Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Funchal Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget at Funchal Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 8, 2018
All good and recommend thanks to you all
No comment all good thanks
5.8
December 12, 2017
Reception when I arrived and a polite and friendly lady, did all paperwork quickly and efficiently
When dropping car off - only one attendant in place, it was windy and raining and no decent facility to take refuge from "the elements"!!
7.0
HumbertoNovember 27, 2017
Excellent.
The car presentation wasn't nice. But okay.
7.8
PaulNovember 26, 2017
Helpful English speaking staff
Car was underpowered for local roads
7.0
November 16, 2017
Inside windscreen needed cleaning
7.6
November 14, 2017
Superb all round
Nothing
9.0
DeanOctober 29, 2017
Great staff
8.2
October 24, 2017
All service was impeccable
9.0
October 15, 2017
All cars were pretty new.
Sat nav was useless
7.2
DavidOctober 14, 2017
Everything was as booked, ready and explained professionally, I purchased 24hr assistance without the usual hard sell.
Nothing
9.2
October 13, 2017
Nice car. Very friendly and courteous representative at desk.
Difficult to find car in large dark car park.
8.4
AdrianSeptember 25, 2017
Polite efficient staff.No hard sell to get excess insurance (which I have) or upgrade. Easy pick-up drop off procedure. Clean interior. Good value for money.
SAT-NAV was very inefficient and it was easier to use map. Car was fairly high mileage for a rental. Quite a few minor external scratches from previous hirers. Engine was a bit under-powered for mountainous terrain but it was the car I had chosen.
8.2
PhilipSeptember 23, 2017
Service. Car. Value
I couldn't extend the hire without completing the contract and starting another one.
9.0
ROBERTSeptember 13, 2017
Very few people in the queue at check in
The car offered was a Citroen and I found being a tall guy more difficult to get into than the CLEO which has a larger cabin entry
7.8
PenelopeJuly 29, 2017
Getting the car we booked
Wait at airport - only 3 people ahead of us but took an hour The car had an American style handbrake which had not encountered before - no notification of this/how to use it which as unusual in Europe Should have been highlighted as could cause an accident especially in Madeira which is so hilly!
6.6
MichaelJuly 26, 2017
Various unexpected charges on final invoice. Gearbox on the car (Citron C4 auto) was awful (design issue I think)
8.8
BarryJune 19, 2017
Great service from the friendly reception staff.A short walk from the airport to collect the car - a pedestrianised bridge takes you directly to the rental car park. Good value rental car and an easy drop off when departing.
Can't think of anything - you get what you pay for, in this case it was good value for the money. Well done.
9.0
June 19, 2017
Returning the car. Counter closed until 08:00 am
8.8
joseJune 16, 2017
Always quickly and easy to get the car
The car was missing water to clean the front glass and was lightning to do services The breaks was noisy
6.6
FranciscoJune 12, 2017
Great service.
none
9.0
RobertMay 19, 2017
Good car well presented
Time taken at the rental desk only one person on duty and we were in a queue
8.4
joseMay 5, 2017
Staff helpful and simpatic
My personal opinion The car shouldn't be with scratches out side looks bad for the one who rent If for some reason there was a client that had accident before should be fixed before rent again
8.2
chrisApril 28, 2017
Easy to use no hassle good price
Counter a little slow. Drop off staff arrived 10Minutes late and a queue had formed so return was too slow
7.2
April 17, 2017
The service once we got to the counter
The very long wait and the fact we had to wait to get the car as well.
7.0
RogerMarch 25, 2017
Nice car which suited my needs
8.6
MarkFebruary 26, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff, easy to find desk. Good English spoken. :-) Car was clean and tidy, reliable, big enough and fuel efficient.
The instructions about getting out of the airport car park (swipe card/where/how to swipe) could have been clearer. The car was underpowered for those Madeiran hills! No wheeltrims made the car look a bit naff.
7.4
JohnFebruary 8, 2017
Good and valuable advice from the Lady at the desk.Very nice young Lady receive the car on return with a courteous service.
8.8
January 13, 2017
Helpfulness and efficiency of staff
The car was slightly damaged but it didn't deter our enjoyment
8.6
RobertJanuary 13, 2017
Friendly and courteous staff. Efficient
The car wasn't full of fuel on collection but I have been offered an upgrade on my next booking.
8.6
January 9, 2017
Perfect. Will definitely use Budget again.
None
9.4
JuliaDecember 18, 2016
Possible future customers need to be aware of the terrain they will encounter which could influence their choice/engine size.
Brakes juddered when braking, possible tracking fault??
8.6
December 16, 2016
excellent staff
took too long to pick up car, only on person on counter
8.2
November 9, 2016
Bad GPS
8.8
October 5, 2016
Nothing
Don't use Fiat Punto's they are underpowered and won't pull away on a hill
7.4
September 26, 2016
We got gps in free.
-
9.4
September 14, 2016
Ease of pick up in relation to our previous experience with another company
Nothing
9.2
DavidJuly 4, 2016
very pleased with the vehicle
Had problems with the sat nav the staff member didnt know how to use it and we could not get it to accept the town or post code it seemed to be in prescriptive mode so we had to turn it off in the end.
8.0
RichardApril 16, 2016
The friendliness and efficiency of the staff plus the make and model of the car which was perfect for my needs.
I was not able to keep the car!!! (It was such a good vehicle).
8.8
AdriannaApril 13, 2016
New and well-equipped cars, very friedly staff, that speaks very good english. Since Budget and AVIS merged, the service is top.
nothing to complain about.
8.8
DouglasJanuary 19, 2016
Car was just OK size wise
I was expecting a newer car. The 2 year old car with 46,000 km on the clock was not a match for the hills in Madeira.
6.2
PamelaDecember 20, 2015
Ease of drop off.
Too long picking up car. Upgrade sounded good but actually on roads in Madeira smaller card would have been easier driving.
7.4
StevenOctober 13, 2015
Pick up from airport.
9.2
September 22, 2015
everything went very smoothly
9.2
DavidSeptember 1, 2015
Great car for hilly Maderia - Volvo C40 automatic - almost brand new. I would certainly use the service again.
It too long to serve the 4 people in front of me even with two agents serving
8.6
VICTORJuly 21, 2015
very good place to visit
didn't like you cannot buy a couple extras hours just had to get extra day
8.6
March 9, 2015
friendly staff and very helpful at both pick up and drop off
It was a BRAND NEW CAR! this was quite a responsibility as the roads in Madeira are rough. The choice of a new car or a 2 year old car would work for me. Also - we needed a more powerful (1.6cc min) to cope with the minor roads in madeira but in a small/medium size car
7.8
February 25, 2015
Full to full petrol. Free sat nav.
Difficulty in finding the Budget desk (a tiny sign on the Avis desk). Inadequate guide to pre-existing damage leading to a dispute on return.
6.0
December 16, 2014
Low mileage car.
8.0
November 27, 2014
Reasonable cost. Previously we have been happy with Budget when renting in other places.
Computer didn't seem to be working when we arrived to collect the vehicle, so it took some time, even though we were the only customers. Car was high milage and damaged prior to taking the car.
5.4
October 22, 2014
YOU JUST NEED A LARGER SIGN TO SAY BUDGET. COULD ONLY SEE THE AVIS SIGNAGE.OR YOU NEED TO TELL PEOPLE TO GO TO THE AVIS DESK.
8.222222222222221
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Budget Rating
Funchal Airport
Very good
7.8 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*
Privacy policy

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.