Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Funchal Airport

Read customer reviews on Avis at Funchal Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

May 12, 2017
Great car and very helpful staff, however I believe should be more staff available when picking and dropping car. Thank you.
I liked everything in general, no complaints.
7.4
April 25, 2017
Helpfulness and friendliness of staff at desk when picking up car
8.2
April 10, 2017
good quality car, friendly helpfull service at pick up
quite long waiting time at pick up. At car return drop off office closed, notice on office window to go to pick up office in airport building, but this was also closed. Poor marking of key drop box
7.0
DavidApril 3, 2017
Very helpful, courteous staff, with excellent English. Car was collected on airport with no fuss. Handback was easy and speedy. Have used Avis several times and always good value and service.
8.6
October 1, 2016
Don't push the up sell on car size/group. Was also asked to add full insurance that I'd pay for with Rentalcars.com
7.6
January 20, 2016
Pressure to upgrade, not sure if grade booked was actually available.
6.4
CarolynDecember 1, 2015
Perfectly good car, but didn't like the around vision for twisty roads on Medeira.
We booked a SMALL car and were given a larger car, which was not ideal for our purposes. we were asked if we wanted an upgrade and we had said we didn't
7.0
October 25, 2015
The lady at the desk when we collected the car was absolutely lovely.
8.8
September 30, 2015
Ideal car for what we needed , clean and tidy.
No English hand book to work out how some switches etc. functioned. Just a brief run down by the rep.
8.0
JoseSeptember 13, 2015
I was advised to upgrade the car on arrival and it was well worthed
N/A
8.4
September 12, 2015
Very helpful and efficient staff. Explained all the details and provided in English along with Portuguese. We payed a bit extra to upgrade to a slightly bigger car with air-con and GPS. Car was almost brand new and apart from a previous scratch on the front was immaculate.
Nothing
8.8
April 14, 2015
Courteous staff, good advice, clean car
Being offered a car online, a Volkswagen Up, which we were (correctly) informed at Funchal Airport was unsuitable for Madeira.
7.6
March 29, 2015
never get the car i book
8.4
JohnMarch 24, 2015
Everything went very smoothly, friendly staff.
Unsure about alternative car I was given, Lancia Epsilon, being an upgrade or downgrade! Engine/gearbox not suited to Madeira
8.6
September 6, 2014
Staff were efficient
We did think the car lacked power at times
7.333333333333333
August 26, 2014
Suitable for a family of four
Under-powered for the terrain. No paper maps provided - only offered a satnav (for a cost) which doesn't actually give you an overall look at the island to choose where you would like to tour.
6.444444444444445
April 9, 2014
Good car (Mitsubishi Colt) suited to the island, clear paperwork
Tried to sell extras at the check in desk - more insurance etc
8.0
GRAHAMMarch 4, 2014
Very good,easy experience. May help if hirers were told where the nearest petrol station is though as I had to return a full tank and had to drive past the airport to fill up.
9.777777777777779
January 29, 2014
No queue at the desk
10.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
Funchal Airport
Excellent
8.2 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings