratamos.
Que el coche tenía bollos. Y quizá un poquito más limpio.
8.6
EdmundoOctober 29, 2015
I am happy it was comfortable
I did not like that was hole in tyre
7.0
August 20, 2015
See above
Car was underpowered for the hilly terrain on Madeira. Would not have coped with any more than a couple in it (only a 1000cc engine).
8.4
August 17, 2015
Promised rebate on fuel left in tank which was half full when dropped off but still awaiting confirmation that this was in fact done
7.8
August 3, 2015
We left de étal messages about pur flickr delay si That everything was ok chen we arrives And we had to waiting 2 hours for the car And nobody had infomed about our calls
5.6
ChristophMay 24, 2015
Change to suitable car for local conditions and luggage
Car due for maintenance
7.6
May 15, 2015
No worry about fuel, when receiving the car and drop it. No worry to leave the car keys.
the clean was just fine.
6.8
May 6, 2015
The return of the car was very easy.
The car Nissan Juke was technically not in full order, the hand break was too loose. Check in was very complicated and time consuming although the pre check in.
5.6
April 25, 2015
I LIKE EVERY THING
9.2
March 23, 2015
It 's a pitty about their fuel policy, it is giving a wrong impression .
8.4
March 19, 2015
All, except pick up ( but because of us to).
8.4
SallyMarch 17, 2015
Nothing
Full tank of petrol too much for size of island and expensive. Would rather return full. Also rather gutless(underpowered) for terrain.
6.4
March 8, 2015
Customer service
Car smelled of cigarette smoke, and the bad smell lasted all week!
6.6
PetrJanuary 28, 2015
Age of car!!!! New car!
8.6
DeliaJanuary 16, 2015
Muito bom e recomendo
Nao ter o carro que reservei, mas mesmo assim recomendo.
8.0
January 9, 2015
The car was OK and gasoline fuelled.
Could not open the gate of the car park, had to wait for another car to arrive. I was charged upfront for a full fuel tank.
6.6
January 7, 2015
Some of the friendliest staff I have encountered
9.4
December 13, 2014
Friendly staff
Distance to walk from terminal to car park. No step free access to car park unless you use the road rather than the path
7.6
GaryNovember 3, 2014
excellent service
no checks on vehicle ,as regard to body damage ,front tyres worn.
9.555555555555555
deliaOctober 12, 2014
It was my first time using gold car, I was so happy with the service and the car, it was my second time driving in Madeira, and with the car that was given to me it made fell secure, and the holiday more enjoyable, thank you so much to gold car and it's staff, I will be using your service again soon thank you all 5 stars from me (deliagomes)
10.0
JohannesOctober 8, 2014
Very friendly staff
9.555555555555555
NelioOctober 5, 2014
Great customer service from CEcilia ,will be using gold car again.
7.555555555555555
September 8, 2014
Counter staff extremely helpful and friendly
Please explain in more detail how to access the Goldcar car park to collect and deposit vehicle
8.666666666666666
August 5, 2014
Easy way to find parking place and a car, easy and quick take out/drop off.
No info about deposit amount in advance according to size of car (on web site). No info about other insurance levels/prices.
8.0
DavidJuly 16, 2014
A pleasure to book with the Company
10.0
June 30, 2014
Charge of fuel service (20£) in the rental desk (compulsory)...
8.666666666666666
KENNETHJune 15, 2014
Efficiency of the counter staff and the way I was treated due to having to wait so long, The girl who issued me the car is a credit to your company I recommended Goldcar to everyone I spoke to. Unfortuneatly I was unable to talk to her in person on my return her customer relationship was impeccable please forward these comments on my behalf. Thanks again Kenny C craig.
You could do with more staff to reduce the waiting time.
9.11111111111111
joseMay 25, 2014
Start very helpfull
Long time whaiting for pick up th car over 1 hour sort of staff only 1 staff at the desk
5.777777777777778
April 19, 2014
The car conditions
time spent to collect the car (more than 2 hours).
7.777777777777778
April 9, 2014
Type of car. On airport reception.
Paying a supplement for a diesal which wasn't made clear at booking. Hard sell of sat nav and extra insurance both of which I declined because I had made my own arrangements.
6.222222222222222
JohnApril 7, 2014
Friendly, welcoming staff at desk.
Slightly longer walk to and from the car park but perhaps the walk was good for me.
8.444444444444445
March 29, 2014
the price was okay, the insurance tgo expencife
I did not like that I had to pay 95,-- Euro for fuel for a small car
9.11111111111111
March 4, 2014
Friendly Staff
We did not get the car we asked for when booked online.
6.666666666666667
January 25, 2014
The car
Initial fuel cost- nobody at car park when returning car
8.666666666666666
January 22, 2014
It was great thanks
10.0
January 22, 2014
Very good service from all staff I come across
9.333333333333334
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Goldcar Rating
Funchal Airport
Very good
7.1 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations